We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheerful and relaxed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Campix

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Leu-d'Esserent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Campix
Save
You added Camping Campix to your Saves list
Chemin des Carrieres | BT37, 60340 Saint-Leu-d'Esserent, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheerful and relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I don't agree with some of the negative reviews and not my recollection at all. We stayed for a couple of nights on the way home from Dordogne in our campervan in August. If you are uptight and anal about getting top service I guess you would not be happy here- its more about being laid back. The owner speaks German, Dutch French and English very well and even knew about height restrictions of car parks etc as well as top tips for parking in the centre of Paris for less than 10euros- not bad! You choose where you want, and please yourself. Lots of people have little fires on their pitches in the night which is quite nice for the kids.

The pool was refreshing at best and freezing at worst but clean and the showers were clean powerful and hot. The bar had stopped at the end of August but the owner arranged for pizza and other fast food to be delivered.

Its not a big chain pool complex £300 a week campsite so don't judge it against these- its a bit dated, sweet laid back place that is friendly and well maintained.

Room Tip: Bring your own room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    4
    4
    8
See reviews for
21
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We booked 5 nights stay here, arrived after lunch and our stay started badly, The manager was a smarmy abrupt man who tried to up sell at every opportunity. Our bungalow was not ready on arrival, even though he promised on email that it would be. We had a look around and found the play park was dangerous with construction metal sticking out of the ground, chemicals left around with no safety, unfinished areas with nails and wood sticking out. The pool had loose slabs and was freezing cold. We had a drink at the bar and it was five euros a pint, and then we saw the accommodation. The bungalow was damp smelly and dirty looking, it was like a knightmare from the 70's and I really did not want to stay in it! I had an awful nights sleep worrying that we were going to get robbed ( the room had a padlock from the outside and one bolt on the inside that when shoved moved and you could open the door). The local town which they walkable, and is not, is not somewhere i would want to spend time. The next day it seemed everyone left ( they had the right idea) and it was very echoey and not somewhere I wanted to stay with my kids. By 3 that day we decided we could not stay and after ringing around found somewhere else a two hour drive away. We had packed and left by 9 the next day and will never ever return!! The website looks good but the campsite itself is not !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Leu-d'Esserent hotels

Troyes, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a lovely site. with an excellent heated shower block and a helpful english speaking owner who has good information about local sites and transport to Paris.

There is plenty of shade and lots of level pitches and the children seemed to be loving the interesting layout and the swimming poot.

Everywhere was clean and tidy and the baker called daily. The local area, especially around Abbey Royaumont, was beautiful.

It is worth downloading the map rather than typing in the GPS as it is a well signposted but twisting and turning route up through the Village. You need confidence as you enter the village, which had roadworks during our visit, that the signs will be in the centre by the shops. Ignore your sat nav as the main road runs close to the quarry but the original quarry roads are not suitable for the caravan

Room Tip: Take a caravan with a fixed bed with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in one of the Cabins here prior to taking part in the Chantilly Château triathlon. The Cabin was small but had good storage. They claimed to sleep 3 to 4 people but I would not have been happy if there were more than 2 adults. Although the people next to us seemed to manage quite well with 3 adults. The camping kitchen was well equipped situated on the verandah. I loved the fact that it was possible to gather wood and make a fire. The cabins were well insulated and we were not disturbed by any noise during the night. There is a bit of a trek to the showers and toilets and not all parts of the campsite were well lit so a torch is a must. I would also say that the showers could have been hotter. The cabin got quite hot at night and opening the window let the mosquitoes in. We had brought our own fan so were quite happy, The pitches for camping looked really good as it was possible to be quite secluded and easily define your area. It is about a 15 minute walk to the town and we only found 3 restaurants, a Pizza Place in the square (good value) a peculiar place just over the bridge (awful) and a hotel restaurant near the bridge (good but expensive). We ended up cooking for ourselves. We visited 'The Base' which was excellent for open water swimming. Shallow enough for children to play in but big enough to get away from the children and swim properly. There were sandy beaches and lifeguard supervision. There was also Kayaking and sailing on another part of the lake. There were other activities such as roller hockey and ponies.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed at campix for 4 nites at the begining of a two week stay in france.
Great campsite, owner very friendly and helpful and speaks excellent english.
Great family campsite, facilitiesgood and always clean. short walk into village. good play areas for kids.
Excellent swimming pool. my partner loved the fact you are allowed campfires.
This is our 2nd stay at campix and will definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Lovely rural campsite, enjoyed our stay for 1 night. Friends arrived 3 days before and booked us on for the final night of thier stay. Good facilities, play ground for kids, swimming pool & camp fires permitted. Friendly polite staff on reception, with good English. Recommended by our friends as they had stayed there previously. A little akward to get to, but loved it. Would recommend this campsite to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Loved the location, and the help from reception about the area. If you pop down to the local tourist information in leu d esserent, there are some more leaflets about what is in the area as there is quite a lot to do with children, especially the local beach and kayak centre and 20 minutes from asterix parc. Brilliant campsite, Huge pitches we moved pitch once to change the scenery, lovely clean adult pool and nice play park, amenities were clean. Unfortunately we went in June which is surprisingly out of season! so didnt get a useable toddler pool and the cafe wasnt open, but would like to go back when it is in season. Very helpful, friendly guy.
Unuseable toddler pool, cafe closed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping Campix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Campix

Address: Chemin des Carrieres | BT37, 60340 Saint-Leu-d'Esserent, France
Location: France > Picardy > Oise > Saint-Leu-d'Esserent
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Leu-d'Esserent
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Camping Campix Oise, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Campix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.