We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque views, disappointing lunch buffet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bluewater Sumilon Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bluewater Sumilon Island Resort to your Saves list
Bluewater Sumilon Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Ranch   |   Sumilon Island, Oslob, 6025, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Cebu City, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Picturesque views, disappointing lunch buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My friends and I went here for a day tour, which is pegged at Php1,500.00 on weekdays and Php2,000.00 on weekends and holidays. Pretty reasonable. Inclusions are round-trip transfers from Bancogon in Oslob to Sumilon Island (the island is right in the middle of the sea so this is a must), lunch, island activities like snorkeling, trekking and kayaking and use of swimming facilities.

Pros
- The picturesque views.
- Nice activities (trekking, kayaking, snorkeling), but limited. For families, they do have a children's playground.
- Beautiful sandbar, though it can get crowded with guests

Cons
- The food at the Pavilion was disappointing, It was also limited and when some of the food ran out, they were not replenished.
- Obtrusive service. The staff were too loud, would greet us even when we were lounging or engaged in a conversation, etc.
- The "infinity" pool was too small.
- The changing room was not well-kept (always wet, with slipper marks)

My massage: This was not included in the day tour package so I had to pay Php1,500.00 for an hour of their Hilot Lamang. It was okay, but expensive. The therapist just continued with her massage and did not ask me if the pressure was right, etc.

My recommendation: Go here on a weekday. Not only is it cheaper, there will be less people and you don't have to fight over hammocks, loungers, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    82
    37
    15
    1
See reviews for
50
50
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went for a dray trip, so excited as we'd heard great things about Sumilon....what a disappointing experience. The pool was dirty, not the water but the actual walls and floor. The beach was rural, with no seating or spaces to chill. We were given old white towels to use at the pool, yet hotel guests were given lovely fluffy blue and white strip towels - we were treated as 2nd class citizens yet we spent $200 for the day.

The service was slow and the set menu for the day package was so basic a high school child could cook better. We paid 2,000 pesos ($50) for a day trip to be served spaghetti meat balls. We decided to order of the a la carte menu, that wasnt much better. We got a deep fried burger patty and the roast veg pasta was a bowl of spaghetti with tomato sauce and a few pieces of carrot and green beans. We spent $200 and went home on the early boat so disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The service was exceptional. Someone was with us from the airport, two boat rides and car ride.
The people at the island were also very friendly and reached out to cater to our every need. We went whale shark watching, and only paid PHP150 for the van to wait for us.

I would recommend this for a romantic getaway and family trips. The sand is a bit rocky except for the sandbar. We also hiked around the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A nice place for escape my working pressure. No need to worry be disturbed by the hubbub of voices. You can enjoy the sound of wind, sea and wave. I love this kind of private island.

在沒有太多人潮的島嶼,可以自在享受大海與沙灘。不用擔心被人聲、噪音打擾,伴著入眠的是舒服海浪聲。島雖然很小,但光是浮淺和戲水,就可以玩很久,很適合想遠離塵囂、自在放空的人來度假。只是島上的食物選擇不多,建議可以自備一些點心過去。

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Arriving from Dumaguete airport, our transfers (airport-van-public ferry-van-BW boat) to the hotel was excellent. Welcome drinks and resort orientation was efficient. Room was very spacious that watching TV wasn't ideal for it was too far from the beds. Food was excellent (not too sweet nor too salty) but too pricey. Lechon kawali and lemongrass cooler were the bomb! Yum! Staff (especially Raul & Rose) were well-trained and very friendly.

This place is best for rest and relaxation. Beach is only for diving and snorkeling. Whaleshark experience is definitely a must! Still here but already planning a comeback!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We had the day use package for only 1500 php and that already included a lunch buffet, hiking, snorkeling, kayaking, access to the infinity pool and the jacuzzi.

It was worth every penny we paid. The island is gorgeous that treats everyone with its fine white sand and crystal blue water. It's secluded away from the city, which definitely makes the experience more relaxing.

Check my full story here: http://vacationchecklist.blogspot.sg/search/label/Sumilon%20Island?m=1

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansund, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We just stayed there for a day, no room rental. First impression was that the resort has seen better days. The prices was high.

Quiet and not too many people. Nice view from the pool, but no beach to use by the hotel. The roads that leads to the hotel are very bumpy, even got punctured one weel on the car bringing us there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluewater Sumilon Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Sumilon Island Resort

Address: Sumilon Island, Oslob, 6025, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Sumilon Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sumilon Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Sumilon Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 24-hectare coral island, located on the Southeastern tip of Cebu, is home to Bluewater Sumilon. Pristine white sand beaches abound. Its sandbar is known for its changing shapes and shifting locations around the island, depending on the season. There is a natural lagoon teeming with high mangroves. On the south side, a lighthouse rests on a protected tree park and a "Baluarte", a 19th century historical watchtower. It is also home to the Philippines' first marine sanctuary.At Bluewater Sumilon, let the islander's easy-going friendliness shine through and keep the pace low-key enough to let you feel pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bluewater Sumilon Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumilon Bluewater Island Hotel Sumilon Island
Bluewater Sumilon Island Resort Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluewater Sumilon Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.