We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mingus Mill

Mingus Mill
1/2 Mile North of Oconaluftee Visitor Center, Great Smoky Mountains National Park, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Cleveland, Georgia
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Love It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I love old mills. This one is great. Over the past several years, we've watched the millers grinding corn, and even bought some grits. It's a great piece of Appalachian history, even when the mill is closed.

Be Advised: Rabid Floridians with undisciplined children also visit this mill. They like to climb on this historic structure and break stuff. This is OUR mill. We, The People, own it. Keep your kids off of the +/- 128 year-old structure and behave yourselves.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lady Lake, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great little place to visit. The trail to the mill is scenic with the river and little bridge. Then you take tour inside and see all the historical pieces that were used to run mill.Outside to see the actual mill is cool.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Bring your camera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stopped mid-morning and had the place to ourselves. Very interesting history, as well as an example of ingenuity and creativity. Follow the water trail upstream to gain an appreciation for the amount of effort expended in the construction here. It's a great place to get some nice photos.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth,Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Picturesque 19th c. Mill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Following a short, easy hile visitors are rewarded with a picturesque historic 19th c. mill. Demonstrations during the day provide insight into the mill's operation and history. A must visit in GSMNP for photographers.

http://fineartamerica.com/featured/mingus-mill-poster-stephen-stookey.html

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was so neat. A nice little walk to the mill. No electric there! Man running the grist mill was so nice and informative. He was a wealth of information. Purchased some fresh corn meal. Can hardly wait to make cornbread. Off the beaten path tour. So glad we stopped. Look forward to returning on our next visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mingus Mill also viewed

Great Smoky Mountains National Park, NC
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, NC
 
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, NC
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, NC
 

Been to Mingus Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mingus Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.