We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Front of the house
Front of the house
Front of the house
Dining room
Dining room
Kitchen
Corner sofa in the living room
Sablet
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilsevw
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Views and Vines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed for four nights and wished we could stay longer. Pippa, the owner was very helpful in planning for our trip and provided info on the area and the town. The house itself is well equipped and has enough space for a family of four. Our favorite spot was the patio which worked well on the long summer nights. The town itself is very pretty and is central to key sights.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
balchino
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cosy village living among the grapes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

A great little place with cosy charm. This is how I would describe this little pad in Sablet. Sablet is a charming little Provencal vilage. It is real wine country in these parts, so come prepared to drink a lot of the stuff! It was pretty chilly in April, when we elected to travel, which suited me down to the ground coming from Dubai. Ideally, May or June would have been better. There is a bit of a steep climb of steps to the property which only really adds to its character. The little nook, is positioned atop the village beside the historic church - of which the bell rings very loudly and clearly (but at friendly hours!). We like doing a fair bit of own cooking with the local produce and the kitchen was well stocked for this purpose. The upstairs lounge is where the kids hung out and played on their iPads in the afternoon, while Jules and I held our own wine tasting comps each afternoon downstairs - really just enjoying many splendid local Reds. We thought the bed in the master bedroom was a little primitive. Think prison thickness. It could no doubt do with an upgrade. Apart from that, the whole place was really cosy and gave us a real taste of village living in Provence.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The upstairs area
Liked least: The bed in the main bedroom
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2013
We have replaced the mattress in the master bedroom - for the rest of 2013 - with a full upgrade to a queen size bed planned for 2014.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mildred79
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Character village house in the heart of Provence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in London overnight and caught the 7.17am non-stop Eurostar train to Avignon which took just over 5 and a half hours. Picked up a hire car and fairly easily found Sablet, a stunning looking village. The house is a short uphill walk and then up a few steps. Very safe, light and cool, wonderful after a hot day. Very well appointed house. Stairs need care especially after the superb cheap local wine! We loved the church bells. It feels very secluded but houses are all around. The terrace is on the first floor and perfect for outside dining. Our favourite place was Vaison la Romaine, 10 km, and our favourite restaurant was Les Abeilles in Sablet, only a short walk away. The owner is English and lives nearby. We had a lovely holiday and highly recommend.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Living in circular streets set around the church.
Liked least: TV very small but then we didn't go on holiday to watch films!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Londoner...
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful rural retreat in the heart of Provence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed in Le Fer a Cheval for a relaxing spring break. The property is located at the very top of a typical Provencal hill village and is peaceful, stylishly decorated and superbly appointed. The area itself is fantastic for exploring Provence, we found plenty of picturesque walks, fantastic markets and hundreds of wine caves and vineyards for trying a variety of local wines.

We particularly enjoyed breakfast on the terrace every morning following a short walk to the local boulangerie and found the property a comfortable and cosy place to unwind after our daily adventures.

Pippa was very helpful with the arrangements and gave us some very good recommendations for places to visit and eating out. We look forward to returning next year.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
philsisso...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic relaxing break in a beautiful part of France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 for a stay in August 2010

We stayed at Le Fer a Cheval when my partner was expecting our first daughter, so what we were hoping for was comfortable accommodation in a picturesque French village with some enjoyable trips on hand and plenty of great food to enjoy. Safe to say we weren't disappointed!

The accommodation was really well looked after, full of character and very relaxing. The bedroom was spacious and airy, the kitchen had everything you could require and we made plenty of use of the terrace for al fresco meals and sunbathing. Little touches like plenty of places to plug an iPod in meant it was like staying in a friend's place, only cleaner and tidier!

We enjoyed some lovely walks and found Sablet and the other nearby towns and villages to be wonderful places to be. One of us wasn't drinking, of course, so we didn't get into the wine scene too much but on another occasion you could practically make your whole holiday based around the local vineyards.

Overall we found this place, both the accommodation and the area, to be pretty much flawless and would have no hesitation in recommending it at all.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The character
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
NicLock
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A very special place that we still talk about it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012 for a stay in December 2010

We stayed here on the recommendation of friends and found it to be a perfect palce to stay in Provence. Sablet is a beautiful little peaceful village and this house is riight in the heart of it next to the church yard.

We were there in winter and found it very comfortable with everything you could possibly need (internet, DVD player, fantastic kitchen, washing machine etc.). We stayed with our four year old son who loved it, particularly the view of the church from the courtyard. It was a bit cold to sit outside but I did have one or two lovely Cote du Rhone reds to keep me warm :-)

We still talk about our lovely holiday and the Fer a Cheval at Sablet was a highlight. Pippa was extremely helpful with the arrangements and everything went without a hitch. I can recommend a walk to Seguret as it is a beautiful little fortiied village nearby. It is only a short drive to Vaison la Romaine, Orange and Avignon via wonderful vineyards, chocolate/nougat factories and boulangeries. And don't forget the fantastic pizza place in Sablet - awesome!

I could not recommend it highly enough! Bon chance!

Cheers,

Nicolas

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location and the thoughtful amenities provided
Liked least: The church bell at 7am!
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
vtm
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Heart of Provence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 for a stay in April 2011

We stayed in Le Fer a Cheval for 3 weeks last spring. It was the highlight of our year trip around the world. The house became the base for our exploration of Provence. All of the major sites in Provence were within easy reach of Sablet. Returning every evening, we enjoyed the beautiful house and the picturesque village. The house was well equipped and charming. The local bakery, fish stall, bar and grocery store provided a sample of French village life, with supermarkets only 30 minutes away. The owner provided excellent information to keep busy, or not, during our stay. We recommend the winery tour and hiking in the nearby hills.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Breakfast on the patio.
Liked least: Leaving at the end of the stay.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$123
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Pippa .
Speaks English, Italian, French
Listed since : Sep 2008
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 120 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing