We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable value in a club like situation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cheadle Road, Cheadle SK8 1HW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cheadle
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“reasonable value in a club like situation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

effectively had B&B here and luckily paying a basic rate, I had a basic room.( as others report with soap dispensers that did not work) The venue is effectively a club it seemed with pleasant staff . Breakfast reasonable .Decor dark and dreary and the room though it had most things you might want, again terribly dark, not well lit at all. I would not fancy more time here. Wish I had thought to bring a swimming costume and enjoyed the pool facilities though and that spa is effectively the draw.

Room Tip: probably not above the huge car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    139
    115
    79
    37
See reviews for
79
157
19
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked in to stay on a Sunday evening for dinner bed and breakfast on a business trip.
Restaurant closed at 6 and we were forced to eat in their Pub. Food was limited and unhealthy and the ambience was not conducive for a quiet meal. The meal was interrupted by a pub quiz.
Room was shabby and could do with a make over. Breakfast was limited.
I have stayed in De Vere hotels before on business and this is the worse. Sleep was effected by close proximity to airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trauk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed overnight for a business trip. The entrance/lobby are very nice & clean and the staff were helpful. The room was really large and mostly seemed clean. There were a lot of windows. The TV only received a few channels and the room service menu was small. They also stopped serving food at 9pm which was disappointing for me but the food I did have was delicious. The hotel is not far from shops and other hotels but there is nothing in the immediate vicinity.
There is a vending machine on the first floor.
Breakfast was nice and served in a big, airy dining space. I would stay here again but I am going to look for somewhere else first.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It was my 60th Birthday 17th May, my 3 sons & their families went to the Village hotel Cheadle - Fri -Sun, arrived Fri booked in & went to room, ok for a short stay - small, no wardrobe just hangers in alcove - had a T.V. tea & coffee, kettle etc, iron & ironing board, fan (very hot in room Fri ok Sat night), bathroom no freebie shampoo etc just a soap dispenser on wall, (did not bring soap !), hairdryer. Lacked draw space but ok for a short stay. Around hotel needs decorating.
Son, wife & their 2 boys arrived & was straight into the pool - this has to be a big plus! - pool, 3 jacuzzis, sauna, loungers - water warm fabulous, given a towel & locker key, changing rooms great with showers, hairdryers, plenty of room (female, male & family)
Evening meal in the bar - we all went on bed, breakfast & evening meal - 3 courses of the menu , food good service slow but it was very busy.
Breakfast - buffet you name it it was there all good - would say 5*
Spent the morning in pool had a great time - highly recommend
Went pampering in the afternoon same they do not have beauty in the hotel had to go to an outside saloon.
Evening meal in the Chop house, staff had decorated the table, balloons, banners etc. 3 course meal fabulous staff could not have done more all eleven of us we all enjoyed the food.
Sunday breakfast & home - plenty going on in hotel & great for a weekend away - would definately go again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

About once per year we travel to the Manchester area to visit immediate family. We’ve done so for the last 15 years. If it hadn’t been for the reviews written on TripAdvisor we’d never have learned about a little travel secret: the De Vere Village Urban Resort in Cheadle (near Manchester).

It has become a home away from home with all the amenities one could hope for: a nice, modern spacious room, great cooked breakfast in the morning, a fully equipped (complimentary) gym and pool, Sky TV with all the football games you want to watch, and a caring staff to help with your every need.

Special thanks to Lauren, who will respond to your e-mails, even from the USA, 6,000 miles away, and will provide you the assurance that everything will be in place when you get to the check-in desk. In short: the Cheadle Village Urban Resort will make your Manchester travel the most enjoyable.

Room Tip: First floor in new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed in this hote several times over the years. They regularly spend money on the hotel but it is money wasted. The new restaurant is a disaster of design. Gloomy with horrible stainless steel table tops if someone got paid for the design work the firm must have been called Dick Turpin Design! The bedrooms are the most basic and spartan I have ever seen in any hotel at any price and that includes Eastern Europe. No soap, no shampoo, no tissues, I could go on and on. There was an institution type tethered soap dispenser. We booked dinner,bed and breakfast but the only time available for dinner was 6pm that did not suit us. Why not ask us to book a time at check in? Noisy bar with an intrusive quiz. I couldn't wait to escape the next morning. If you are visiting Cheadle find somewhere, anywhere else as it will only be better. I'll only go back if someone convinces me this was unlucky but I got the impression from the staff to whom I dpoke that this is their current offering. The staff have uniforms with 'V Happy' embroidered on them. I would suggest 'Not V Happy' would be more appropriate. De Vere have reached rock bottom. A pity because they used to be a good brand.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel several times over the last couple of years and each time the hotel is looking more tired and is in urgent need of a refurbishment and some TLC. Most of the staff are friendly and the food is very good although on the pricey side.
Bedrooms are very tatty with lots of paint chips and generally looking very tired. Large pool but again in need of some TLC.
Overall an average hotel,which requires some money spending onto to bring it up to date - has lots of potential just needs some investment from De Vere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle

Address: Cheadle Road, Cheadle SK8 1HW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cheadle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle is nestled in the leafy suburb of Cheadle and just over 4 miles from Manchester Airport and close to the M60 motorway Junction 2. It is in an ideal location for accessing the M6 and M62 motorways. Nearby attractions include Tatton Park, Old Trafford Football Club and Quarry Bank Mill. Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle has 117 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle Hotel Cheadle
Village Manchester Hotel Cheadle
Cheadle Hotel Village
Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.