We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has the potential to be much more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta Interbalnearia Km 116 | Costanera Laguna Del Sauce, Punta Ballena, Maldonado 20000, Uruguay   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Punta Ballena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mexico City
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
“It has the potential to be much more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is on a truly beautiful piece of real estate. The lake view is fabulous, as are the rooms that face the golf course. There is a small indoor pool inside a greenhouse type building and a large outdoor pool. There is a children's play ground, boardwalk along the lake, mini golf, game room, etc. Lots to do for a family weekend away in a pretty place.

There seems to have been a lot of attention to the art which is interesting all over the place. However, a bit more investment in the rooms and staff would make this place a five star. Rooms are fine, nothing special, internet on and off, air conditioner noisy, lots of phone plugs, but limited electric plugs, no adaptors, etc. Staff are nice - both I dealt with at front desk were nice as was the guy cleaning the pool as I explored (no map given to this property). I did not see anyone working in the restaurant while I ate breakfast, which was pretty sad I have to admit.

Not a bad place to wind up, but with some great places like Cumbres and Fasano not far away, hard to compete.

Room Tip: Lake view is a gorgeous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvaro R, Director de Recepción at Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Mr. Happy_on_the_road

Thank you so much for all your comments about Hotel del Lago Golf & Resort in Trip Advisor.

It is very important for all the staff group of the Hotel gets to know your opinion.

You are totally truth what you mentioned. The Hotel is located in a privileged geographic place. Just in front of the Sauce Lake, surrounded of forest and mountain range which provides an exceptional setting for rest and enjoy the nature of the area.

We work hard to offer excellent services not only in our facilities but also recreational activities and the personal attention which is one of our main strength.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope you come to visit as back soon when you decided to choose Punta Ballena for your holidays.

Álvaro Rodríguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    113
    33
    16
    6
See reviews for
136
156
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Found this hotel on Tripadvisor about a week before we planned to travel. Got a special deal which came to about $95 US a day. Beautiful setting, big room and very comfy beds with 4 puffy pillows and a luxurious thick comforter.
Restaurant is a bit expensive, but the food was outstanding.
Staff was very helpful and attentive.
A secluded oasis minutes from town.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, CA
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and the fact it was one of only two hotels in the entire Punta del Este area that were available at the last minute in the New Year's holiday time period. I think there's a reason it was available - our experience was nothing like some of the other reviews, but to be fair perhaps we were spoiled after just having stayed at the Four Seasons Carmelo.

There is a lot of potential. The hotel is in a quiet remote location right on Lake Sauce, but still only a 10 minute drive to downtown Punta del Este. There are nice views of the lake, indoor and outdoor pools, and a restaurant and bar. Rooms are fairly large, bathrooms are nice (but no tubs), and the abundant art throughout the building is interesting.

But there are major downsides, which is why I rate this hotel at the same level as say a Best Western. The walls and floors are very thin, and sound carries. After a night and day of going crazy with the constant crying of a baby next door we asked for a room change - and realized the baby was actually a couple doors down. Unfortunately the room change took us from the top floor to the second floor, so the baby was replaced with the sounds of people stomping around above us. Hallway noise at this busy time was significant. The entire hotel is serviced by two tiny elevators, one of which was out of service making the other ridiculously slow, so everyone was hiking up and down four or five floors.

The carpets are a bit stained throughout the building, the internet is spotty, the free breakfast is about the same as a low to moderate Best Western, the outdoor pool was pretty dirty at 5pm (could have been clean earlier?), parking is nuts with most guests parking on the narrow access road. The two guys at the front desk were nice and helped with the room change, but the gal had a serious "don't bother me" attitude. The artwork was interesting - but in our new room it was all deep red tones with moons and volcanoes and bloody people - not the most relaxing or calming style! The in-room safe was the smallest I've ever seen, and couldn't even hold an iPad inside a case, let alone my MacBook Air 11".

The bathrooms were nice - large and well-lit. Unless you like a tub (we don't need it). We never ate in the restaurant, preferring to go into Punta for a nice meal. Flat screen TVs had a good selection, including CNN International.

We paid an exorbitant amount due to the last minute nature, and we really didn't have much choice. But if we return, we'll book earlier and find someplace else.

Room Tip: End room has the best chance of being quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Enchanting location right on the lake surrounded by rolling hills - a wonderful contrast to the coast, which is a mere 5 minutes away. This hotel was a find! Grounds are beautiful and rival any 5 star resort. The art displayed throughout the hotel lends a gallery/museum feel. Clay tennis courts, lighted for night play are of professional calibre, golf course is well tended, 2 pools (in & out) the outdoor pool is impressive in size and the setting is lovely. Gym, spa and a play room for the wee ones with babysitting offered. It's all here. Super staff, can't say enough about the service. The breakfast is one the better we've found. Prices in dining room can be a bit pricey; however, many other options exist within a 5 minute dirve. Our corner lakeview room was extremely spacious and spotlessly clean. There was a private terrace with teak furniture (& cushions!), an oversized bathroom and plush robes...heavenly. We were so delighted with this property and location we extended our stay from 3 to 10 days using this as a base for the Punta area. If you've only experienced staying on the coast, see another side of Uruguay - visit the lake. Location is even more amazing at sunset - beautiful. A birders paradise. One review mentioned air traffic noise from the Punta airport (it's small) - we experienced none of that. It's very quiet and most tranquil. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: We paid upgrade for lake view - worth it. Ground floor rooms are walk out with patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were hugely relieved when we found this beautiful, charming hotel located on this idyllic hide-away lagoon away from the frenzied, distasteful sky-scraper building site that is Punta Del Este. In fact, if it wasn't we would have cancelled our booking and returned back to Buenos Aires where we had based ourselves before heading down to Antarctica.

Our room was bright and modern with a lakeview terrace where we could sit and watch the sun go down and see (and hear!) the amazing birdlife. Although early in the season, the weather was great and we were able to spend the day sunbathing and enjoying the pool which was spotless. Unfortunately that day there was construction work going on beside the pool which disturbed the peace so our timing wasn't perfect!

The staff were friendly and very helpful but the food was a let down. Breakfast was a lack-lustre affair and the lunch/dinner menu was very limited such that we felt we had exhausted the entire menu over our 2 night stay and, at that, the quality of what we did order was poor. We hoped to taste the best of what Uruguay had to offer as the US$ prices were quite high compared to Buenos Aires but the steak was tough and over-cooked with a very heavy sauce, and the hamburger meat was low quality with too many toppings. The pasta dish was stodgy and tasted like it was re-heated.

Setting aside the food quality which the hotel can do something about, the overall ambience and location of the hotel is outstanding. The lake and skies were almost mystical as the colours ranged throughout the day. I would certainly recommend this hotel but we will not return to this region of Uruguay as Punta Del Este reminded us of the worst building excesses of parts of Spain.

I'd also like to warn visitors on the way to Punta Del Este about a roadside family-run shack/bar/restaurant halfway between Montevideo and Punta Del Este called "Pallidad Los Carlitos" located in La Tuna by the River Tuna about 70ks from MV. We saw smoke from a chimney and a few cars parked out front and pulled in. The young owner and his wife were cooking chorizo sausages and ribs on the fire and there were a few tourists and locals seated around. There was no menu and no price list. At the owner's suggestion, we ordered the lunch of the day which was hearty and rustic. We had a simple salad of lettuce/tomato/onions followed by the ribs/sausage and chips, followed by a local dessert which tasted like stewed dates. We also had a pepsi and a water followed by coffees. We only had Argentinian pesos on us as we were advised. However, the owner charged us what turned out to be €66 ($80) for this simple lunch! We expected the bill to be about €20/$25 max. It was a complete rip-off and we were too tired/confused with multi-currency conversions to realise just how badly the owner ripped us off until we got to our hotel and checked prevailing exchange rates for the Uruguayan peso (which changes dramatically be the day - ignore the rates found on google!). I'll also write a restaurant review of this experience but because the building was a little shack on the roadside I'm not sure whether this will count but PLEASE ask for the price list first and make sure you know the true cost in your currency before ordering anything! This experience was a real shame as we were delighted to have this friendly lunch by the roadside until we were taken advantage of so badly. Maybe the hotel owners in Punta Del Este could have a word with people who abuse tourists in this way as this is bad for business.

Room Tip: Pay for the Lakeview rooms - they're worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uruguay
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The perfect place to be near Punta del Este without the all the noise and "madness"
The rooms are nice with a very good size and a big bathroom.
Very clean and event that is not new is in very well condition.
We stayed on winter so we don´t know the open air pool, that looks, anyway very nice, the indoor pool is not very big but is never crowded.
A little gym with just three threadmills and two or three other fitting devices, is what you have.
The service is one of the niciest things that offers the hotel, they make your room once in the morning and open the bed, change the towels again, if needed, plus a nice chocolate on your pillow.
The breakfast is very good, specially by uruguayan standards, a hot a cold buffet with very good cakes and pastries.
Surroundings are beautyful, the lake shore with the sunset over the waters are spectacular.
Very good clay tennis courts and a very nice golf course with a very good design and enjoyable views complete the hotel.
Bottom line, a very good retreat in a nice quiet place.

Room Tip: Ask for a high lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

This place needs a serious refurb to bring it into the 21st century. It has a splendid location next to a lake with some terrific views so could be a gorgeous place. That said given the prices of other places in Punta at high season it offers reasonable value.

Breakfast was mediocre, not very exciting at all, skipped it several days and had breakfast in town instead. Didn't try the golf course so can't comment on that. Staff were helpful, sorted out a flat tyre on our rental care at no cost. Pool was big but was not being cleaned enough, there was a lot of stuff floating around (bugs, leaves, seeds etc) and I saw no life guard anywhere either which is a concern if yo have kids. Distance to town is also a bit of a pian, and rental car is necessary. There was free wifi, but not high speed, and only worked in certain locations in the room so wasn't great. Was fine for us as we booked this on very late notice and everything else was gone but definitely wouldn't return if we had the choice....

Room Tip: get lake side, and higher up. Avoid lower ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort

Address: Ruta Interbalnearia Km 116 | Costanera Laguna Del Sauce, Punta Ballena, Maldonado 20000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > Punta Ballena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Punta Ballena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true art gallery, Hotel del Lago Golf & Art Resort is located next to a willow lagoon and beautiful golf courses. Part of The Chic Collection hotels & resorts group, Hotel del Lago has 10 tennis courts, a large outdoor swimming pool with wet bar and waterfall, heated pool, recreational areas and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Del Este
Barcelo Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort Uruguay/Punta Ballena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.