We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty environment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle

Save Saved
You added Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cheadle Road, Cheadle SK8 1HW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cheadle
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dirty environment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel reception is tatty and the carpet has holes in it. The bedroom was dirty with stains on the bathroom and entrance doors to the room. The blinds in the breakfast room to the windows had not been cleared of dust in some time. The bedside cabinet had dust on so thick that if you ran your finger over the surface it came away with the dust still on your finger! The bathroom bin did not work and had no liner in it. Bathroom grouting was none too clean and was grubby. The bedroom ceiling had a water stain to it. The bedroom carpet was not clean. No air conditioning or thermostat to the room. Bathroom door had paint damage and did not lock. The carpets in the corridors to the rooms was stained and smelly, and the lift was very grubby with the carpets needing a good clean, making for a very smelly lift. Only one place to get snacks before 12:00 noon and that was a Starbucks. Redeeming features: restaurant ok and food good, and the staff were friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: Don't stay there! Overpriced and dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterDinsdale, Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Suzie,

I'm really sorry to read about your experience through the feedback that you've posted on Trip Advisor. I'd be very interested to get some specifics regarding your experience so I can pick these up directly with the housekeeping team and both resolve the issues you've raised, but also ensure that we have a rigorous enough process in place to ensure that this kind of thing is not happening again.

Please contact me on peter.dinsdale@village-hotels.com at any time convenient to yourself and I will be happy to discuss this.

Regards,

Peter Dinsdale
Victory Chop & Ale House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    125
    97
    65
    29
See reviews for
62
133
17
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andalucia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Right from the moment we checked in (which was late at night) - we were made to feel very welcome. The night manager was totally professional but such a warm character - very helpful and chatty to my husband and I, even that late at night. I had gotten such a great, low rate on-line some weeks before so I was prepared for roughing it a bit at that price and was very nicely surprised to find myself in a well-restored and very pleasantly presented historic building with lovely modern rooms and bathrooms. The breakfast was ample, restaurant dinner food was fabulous, beds were comfy and rooms very spacious. I couldnt believe it when we walked into the bedroom as it felt like we had been given a suite. The room for the second night we stayed was even bigger. Staff were attentive, pleasant and uncomplaining - even when the two of us squeezed in, sitting down for dinner about five minutes before the final order call. We stayed twice in a matter of several days as the second hotel we had booked - an hours drive away for two nights - was a real wash out and we decided after one night to cancel that and return to the De Vere where we knew it was comfortable and lovely. There is little noise from aircraft although you are only about 10mins from the airport. It was about a tenner each way in a taxi from the airport but definitely worth it. There is a big Sainsburys and a John Lewis only 5 mins walk from the hotel if you fancy doing some shopping after you arrive at the hotel. I will definitely look at staying again. Great place!

Room Tip: If you need a very quiet room, but don't mind having to take stairs for the final floor before r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterDinsdale, Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
AndaluzGal

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor! I have picked up with the team members that you have mentioned and thanked them for their continued delivery of what we are all about!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Peter Dinsdale
Victory Chop & Ale House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I arrived at the hotel with a friend who was very distressed Jack Blinkhorn from Starbucks went above and beyond his job to help my friend we would like him to be aware that we were very grateful for the attention and excellent customer service he provided.

Kind regards Brenda & Debbie

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterDinsdale, Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Brenda,

Thank you very much for posting your kind words on Trip Advisor! I am pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations! I have passed on your feedback to Jack and his line manager!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope to maintain the high standard you have come to expect.

Regards,

Peter Dinsdale
Victory Chop & Ale House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed in the superior sweet with my dad.We went to visit family in cheadle.The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful.The only issue we had was breakfast.They have a set time of 10am on weekends for breakfast to finish and9;30am on weekdays.But when your on holiday you dont notice that.We walked in for breakfast at 9;40am thinking we were on time but the lady came over and nearly had a heart attack because we were helping ourselves to food after 9;30am.She reminded us of the times,so i asked should we put the food back then.She said no but didn't look happy!!!we thought it was a bit rude the way she approached us,but everything else was great.The beds were so comfortable.Thanks to all the staff for a lovely stay.Hope to come back with my husband and 2 kids for a break to meet up with family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great hotel however, very poor in relation to where they serve breakfast in the bar area this is despite having a restaurant !! If I wanted a bar breakfast I would go to a bar to buy it !!
Will not stay at hotel where I have to eat breakfast in a bar. Also staff have to cross foyer to bring breakfast food in and take used plates etc back through to restaurant kitchen. Health & Safety issues here I think !! Especially when young children are running around !!

Staff very friendly and do their best under the circumstances, another issues is breakfast seems to be rushed as the bar opens early.When they get their act together we might start using the hotel again until then anyone with any sense would not pay the prices there to be shoved into a bar to dine of a morning. New manager is not as friendly as the last general manager. Poor rating for a once great hotel.

Bw

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel offered very poor value for money. We paid a premium price for what was in our experience a budget facility and service. In the rooms very little information was provided – for example no TV channel listing, no local information and limited information on the internal phone system. The TV reception was very poor in both rooms. There was no shower gel in my daughter’s room and the bathroom light above the mirror in the bathroom was not working. There was no temperature control in the room. It should not be necessary to upgrade to have this facility.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was satisfactory, although my daughter’s chips never arrived. At checkout, a £7.11 service charge had been added to the bill. We assume this was for the restaurant service. This was not transparent on the menu (which was poorly presented and difficult to read in the low lighting because of its lack of thought in design). Service was attentive and we were happy to pay for it – we left a tip on the table for the staff as we were not aware that a service charge would be added to the bill.

Breakfast was of poor quality – both food and service wise. After a wait the table we were offered was unacceptable it being a coffee table in the bar – we were told there was nothing else. For the rate we paid I would expect tea and coffee to be served to our table – not self service - and not to have breakfast “in the pub” but rather in the restaurant. The quality of the food left much to be desired – minimal fresh fruit, yogurt or cereal options. Some of the cooked options were cold and the toast had clearly been made hours ago.

The hotel was full and staff and some facilities were clearly stretched. We were kept awake by noisy, ill-mannered guests but appreciate that is largely out of the immediate control of the hotel.

If this hotel had been in the budget range some of our above comments would not be relevant. However we did pay a premium price for what was clearly a mediocre facility and service. We were not able to make use of the gym facilities during our short stay so cannot comment on these. They are however clearly an attraction of many guests and locals alike and is possibility the reason why the hotel feels it can charge the prices it does.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnTimmons, Director of Sales at Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear AnnaMT

Many thanks for your post on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to the Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle.

We are sorry that your visit clearly did not reach your expectations on this occasion. We greatly value all feedback and would like to thank you for sharing you thoughts on this forum.

We would like to discuss your comments with you and request you email me at Donn.Timmons@Village-Hotels.com with your contact details and we will be in touch.

Kind Regards


Donn Timmons
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel on as Coach Trip, so I can not comment on the price, but being an experienced Coach Traveller I know that the Hotels don't get great money for putting us up, so the room and food I expect would be average and anything above that, is a bonus.
The Village Hotel was a very pleasant surprise. The room was big and spacious, overlooking the front and the main road, I can imagine, that it could be noisy. My husband and I are a bit hard of hearing, so we slept very well and untroubled by any noise. The room was very clean and so was the bathroom. The staff was very pleasant and always helpful. The food was certainly above expectation and very plentiful. They were starting to renovate the kitchen on our last night, so we had a buffet instead of being served in the dining room - well, that was really the best meal of the stay : lovely fresh salad for starters with prawns, cold meats, etc. , 2 different roasts, both beautifully cooked plus lots of other dishes, chicken, fish for the main and a magnitude of desserts much to my husbands delight!!
Altogether it was a relaxing experience

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnTimmons, Director of Sales at Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear 22oap

Many thanks for your post on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to the Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle, which I was delighted to receive and your very kind comments have been passed on to all concerned.

The team at Village are all striving to maintain and improve the high standards of service and presentation for which we are renowned and it is always a pleasure to learn our efforts have been appreciated.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future

Kind Regards


Donn Timmons
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle

Address: Cheadle Road, Cheadle SK8 1HW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cheadle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle is nestled in the leafy suburb of Cheadle and just over 4 miles from Manchester Airport and close to the M60 motorway Junction 2. It is in an ideal location for accessing the M6 and M62 motorways. Nearby attractions include Tatton Park, Old Trafford Football Club and Quarry Bank Mill. Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle has 117 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Manchester Cheadle Hotel Cheadle
Village Manchester Hotel Cheadle
Cheadle Hotel Village
Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Manchester Cheadle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.