We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friday night wind down” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Spices

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Seven Spices
2 Mellor Road, Cheadle, England
+44 161 485 4700 ‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 73 Restaurants in Cheadle
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“friday night wind down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Simply the best real Indian food I have ever had!! staff are very good and it is nice to have proper napkins not the usual paper ones. It is slightly more expensive than you average Indian but if you want the best you pay for it!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Food, frosty welcome and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Good selection for vegetarians, nice food overall. However the front of house with the exception of the young waitress (who was very friendly and pleasant) was frosty and unwelcoming, especially the older gentleman in the suit who pushed past my wife on his way up the spiral staircase and was very grumpy. Sorry but if you want repeat custom you need to work on your customer service!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant curry and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Been here a couple of times and always enjoyed it. The House Sauvignon Blanc was even better than the more expensive ones. The curries are always different to your average curry house. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Plenty of room (for improvement)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Was a little surprised to get a table with 1 hours notice on a sat night. I should have realised this was an oman! Turned up and it was 30% full and naturally lacked atmosphere. The drab Indian funeral music didn't help. Ordered the usual popadums, mango & yogurt which was nice but onions were slightly pickled and not fresh tasting. My lamb Archari Ghost was very nice (lamb chunks very small) although my wife's Lamb RJ was too salty and oily. The Garlic Nann was actually very good (although not the usual big fluffy type) and the Pilau rice was the best I've had for a while.

My wife raised her dissatisfaction with her meal as a point for the chef (not bad enough to send back) and it was greated by a shrug of the shoulders from the waiter! I do think the two older suited gentlemen should get a lot more involved rather than just preening around their less than half empty restaurant. It rather feels like a restaurant on its last legs. Shame, I think with a few tweaks it could be very good. But at what they charge I expect much better.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Can a leopard change it's spots ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Visited a few years back and thought it was okay at best, with incredibly slow service.

This visit was far better. Service was attentive, without being overpowering.

Food was more interesting than many Indians. The popadums came with an array of chutneys - a modern trait is to charge for these chutneys which annoys me - these guys don't.

Main courses were nice and no reason for complaint (we had a lamb and a prawn dish).

After this experience will revisit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Spices also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Seven Spices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Spices, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.