We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy convenient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pymgate Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pymgate Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Pymgate Lodge Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 Styal Road | Gatley, Cheadle SK8 3TG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cheadle
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Nice cozy convenient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just stayed there one night. Called in advance to let them know I would arrive late and the lady was waiting. The room was cozy and clean. The staff friendly. The continental breakfast was ready early when we needed it. And the lovely Romanian lady (forget her name) provides drop off to the airport for £8. The room is cheap and I would definitely book there again when I am flying from Manchester airport.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    13
    10
    23
See reviews for
19
32
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed just the 1 night and found it lovely. Our room was spotless our bed comfy and breakfast was great.The staff were very friendly and helpful allowing us to check in early and leave our luggage even though our room wasn't ready.Makes a very pleasant change from faceless 'chain hotels '.We will definately stay again .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Friendly staff, but really really need new beds. Quite possibly the worst bed I have had the displeasure to sleep in!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Flew into and out of Manchester airport. The hotel is very conveniently located. The staff were very helpful and the room was large, clean and comfortable. The price was great and we felt good value for our money. we would definately stay again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

we chose this hotel because of its closeness to airport. all i can say is if you like a lumpy mattress, staff that ignore you, and over heated rooms, then this hotel is for you. ok the price was good but to be honest you would be better off in a holiday inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cheadle hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The ground floor room we had on entering smelt damp but the window was open so we hoped it was clear. The hotel was full so there were no rooms to move to. During the night the damp smell was overpowering to the point that the bedclothes had taken up the smell. The shower was also blocked so as you showered putrid water became a foot bath. The owner had been quite pleasant and I did not want to embarrass her by causing a scene in reception. I went to work and called her. I did not ask for a refund but tod her the room should be dried out before it's let to someone else as it had been the worst night I had had for a long time. Her attitude now changed!!!! She offered a refund on a meal but this has never materialised. How different people are when they are taking your money! Would not recommend to anyone but a hotel inspector!

Room Tip: To have a good room you need to choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed here last year when we used Manchester Airport. It was great stay for the price as they used to offer dinner there (not anymore this year), and computer was available to print out the boarding passes. This year was a huge disappointment! Rooms are charming and has everything you'll need, BUT, there was no hot water available!!! We all had to skip shower in the morning, which was not acceptable. If it was luke warm water, I suffer but will take shower. It was plain cold, and there was nothing they could do rather than told us that there may be other guests using the shower. But we talked other fellow guests at the breakfast, it was the same thing for them as well. Inside the closet in the bathroom, we spotted black mold spreading, which is also not cool. The breakfast costs 4.99 GBP per person, but there is no brewed coffee available. If you are like me to enjoy nice brewed coffee in the morning, you have to suffer with the Nestle instant. They disconnected the computer so forget about printing the boarding passes the night before. The location of this hotel is the major reason to stay and this hotel offers a room for family of 4 with teenagers but next time I'll check out other options.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pymgate Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pymgate Lodge Hotel

Address: 147 Styal Road | Gatley, Cheadle SK8 3TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Cheadle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cheadle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pymgate Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Pymgate Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pymgate Hotel Cheadle
Pymgate Lodge Hotel Cheadle, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pymgate Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.