We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we dreamed dining in France would be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Les Florets

Hotel Restaurant Les Florets
Route Des Dentelles, 84190 Gigondas, France
+33 4 90 65 85 01
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Gigondas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Meredith, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Everything we dreamed dining in France would be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Lunch at Les Florets in the renowned wine –producing town of Gigondas was a feast for the senses. We loved the escargots, pate with walnuts and mango, beef cheeks, and a pigeon dish which I called “revenge du fork”. The local wine was superb. The decor was elegant and the service superb.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    41
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“'Magnifique' as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We have been coming to this restaurant for lunch over the years whenever we stay in the area and it never fails to delight and impress. The setting is magnificent, the service always impeccable, the food outstanding and the wine list impressive, full of local treasures. We do prefer their fall menu to the summer one since the kitchen uses what's in season and the fall flavours are richer especially if hunting season has opened. Two weeks ago we enjoyed another lovely and unforgettable lunch on the terrace. We had an amazing lightly smoked duck carpaccio with truffle essence that melted in the mouth, a most delectable beef carpaccio with parmesan ice cream bursting with flavour, the most light and heavenly blinis with goat cheese mousse and tomato confit and a wild hare stew slow cooked in red wine sauce to die for. Service was
top notch, attentive, friendly and professional.
Les Florets restaurant is truly a gem not to be missed that we recommend wholeheartedly. Tip: we believe it is still closed on Wednesdays for lunch so plan accordingly.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fine Restaurant in Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Had dinner two nights at Les Florets, and were impressed with the fine food, good wine list, and excellent service. Some recent reviews have critized the food as being "bizarre," but we found our dinners to be among the best we had during our two weeks in France. Just excellent food, nothing bizarre or strange about it. Highly recommend this restaurant -- it is worth the drive! A word of warning about the hotel itself: If it is warm, you should consider staying elsewhere, as our room was intolerably hot and not well-ventilated.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, friendly service, and over-achieving food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We ate here based on a guide book write-up, and only later did I read the reviews here. I have to say, its a shock to see several negative reviews mainly complaining that things have changed toward more creative and less traditional/rustic food. How boring, do folks want to eat the same thing every time, year after year? Perhaps so.

But we found the food to be quite creative for the region, and if anything it over-achieved what I expected for a nice lunch in the region. So what some have faulted as a negative, I found a huge positive. Too many restaurants here are serving the same cookie-cutter traditional dishes, but this place serves them up with a bit of a twist.

Service was great and attentive, the location was gorgeous. Sitting there for a 2-hour lunch makes you appreciate how good life can be.

I would skip the cheese tray and opt for a smaller menu - too many soft cheeses that don't really thrill me. Your mileage may vary. Portions were on the larger side, but not absurd. The sauce on the duck dish was described as "sweet and sour" but don't assume that means Chinese-food sauce, it was much more subtle and complex, and really tasty.

Every dish we had was tasty and noteworthy. I think everyone on staff managed to say thanks on our way out. Would absolutely return if we're in the area again.

Ignore the nay-sayers, if the weather is good and you're in the neighborhood - go!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't get fooled by the poor reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

On our recent trip to Provence this was the highlight of our trip. After having been disappointed with restaurants in Avignon, Villeneuve s/ Avignon and Chateauneuf du Pape this was a feast. We really couldn't fault them for anything. Delicious food. Their own Gigondas (Domaine de la Garrigue) 2005 impressive at 30 euros a bottle. We'll be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Restaurant Les Florets also viewed

Gigondas, Vaucluse
Gigondas, Vaucluse
 

Been to Hotel Restaurant Les Florets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Les Florets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.