We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely two night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bastide de Voulonne

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabrieres-d'Avignon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Bastide de Voulonne
Save
You added La Bastide de Voulonne to your Saves list
D 148 - Quartier Voulonne | 2133 Route des Beaumettes, 84220 Cabrieres-d'Avignon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely two night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We arrived in pouring rain to a hearty meal. The hotel has a friendly wine tasting each evening to allow the guests to mix. The house is very attractive and our room was exceptionally spacious which we loved as we travel with a lot of luggage! It catered for a lot of people and coped well. The staff were good. The owners didn't seem to get too involved with the guests which could be either positive or negative depending on your type of holiday. The host is good with recommending wine. Enjoyed a jog around the area. Food and wine was very good and enjoyed eating in the outdoor verandah area on the 2nd evening. Pool is very large and pleasant.

Room Tip: large one overlooking front door in the corner(no idea what the name was)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    25
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights and it was awesome. The location is basically in the center of Vaucluse region, so it only took us minutes to get to Gordes, Menerbes, Lacoste, L'isle-sur-la-sorgue, Fontaine de Vaucluse. Big cities like Avignon, Aix-en-Provence and Manosque only 1 hour away. We also visited Nimes, Pont du Gard, Les Calanques in Cassis, and Lake St. Croix. The cities are easy to reach from the hotel. Our room is very big with an attached smaller room for my daughter. The dinner was amazing with Provençal dishes, I think. It always starts with aperitifs so the guests can get to know each other. In sunny days, the dinner always done outside which is a great atmosphere. Penny and Julien are very friendly to all the guest. We enjoyed so much our stay in Provence and certainly recommend this place as a base.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

House is beautiful and the pool and grounds lovely but our room was small, dark and damp - the bathroom wasn't properly ventilated and didn't have a door onto the bedroom, it also wasn't very clean, especially the floor. Our freestanding air conditioning unit was very noisy so you couldn't have it on at night.

No useful booklet, or notes in the room to say when breakfast was or general hotel information etc and never seemed to be anyone around to ask. For the price this should be excellent but it is more like a family b&b who can't be bothered with the guests, in fact you get the feeling that they would really rather not have you there at all.

The food at dinner was good but overpriced and the wine was a rip off. Breakfast was basic and they had always run out of everything, you had to go and ask to have the coffee/milk/etc topped up all the time, a rare Sawday's fail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked at Le Bastide through the Sawdays site and I have to say it was as reliable as ever. We arrived here after a long drive from the Riviera which was chockablock with traffic. The sight of what was, for us, the perfect Provençal style house was such a relief and a tonic to all the stress of driving. Penny was so accommodating and even though we had to swap rooms (our fault) it was still perfect. The pool is lovely about 30 seconds walk from the house and the grounds are great but what sealed it was the food and wine - some of the best we've had anywhere. The chap who does the wine and is the host has a great cellar stocked with local wines and I'd suggest you let him make the choice for you. Not once did he get it wrong.

If you are looking for a perfect bolt hole that is super near to lots of the classic Provençal sights then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The rooms around the courtyard are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place. The bastide was a welcome oasis after the bustle of Paris(we took the TGV to Avignon and drove from there). Good rooms, swimming pool was a hit. Delicious food and fun social hour to get to know the other guests. Great base to explore some of the charming towns close by. Great for families with kids. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We came in for two days on a bike trip and given a ground floor room. It was full of small ants that appeared to come in from unfinished caulking around the floor and the door. When asked to switch rooms, the owner----who spoke only French-- said the place was full and came back with some chemical to spray the room. It did not help. The ants seemed more afraid of lavender plants put on the floor than the chemical. It's a shame as the inside rooms around the courtyard looked lovely. On the other hand, the restaurant was first rate with good service.

Room Tip: avoid the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of a cycle tour around Provence. Our hosts were very welcoming. Our rooms were luxurious. The dinners were relaxed yet sophisticated. We were probably on the shoulder of high season and unfortunately the weather didn't really play ball. But with the pool and numerous nooks and crannies around their sumptuous gardens, It is not hard to imagine how wonderful this place is in summer. Child friendly. Perfect. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Bastide de Voulonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide de Voulonne

Address: D 148 - Quartier Voulonne | 2133 Route des Beaumettes, 84220 Cabrieres-d'Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Luberon > Cabrieres-d'Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabrieres-d'Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
La Bastide De Voulonne Hotel Cabrieres-d`Avignon
La Bastide De Voulonne France/Cabrieres-D'Avignon, Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bastide de Voulonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.