We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Provence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Talaud

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loriol-du-Comtat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Talaud
1110, Route de Monteux | Vaucluse, Provence, 84870 Loriol-du-Comtat, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Luxury in Provence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had our second visit to Chateau Talaud last week. It was as wonderful as the first one in 2009. Such a wonderful property and Conny and Hein are spectacularly gracious. Always helpful and always so much to tell us and advise us about. Vineyards, shopping, tour guides, everything is taken care of when you visit this beautiful property. We travel with friends, family and children and it just works out for everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and very unique. They are named by colors, which is the theme of each. room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    9
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
83
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent five nights at the Chateau. As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by Conny and Hein, who took us to our gorgeous room, the Blue Room, and showed us around the property. Conny and Hein were so helpful in every way possible. The highlight of our stay was a dinner for 19 guests prepared by a local chef and served in the chateau. The food and wine were outstanding. In addition, it gave us the opportunity to socialize with the other guests which only made our stay even better. It was a wonderful experience. Chateau Talaud's location was perfect for touring around Provence and enabled us to go wine tasting and explore the beauty of Provence. We can't wait to visit again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Chateau Talaud, my home away home in Provence.
I and my wife revisited the Chateau with a couple of my friends in the first week of July this year
My full family including my wife, 2 sons and their wives, stayed here in 2007.
I found this place on internet and was wondering whether I made a right choice.
Upon arriving all my doubts vanished.
The hosts, Conny, Hein, and their two lovely canine family members named Sushi & Soya, welcomed us full heartedly.
My days at the chateau were perfect.
The Chateau is between Avignon and Carpentras and major attraction of this area is
within less than an hour driving distance.
If you based here you can explore most of Provence, such as Aix-en-Provence,Arles,Orange,
Mont Ventoux, Moustiers-Ste.-Marie, Lac de Ste. Croix, Grand Canyon de Verdon,Valensole for lavender fields, etc.
There are endless possibilities.
But above all, Chateau Talaud is a B&B par excellance,
Rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated with the artifacts Conny and Hein collected over the years.
With high ceiling and comfortable canopied king size bed you don't need anything any more.
Just relax and enjoy your vacation at the lovely poolside or walk around the surrounding park or vineyards edged with blooming roses.
The breakfast is an another feast pleasing your taste as well as your eyes served on the lawn.
If you need a dinner table at local restaurant Conny and Hein will arrange it for you or you can even have a dinner at the Chateau prepared by renowned local chef.
I have stayed at Chateau le Chevre d'Or in Eze, Hotel Negresco in Nice,Villa Gallicci in Aix,
Hotel Mirande and Hotel Europe in Avignon,Hotel George V and Domaine Bodeuc in Bretagne,
I prefer this place to get my rest and relaxation and respite.
You will want Chateau Talaud be your best kept secret place in order to have it all by yourself.
I did.
But one can not too shellfish, you have to share, right?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in early June - my husband and I had apartment Talaud in the grounds and our three friends shared the Cottage nearbye which allowed us to have our privacy but come together especially in the late summer afternoons for drinks and nibbles before dinner which was more often than not cooked in the kitchen of the cottage with provisions we had bought on our expeditions to various villages and markets during the day. The chateau is as lovely as it looks in photos and the grounds are really gorgeous and although we didn't use the pool it did look refreshing and inviting. We availed ourselves of the five course dinner on the last night of our stay which was delicious and was preceded by drinks on the lawn in the late afternoon and a chance to meet other guests who were staying in the chateau itself. Unless you are staying for a complete rest and have no interest in exploring though you do need a car to discover all the interesting villages nearbye, most of which are within an easy hour's drive of the chateau. Different villages have market days on different days of the week and Conny can advise on when and where to go, also which restaurants to try.
What makes this place that bit extra special though is the lovely lady of the house Conny - the perfect hostess, helpful, knowledgeable about everything, but never in the least bit intrusive. The day before we were all due to fly out from Nimes the air traffic controllers announced a three day strike to be followed the following day, we were told, by the trains. Disaster! Or it could have been if we had been staying anywhere else - while we would have loved the excuse to stay at Chateau Talaud a few extra days we had onward bookings and commitments but Conny was an absolute marvel, springing (it must be said) into action and organizing last minute train tickets on the TGF back to Paris and onward to the UK on the Eurostar. This was not merely the work of a few minutes as the system threw more than a couple of curly obstacles in her way but undaunted she pressed on and after an anxious few hours Conny was able to reassure us that our plans were back on track. Hein was pressed into service also as he had to drive to a nearbye town to pick up our train tickets.
Altogether a great week in an unforgettable location and an experience we all hope to have again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donetsk, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in Chateau Talaud in April. We were only two pairs, came to celebrate the birthday. It was really unforgettable. The service was excellent. Cony tried to do all the best for us, she was very patient with us, tried to help us. But at the same time she did not dominate, not interfere. Really she is a fantastic person. We travelled a lot, but we'll never forget this holidays.
By the way, every morning Conny came to buy us fresh bread, fruits, etc. When we arrived she took one of our suitcases and brought it herself to our room. Sorry, this is just the answer to smb's comment about Chateau Talaud.

Room Tip: We stayed in Blue room. Fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I had an hesitation whether it was worth sharing my feedback about Chateau Talaud when I realized, reading the other reviews made before, how my feeling and my experience were different...

My first concern is about the "value for money" of this house; you expect much more at this level of price. Indeed, the Chateau is really nice but the service is poor. For instance, at arrival time, you ring and wait; no one helped us for our four luggages to reach the second floor with many steps. Another illustration: you pay 250€ per night, you plan to stay one complete week with your family and you do not have any welcome drink, nor water bottle or minibar in your room.

The breakfast is included in the room price but sometimes it is not completly ready at 8.30 (even if you must leave soon) and you can not have it in your room. The menu is rather basic with a limied choice of dishes and nothing hot.

My last point is about the hostess. I am aware it is a guest house and not a hotel (even if, with a total of 5 rooms and 3 apartments, it is more than a "guest house" !). Nevertheless, with a price close to a 4-stars hotels, we do expect a personalised and attentive service and something like a warm presence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldtravellerfrance, Owner at Chateau Talaud, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
We acknowledge reception of this review. Unfortunately, it is not related to a recent stay, as the original visit has been previously reviewed on august 14, 2010, in french so no further comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We chose this place because we read the reviews on TA and we want to say they are all correct. Because we are a family and had a week, we stayed in the farm house rather than the big house on Conny's advice when we rang from NZ. She was so right. The kids loved having the space and we still had access to all the advice and wonderful service. Conny and Hein went out of their way to make sure we had a great time, booking wonderfully authentic restaurants for us and assisting with our travel plans. Hein made sure the pool was ready for our daughter to swim in and to top it all off they rescued a baby Owl who's nest was flooded! So indeed the chateau came complete with its very own owl!

We recommend that if you are a family who is coming for the week you stay in the farm house, if you are there for less time do stay in the big house in the yellow room which does sleep four. The place is as gorgeous as it looks on their website and they are really as nice as everyone says.

There is plenty to do and if you are first time travelers to Provence like us, the Chateau is very well located for exploring Avignon and Mt Vonteaux and all the surrounding aread.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Talaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Talaud

Address: 1110, Route de Monteux | Vaucluse, Provence, 84870 Loriol-du-Comtat, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Loriol-du-Comtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Loriol-du-Comtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Talaud in Provence: the property is idyllic, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and luxurious, the service is very professional and impeccable, the location is very central and enables day trips to wonderful cities around. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Talaud Hotel Loriol-Du-Comtat
Chateau Talaud Loriol-Du-Comtat, France - Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Talaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chateau Talaud to your Saves list