We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Talaud

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loriol-du-Comtat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Talaud
Save
You added Chateau Talaud to your Saves list
1110, Route de Monteux | Vaucluse, Provence, 84870 Loriol-du-Comtat, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Donetsk, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in Chateau Talaud in April. We were only two pairs, came to celebrate the birthday. It was really unforgettable. The service was excellent. Cony tried to do all the best for us, she was very patient with us, tried to help us. But at the same time she did not dominate, not interfere. Really she is a fantastic person. We travelled a lot, but we'll never forget this holidays.
By the way, every morning Conny came to buy us fresh bread, fruits, etc. When we arrived she took one of our suitcases and brought it herself to our room. Sorry, this is just the answer to smb's comment about Chateau Talaud.

Room Tip: We stayed in Blue room. Fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
86
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I had an hesitation whether it was worth sharing my feedback about Chateau Talaud when I realized, reading the other reviews made before, how my feeling and my experience were different...

My first concern is about the "value for money" of this house; you expect much more at this level of price. Indeed, the Chateau is really nice but the service is poor. For instance, at arrival time, you ring and wait; no one helped us for our four luggages to reach the second floor with many steps. Another illustration: you pay 250€ per night, you plan to stay one complete week with your family and you do not have any welcome drink, nor water bottle or minibar in your room.

The breakfast is included in the room price but sometimes it is not completly ready at 8.30 (even if you must leave soon) and you can not have it in your room. The menu is rather basic with a limied choice of dishes and nothing hot.

My last point is about the hostess. I am aware it is a guest house and not a hotel (even if, with a total of 5 rooms and 3 apartments, it is more than a "guest house" !). Nevertheless, with a price close to a 4-stars hotels, we do expect a personalised and attentive service and something like a warm presence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldtravellerfrance, Owner at Chateau Talaud, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
We acknowledge reception of this review. Unfortunately, it is not related to a recent stay, as the original visit has been previously reviewed on august 14, 2010, in french so no further comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We chose this place because we read the reviews on TA and we want to say they are all correct. Because we are a family and had a week, we stayed in the farm house rather than the big house on Conny's advice when we rang from NZ. She was so right. The kids loved having the space and we still had access to all the advice and wonderful service. Conny and Hein went out of their way to make sure we had a great time, booking wonderfully authentic restaurants for us and assisting with our travel plans. Hein made sure the pool was ready for our daughter to swim in and to top it all off they rescued a baby Owl who's nest was flooded! So indeed the chateau came complete with its very own owl!

We recommend that if you are a family who is coming for the week you stay in the farm house, if you are there for less time do stay in the big house in the yellow room which does sleep four. The place is as gorgeous as it looks on their website and they are really as nice as everyone says.

There is plenty to do and if you are first time travelers to Provence like us, the Chateau is very well located for exploring Avignon and Mt Vonteaux and all the surrounding aread.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent a week at the Chateau Talaud at the end of September. We were two couples, so we had booked the two self-catering apartments that are set further back from the main Chateau. They were both beautifully decorated and had all the amenities that we needed. Since the apartments are next to each other, you could easily enjoy meals together, or have complete privacy with your own sitting area. The grounds are beautiful, everything you would expect when you think of a Chateau in France. We also enjoyed a delicious meal prepared by a local chef with the other guests one evening in the main dining room of the Chateau. I highly recommend it. The owners, Conny & Hein were wonderful, making sure every guest had what they needed and were very helpful in suggesting things to do in the area. The location is perfect for exploring Provence. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. We will return to Talaud!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We recently spent 19 days travelling in France. Following a river cruise, we stayed for 7 nights at the Chateau. We wish we could have stayed longer! Our stay there was beyond excellent!! The chateau is absolutely beautiful, including the interior decorationl!! The property is expansive and includes a vineyard. Breakfast can be eaten inside or outside and was delicious. Dinner is available by reservation on Wednesday and Friday evenings. The beds are extremely comfortable. The owners, Conny and Hein, could not have been nicer during our week long stay. Their suggestions regarding what to see and where to eat were very helpful and made their B&B the ideal place to stay and explore Provence. Chateau Talaud is a must! Words really do not describe how wonderful our stay was! We will be back and it will be soon!!!! The Chateau was an excellent recommendation by travel agent Dana Born at Avoya Travel.

Room Tip: The Red Room is palatial and beyond description, but all rooms are unbelievably gorgeous and large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our week-long stay at Chateau Tallaud was extraordinary! The property is beautiful, with classic gardens and it was quite a shock to find ourselves in this amazing chateau just 15 minutes from Chateauneuf du Pape, one of the best wine regions in France . Our room (the Blue Room) was absolutely gorgeous, furnished with beautiful antiques and with all the authentic touches to make you feel like royalty, but with modern conveniences added (halogen lighting in the bathroom!)

Our host, Connie, was an absolute gem: from the perfect breakfasts to the evening reservations bookings, she was always there to help. We also attended a dinner served in the garden prepared by a local chef which was magnificent. Connie and her husband have done an amazing job restoring this chateau and creating a luxurious yet relaxed environment for their guests. We promised to return with the whole family!

Room Tip: Blue room is the most gorgeous one in my opinon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east africa
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We went back to Talaud and as ever it is a 5 star for much less money. The rooms are huge , luxurious , air-conditioned , and Conny and Hein the owners are always totally committed to every guests needs. It is without a doubt the best BB we know, highly recommended again.
Try eating in the evening the local chef is brought in to cook !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Talaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Talaud

Address: 1110, Route de Monteux | Vaucluse, Provence, 84870 Loriol-du-Comtat, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Loriol-du-Comtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Loriol-du-Comtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Talaud in Provence: the property is idyllic, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and luxurious, the service is very professional and impeccable, the location is very central and enables day trips to wonderful cities around. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Talaud Hotel Loriol-Du-Comtat
Chateau Talaud Loriol-Du-Comtat, France - Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Talaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.