We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Steak cooked well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Governors House

The Governors House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Governors House to your Saves list
The Governors House
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   43 Ravenoak Road, Cheadle SK8 7EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cheadle B&B and Inns
Stockport
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice Steak cooked well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a quick bite to eat and the place has had a new menu since I was here some months ago. I had a flamed grilled rib eye which was rather nice very well cooked good portion size. My wife had a flame grilled salmon salad which she thought was lovely. Nice range of beers and the service was good. Well worth a visit

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    7
    10
    3
See reviews for
8
13
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just avoid this place, it is awful. I will never stay here again. Service non existent, reception unhelpful. Low quality, grubby, tired and cramped. Noise from pub might as well have been in the next room. You cannot run a hotel like this - please leave it to the professionals

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just been to the pub here 4 lunch & everything I wanted to order they didn't have. We ended up leaving in the end. :-( not been in for years and won't be back in a hurry. I understand if a couple of dishes aren't available but they barely had anything.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We sadly had cause to hold a reception after a family funeral & you want to make sure that you choose somewhere that will do a good job for such an emotional time. The Governors House did a really great job. The food on offer was all good quality, the area that they gave us was (for our specific numbers approx. 35 /40 people) a good size and nicely, just a little separate from the other main areas within the pub, so that it still felt private.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Room was comfortable, clean and of good size.
Staff were helpful
Breakfast was good
Noise levels from the bar were acceptable and there was adequate parking
But we had some pricing issues.
When booking in advance we were told it would be £60 per night as a reduced price offer.
Online for the dates we had booked, soon before we arrived, it was showing as £55 per night
When I queried this I was told the standard rate for the month was £65 per night but they would honour the £60 originally quoted per night.
On arrival my card was authorised for £55 per night but on leaving they tried to charge us £65 per night
After challenging this they eventually agreed to charge us £55 per night but the fight to get this was a disappointing end to an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: I would recommend trying to get a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Popped in with friends for a pub lunch.It was an interesting menu with some unusual dishes from a flamed grill.Great steaks.A large range of real ale premium lager and wine.Staff were great,well worth a visit

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Ate here on Saturday night. staff very helpful and friendly.
Food was dire, served so quickly it was worrying!
As a pub to meet friends it was hopeless, the music just increased so much in volume and the selection was awful, that you couldn't even think, never mind converse.
We usually go to the Ladybrook but thought we'd have a change - back to the Ladybrook next week!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Governors House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governors House

Address: 43 Ravenoak Road, Cheadle SK8 7EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Cheadle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cheadle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Governors House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Governors House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governors House Cheadle, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Governors House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.