We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Reef to range"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Oz Active Adventure - Private Day Tours

West Oz Active Adventure - Private Day Tours
Banjima Dr | Karijini Airstrip, Karijini National Park, Western Australia 6751, Australia
0438 913 713
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: West Oz Active Adventure Tours, Conducts Professionally Guided Day Tours in the Karijini National Park. These Tours are of a very Active Nature and are suitable for Active People from 13 yrs to 72 yrs (If you're over 72 and keen call Pete). Day Tours are small group adventure Maximum 8 Participants with 2 Highly experienced Roping Guides. All equipment is supplied from Wetsuits, Water Shoes, Helmet & Harness. The Day is Fully Catered and Vegos are no worries. At the end of the day we relax and enjoy the day's Film & issue a copy to all Participants - Inclusive in our pricing. Activities include but not limited to - Abseiling / Sliding / Tubing / Climbing / Discovering. This is a very Social Day & Novices are very welcome.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Reef to range"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Only way to see this part of WA. Pete and Brenton made the experinece so memorable and were both so knowledgable. Pete is such a great guy and we learnt so much from him. With our tour we started in Nigaloo, than went to Karijini. This gave us the best of both worlds. We went swimming with the whale sharks and did a lot of snorkling, to start the tour off. We then ended in Karijini. Here we did hiking, rock climbing, swiming and tubing. One of the best experinces of our lives. This is a must do holiday for everyone.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An Adventure Filled Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you are visiting Karijini National Park and don't do this tour then you are missing out!!

I actually rearranged my holiday so that both my husband and I could enjoy the "Journey to the Centre of the Earth" tour as when I originally wanted to go they were fully booked. I am so pleased I did as the day spent with Pete and Brenton and the other novice Canyonners was worth every minute. We paddled on big tyres, climbed rock faces, absailed down a 40 metre waterfall and took in the outstanding views that you just can't get anywhere else.

The photos on a USB stick (hand delivered to our tent that evening by Pete!) was just icing on the cake.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Canyoneering - an absolute must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

West Oz Active is such a great operator! Pete and Brenton provided such a great tour, we get the red gorge tour which words cannot describe how much fun it was! Safety was clearly the number one for Pete and Brenton, with customer satisfaction a close second!

I loved the free/included video as a great souvenir of the day! It is so rare to get such a great memento included in a tour.

My only advice to people considering the tour, is to ensure that you are fit and active to ensure you will be able to complete the day's activities. This tour is not your typical tour where the guides do everything for you. You will need to swim, climb, paddle, carry backpacks that weigh 10 kg plus all day! This is by no means a negative for the tour, but it is important that others are aware of what is involved in these tours.

Brenton's lunch and surprise coff-tea was great - nothing fancy, but definitely hit the spot throughout the day!

Keep up the great work guys.

Gareth - Canyoneer!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A MUST if you're in Karijini!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I cannot recommend this West Oz Active enough! We did the Red Gorge Tour, and if you're fit and able, this is the best way to truly appreciate the beauty of the gorges. It is a uniquely humbling experience after being shown rock that dates back to the pre-Oxygen era!!

Pete and Brenton are amazing guides - their knowledge and respect of the gorges is undeniable as they lead you through the most amazing parts of Karijini. We did the Red Gorge tour. Safety was always the number one priority, and we always felt safe with Pete and Brenton because we had every confidence in their experience and knowledge of the gorges. They were very patient with those of us who were inexperienced with rock climbing and abseiling, and always looked after us.

All gear was provided, including morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea - the organisation of the tour was brilliant.

Getting engaged in Karijini was made all the more memorable by being shown the true magnificence of this special part of WA :)

If you do Karijini without doing this tour, you're not making the most of your trip!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

loved all of it. climbing, swimming, adseiling. The views are amazing and really cool to get into parts of the gorges that not many people get to see

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Oz Active Adventure - Private Day Tours also viewed

Tom Price, Western Australia
Karijini National Park, Western Australia
 
Tom Price, Western Australia

Been to West Oz Active Adventure - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Oz Active Adventure - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added West Oz Active Adventure - Private Day Tours to your Saves list