We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cream of Cheadle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cheadle Road, Cheadle SK8 1HW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cheadle
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Cream of Cheadle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The UpperDeck experience was a delight. Lovely spacious room, with the most comfortable bed you can wish for, most definitely worth paying a little extra to get a lot more in return.

The leisure facilities are excellent, with pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam all working perfectly fine. Mrs C and I ate in the onsite Chop House Restaurant. Lovely quality food, though the menu could be expanded with a few more dishes.

Breakfast is well stocked and is of an excellent quality. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

If I had the chance, I think we'd live there. Looking forward to staying again next time.

Room Tip: Village Urban Resort offer an UpperDeck upgrade for a small price, which is worth the extra for spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    139
    115
    79
    37
See reviews for
79
158
19
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We only stayed 1 night but that was enough. The room was very dark - not helped by a black painted wall. There was no air conditioning and it was a hot night. Having said that the beds were very comfortable!
We ate in the pub which was cheaper but regretted it as just after we ordered, they turned on all the TVs for the Man U match and it was extremely loud. There wasn't one area without a TV blaring! Also more chairs were brought in and we felt quite crowded. I wouldn't stay there again even though the service was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermline
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We came across this online and booked a room for just £20 on the de vere website during a sale! Didn't really know what to expect for £20 but got a fantastic surprise on arrival.

Lovely building in beautiful surroundings, lots of parking and lovely communal areas. The staff were excellent both on check in and check out and just in general.

The room was nice, clean and quiet and just what my brother in law and sister needed with their 10 week old baby - we had booked the room for them so had been nervous as to what it would be like.

We hadn't pre-booked breakfast when making the room reservation but it was no hassle to book there and though my partner, son, niece and myself were not guests of the hotel we were allowed to dine there with those who were and treated exceptionally well. The breakfast was awesome and a nice touch that the staff got to eat the left overs once all the diners had gone and breakfast time was past. Its nice to see staff being looked after as I know from experience the leisure industry can be thankless.

I would definitely book here again and recommend it and again commend the staff for their service

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy H, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Melanitsa7328


Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us.


I am absolutely delighted to hear you really enjoyed your stay after booking a room during one of fantastic sales and team were over the moon to read your kind comments about them, the service and the Hotel itself and we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest regards


Tracy Harrison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Twin room gloomy and oppressive - horizontal black striped wall covering, with small window, contributes, with limited 'mood' lighting making it impossible to read in comfort. The window is fixed shut so the electric fan provided recirculates hot air to an uncomfortable degree. Have never before tried to sleep in such an airless box.
I'm afraid the attractions of the pool pale into insignificance when facing one more night after this one......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy H, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Brumtraveller,


Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I am really to hear that that you found the Hotel room gloomy and oppressive. The style and colour scheme I do appreciate is not to everybody’s taste and the window restrictors are there as a precautionary Health and Safety measure. During the hot weather we tried to ensure that our customers were as comfortable as possible by providing additional fans. We do have several room types available at the Hotel all of which have different styles, colours schemes and so forth and I am sure that if you had raised this point with the Reception team they would have done their upmost to rectify this situation for you.

I note that your profile says Cheadle so please do contact me or pop into the Hotel should you wish to discuss this further

Thank you once again for sharing your feed back.

Warmest regards,

Tracy Harrison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

a lovely base for our stay in Manchester. the hotel was accommodating in allowing us to check in early as we had a lot of luggage and had just checked out of another not so nice hotel. the room was neat and manageable even with the additional beds for the kids.

the restaurant went out of their way to ensure that they had GLUTEN FREE options available for breakfast, even on short notice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy H, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear atichauer,



Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and the restaurant team went out of their way to accommodate your needs.

Thank you once again for sharing your kind feed back and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Warmest regards,



Tracy Harrison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

16th August. We arrived at the hotel service was excellent friendly and always smiling happy to help. We booked a table for 17 people 3 course meal it was amazing. The staff were brilliant always asking people is everything was ok if they needed anything. Each course of food was out at the same time. We Mr & Mrs Grant would like to thank jess and her team. The room we had was a upper deck which was beautiful and very clean they even made it special for us with rosé petals over the bed and a card congratulating us on are wedding. The room was big had sky hd tv my husband Oder room services at 11.30pm which they were good fresh food and fast. Breakfast was really nice full english tea and coffee as soon as you sit down couldn't fault anything about this hotel. We would pay what We paid every time we will be staying again in September we loved it. We would recommend this hotel :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy H, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Grant89


Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you have recently enjoyed your stay with us and that Jess and her team took great care of you during you dinner.

Jess will now be awarded with an ‘extra inch’ voucher, a company incentive we have in place to recognise team members that deliver exceptional service or are mentioned on any guest feed back platforms. These vouchers are then collected and any team member that receives 25 will be automatically entered into a prize draw to win a trip to New York, Jess will be over the moon thank you.

Thank you once again for sharing your kind feed back and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,



Tracy Harrison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a lovely weekend away. Just what we needed. Great deal which included two nights stay with breakfast and a 3 course meal on the first night. We also had unlimited use of pool and leisure facilities. The hotel had everything at such a bargain price, but we fancied a change so went to Trafford centre which was only around 10 minutes away. Cant really go wrong with this hotel, but we found drinks were expensive

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy H, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Paul J


Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and had the opportunity to make the most our fantastic facilities.

Thank you once again for sharing your kind feed back and we do hope to see you again in the near future.


Warm regards


Tracy Harrison

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle

Address: Cheadle Road, Cheadle SK8 1HW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cheadle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle is nestled in the leafy suburb of Cheadle and just over 4 miles from Manchester Airport and close to the M60 motorway Junction 2. It is in an ideal location for accessing the M6 and M62 motorways. Nearby attractions include Tatton Park, Old Trafford Football Club and Quarry Bank Mill. Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle has 117 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle Hotel Cheadle
Village Manchester Hotel Cheadle
Cheadle Hotel Village
Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.