We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ingleborough Caves

Ingleborough Caves
Clapham, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Clapham LA2 8EE, England
015242 51242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Clapham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Colne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Positives - Lovely walk from the village with some amazing views. A little longer than expected but us and the dog loved it and so did the kids. Lots of interesting things to see on the way and loads of photo opportunities. The caves are great especially if you like listening to interesting facts. Was slightly shorter than expected but we didn't have to wait an hour for the next guide as there was enough to start a new one which was good. Small shop on site with very helpful staff and there is the use of a toilet.

Negatives - not much parking in the village for busy times. There's a small fee (adults 65p) to walk the trail to the caves and the ticket must be displayed in your car. However this is not obvious, even though we did realise later is does say so on the ticket. Toilet on site has a slight odour however it is very clean and has lots of toilet paper!

All in all we had a great day and will definitely return even if it's just to walk the trail with our dog!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi Chantelle,

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your trip, and we hope to see you visiting again soon; especially now the sun is (fingers crossed) starting to come out!

Kind Regards

Andrew Jarman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    25
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Well worth the visit and a lovely walk from Clapham village to the cave entrance too. The tour guide was enthusiastic and informative. He said "I'll answer your questions the best I can and if I don't know I'll make up the answer so none of you go away disappointed!" ...and we certainly did not.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your visit! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your trip, and thank you for taking the time to review us, its is very much appreciated.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Andrew Jarman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had spent the afternoon doing the Howtown to Glenridding walk, and ferry ride on Ullswater, so arrived at the caves late in the afternoon. We were so pleased to find we had just made it in time for the 5 o'clock tour, not only that, we had the guide Sam all to ourselves! he was very friendly and knowledgeable about the history of the caves, and told us various stories, also pointing out the various humorous shapes that have appeared over the years! We visited White Scar caves last time, so it was good to see the differences between them both.
An enjoyable end to a lovely day out. Thanks Sam.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi Cathy,

Thank you for your review. We have passed your comments on to Sam and he was thrilled. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Andrew Jarman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“An experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Since having to be carried out of a cave at the age of 7 crying my eyes out in terror I vowed to never go back in one again, so you can imagine the claustrophobia kicking in when we passed this place and my partner shouts with excitement how he'd love to go! Reluctantly I let the staff help put my helmet on and we set off.... I am so so so glad Alan made me go! It was so gorgeous down there and I saw things I'd never even thought of! Other than two parts where you had to duck down and move through, it was very big and not at all scary or small. There are times I forgot I was even in a cave. I urge anyone to pluck the courage and go visit. You can't explain the beautiful sights and the tour guides are absolutely fantastic! x

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi Chellon,

Thanks for your review, and well done for giving it a go! We're glad to hear we could help you get over your fear, and we hope it inspires you to have a go at some of the other beautiful showcaves in Britain!

Kind Regards

Andrew Jarman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Fantastic! We loved our visit to Ingleborough caves. The weather was a little wet at times but that didn't detract from the day. I have ticked more than 3 hours for the duration of this visit as we went as 2 families with 5 children aged between 4 - 7, so we did a lot of exploring on route. We paid and collected our nature trail leaflets which gave lots of information on our walk to the caves and kept the children entertained looking for the numbers to which the information on the sheet related to. Once at the caves we donned our hard hats on and were taken on a magical tour. Pete, our guide was amazing, very knowledgeable, excellent with the children and so passionate about the place. That passion was so infectious. This is a must see destination for visitors to the area. The children are still talking about their experiences and the witches fingers! A very reasonable family priced ticket too.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Ingleborough Caves, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi Rachael,

Thank you for your review. We're thrilled to hear that you, and particularly your children, had such an enjoyable day at the Cave! We have passed your comments on to Pete and he was thrilled to hear that you had taken the time to write such a positive review about his tour!

Thank you for your visit, and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Andrew Jarman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ingleborough Caves also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Ingleborough Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ingleborough Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.