We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice relaxing restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ashlea Pub

The Ashlea Pub
14 Manchester Road, Cheadle SK8 2NP , England
01614280413
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 73 Restaurants in Cheadle
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“very nice relaxing restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

really relaxing nice place to eat and drink,staff really nice helpfull and accomadating,i took my family there for my birthday and my youngest was 1 yr old,they couldnt help us enough,the food was fantastic and full of flavour ,the wines were good quality ,and all reasonably priced,there was a delay of 45 mins wait for the food but i guess it isnt mcdonalds ,the wait was worth it though when we got the food,all in all a good afternoon and a pleasent place to go relax and eat and drink.worth a visit ,

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    34
    12
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very handy after work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Thsi place is very handy togo after work. Food and service is good. The atmosphere is really good and feels very homly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I lovely place and is well worth the money. Never had any major problems but, just as an observation, just as the place seems to be running like clockwork either the manager or staff members get changed and it seems like it all goes back to the start again.

Has always been good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Ashlea, a lovely rustic style pub in a conveniant location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Me and my fiancé had some lunch here today and it was amazing. We both had to start Pate (Chicken, Pork and Heather honey with toast) which was spot on, this came extremley quickly, which was great as we were both very hungry. For the main I had Steak burger and chips. (spot on) and the other half had steak n ale pie and chips (spot on, apart from not enough gravy but this was fixed by the manager giving another pot). Now comes the strange part, we thought we would treat ourselves to a dessert off the specials board. We ordered millionaires shortbread surprise :-/, a surprise it was. It came with grapes, cream, toffee type sauce that was very bitter and obviously millionaire shortbread. It cost £5 and we felt a little hard done by as it was the weirdest dessert I'd ever tried. Service and staff were bang on aswell. We will return but leave dessert next time.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

I have been here a couple of times recently and on both occasions I have had lovely food and great service. The pub is nicely decorated and is quite cosy. There is also a nice outside area with decking and a beer garden which backs onto abney hall park. I would recommend this place.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ashlea Pub also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Ashlea Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ashlea Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.