We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheadle House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cheadle House to your Saves list
Cheadle House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cheadle Royal Business Park | Royal Crescent, Cheadle SK8 3FS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cheadle
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Lovely hotel, clean and spacious rooms and very quiet even if it's near Manchester airport. Staff are also friendly and accomodating. TGIF is just a minute away. Big bonus! I definitely would like to return if given a choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Isla331,

Thank you for your great review of Cheadle House; we were all very happy to read that you had a great time here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    124
    64
    30
    12
See reviews for
61
138
14
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

A friend and I booked in for one night ,to attend a function, to find the advertised, free tea and coffee machines switched off, ???I was advised by a member of staff, that they are always switched off at weekends, they don't tell you that on the web site do they!!, they offered to make us coffees in the coffee lounge and bar area, at a charge of course,! so much for the free tea and coffee," You have tea and coffee making facilities in your room," I was also told, that to turned out to be a joke, we were provided with enough for one drink, and no more, We had a twin bedded room, the quilts on the single beds, are not a full size quilt, in fact ,I don't even think they would have fit a childs bed, don't know where they got them from, but they are not fit for purpose, far to small, but for a double quilt ,I found in the wardrobe , which we threw over the two beds, we would have had no adequate bedding, the most basic of requirements, I would have thought. The room was heated by one small radiator, not adequate enough to heat quite a large room, even with thermostate turned up to max, room was chilly, so all in all, facilities sadly lacking, The few staff we did encounter, were very polite and helpful, just dint exspect a cosy nights sleep, unless you are built like twiggy .

Room Tip: book a double, even if you are travelling alone, as Minnie mouse would struggle to keep warm under t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear charliesgran123,

Thank you for your recent review of Cheadle House; we were all disappointed to read you did not find your stay entirely satisfactory.

To address some of your concerns raised in your review, I would like to clarify regarding both the beds and coffee machine availability. The beds in use, and duvets used, are the standard UK size for single beds as these are the provided sizes from our suppliers. We apologise if you found these unsuitable but I can confirm that all single duvets used are of the standard UK width of approx 135cm.

In relation to the coffee machines, I am concerned that you stated these are advertised as always available. Having reviewed all advertising material I can find no reference to this on any of the agent sites we use; on our own site, this is only referred to under our conferencing section. I can confirm that you were correctly advised in relation to the Coffee Machines as these are intended for conference guest use only (for which there is a charge to conference delegates) so are switched off when we have no conferences taking place; we do allow accommodation only guests to use the coffee machines (owing to their location in reception), however we do not advertise these as available to bedroom-only guests because this is not their intended usage. We are sorry if you found this to be an inconvenience however I can confirm that you were advised correctly. Please feel free to contact me should you have details of where this was advertised so that I may review this further. The tea and coffee supplies in your room are in line with most hotels, providing enough for a couple of drinks per person, and plenty more are available from reception, free of charge, upon request. I have however provided your feedback to our housekeeping team for review.

Please rest assured that this feedback is being taken on board for future improvements and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, good value for money, rooms were lovely and clean and very spacious. The staff were very friendly, could not fault them. We have just had our works Christmas Party here, the food was excellent, the only downside to this hotel was that the prices at the bar were scandalous!!!! Will not be booking a party at this hotel again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Tina M,

Thank you for your review of Cheadle House; we were delighted to host your party and very happy to hear your praise for the rooms, service, food and staff.

In relation to your comments relating to the prices of the bar, we were very concerned to hear you found the prices extortionate as upon recent analysis of like for like products against local competitors, we have found that our prices are in line with or cheaper than surrounding hotels and bars. We also run regular promotions, especially on party nights, as we know that price is an important consideration for any party guest.

We are glad however that you found your experience enjoyable, but are obviously disappointed that you have chosen not to visit Cheadle House in the future; we do hope that you will reconsider this in future and that we will be able to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel, staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are very spacious, clean, comfortable and large. The breakfast is good quality and you get a lot of choice for your money. Had a meal in the restaurant which was good and not too expensive. There are other places to eat across the road so you are spoiled for choice. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear presario22,

Thank you for your excellent review of Cheadle House; we were delighted to welcome you back for your second stay with us and we hope to see you many more times over the coming year!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Excellent hotel value for money with large rooms and very friendly staff. Easy to find and will defiantly use this hotel again when in the area. There is options to use other places to eat if you don't want to use the hotel it's self. This is a really clean and spacious hotel.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear ftm73,

Thank you for your great review of Cheadle House, which we think sums us up perfectly! It stands as a great testament to the value, service and standards we always aim to provide and we do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

If you are on business in the Cheadle Stockport area this has to be the best value you can find. The rooms are very good, clean, comfortable and large. The staff are welcoming, friendly and very helpful. FREE Wifi which is always a plus.
At the price this hotel is exceptional value and is very convenient if travelling in this area of Manchester. Not somewhere you would want to spend a holiday but on business trips it is exactly what you want.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear AndrewB55,

Thank you for your review of Cheadle House. We were all delighted to read your high praise of the venue and staff, particularly the suitability for businesses (as most of our business is through conferences and training events).

We hope to see you again soon when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs u.k
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

chose this hotel for value for money and proximity to the airport.
room was nice and clean with fluffy towels and plenty of hot water.
free tea and coffee in communal areas. ate in the restaurant and the food was lovely and reasonably priced. had buffet breakfast which had plenty of choice and good quality,
would stay again without any hesitation

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Cheadle House, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear rodafan,

Thank you for your kind review of Cheadle House. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us, particularly the plenty of hot water and fluffy towels!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cheadle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheadle House

Address: Cheadle Royal Business Park | Royal Crescent, Cheadle SK8 3FS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cheadle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cheadle House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cheadle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheadle House Hotel Cheadle
Cheadle House England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheadle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.