We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pointing Dog

Pointing Dog
Smithy Green | Cheadle Hulme, Cheadle SK8 7NE, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 74 Restaurants in Cheadle
Cuisines: British, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food, good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

First time diners. Bank holiday weekend, restaurant and outside dining area really busy. Excellent service. Lots of staff who took care to make sure that everyone was taken care of. Quite a long wait for food but it was really busy and it was worth it! Had the chilli squid taco. Was a starter but had as a main. Very tasty, fresh and filling. Husband had a cheeseburger. Definitely worth it, the taste was incredible for a humble burger! With dessert for one, coffee, wine and soft drinks, bill was £44. Excellent value. Recommend the venue. We will be back with the family. Thank you!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    101
    54
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great food and beautiful restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by friendly staff and shown to a table by the window and the fireplace. Our waiter was very attentive . I ordered the Creole style BBQ? Shrimp with black eyed peas, black beans and quinoa. We were brought a small plate of very tasty crisps before we received the meal. My husband ordered the fish and chips- supposedly regular size as there was an alternative " over sized" fish. I cannot imagine how big that would be as my husbands was humongous and bigger than the plate it was on! The shrimp dish was very tasty butI could have eaten a little bigger portion! For dessert I had the pdog Alaska which was blow- torched meringue, vanilla ice cream and strawberry jam! It was to die for! Absolutely fabulous! My husband had the tonka bean panna cotta - although he didn't know what it was- and he said it was delicious !
The restaurant itself is so pretty and " dog" themed- the biscuit served with coffee was shaped like a dog bone and the condiments were in a dog dish- cute! Prices were quite high but other than that it was a great experience. I would recommend this to everybody and certainly go back there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I've become a real ball buster about restaurant reviews. With this said, we absolutely LOVED the food here. The fish and chips were massive and yummy. My shepherds pie was fan-freaking-tastic. Just like the menu highlighted- the meat was superb, potato topping cooked and seasoned perfectly, and the entire dish was visually on point. Everyone at the table agreed that the crispy duck salad was a home run! Perfect! The greens were fresh, duck oh so crispy, and overall taste was worth flying back to England for. Finally, our server was not only responsive but got our food out promptly- we asked for it to be rushed due to another commitment and he did it with a smile.

Thanks for a great lunch. -can't wait to return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Unfortunately the food there tonight let us down the chicken wings were a big disappointment they were worse than what you get f”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

A bit disappointed tonight the food wasn't up to scratch the pointing dog was more like a weather spoons than what I thought it would be so maybe it was meant to be like that or not I don't know but I thought it'd be the latte

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Good Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is the second time we have been since the refurb ! The menu has not changed much but enough to make a difference.
We were seated in the back of the pub which we prefer,the service was good but not great,the starters chosen were the chilli taco ,pate,duck and crab all well presented and tasty,then three steaks and what was pre refurb the whale size fish which has risen by £4 and shrunk to the size of a normal portion and the standard portion at the old price must be smaller ?
All the steaks were different cuts but all adequate and acceptable, sides are extra so be aware its makes the meal expensive ! two items they dont do are pepper sauce and on the drinks side Red Bull perhaps a statement there !!! anyway we are local and will continue to go as we love the place, even though for £245 for four with drinks and wine on a Friday its a good night but not for the faint hearted .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pointing Dog also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Pointing Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointing Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.