We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere. Excellent food. Cold beer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warung Bethania Batu

Warung Bethania Batu
Jalan Diponegoro 103 | Desa Sisir, Batu, Indonesia
(0341) 591158
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Batu
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere. Excellent food. Cold beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This place has a fabulous atmosphere. The food is somperna! The service can be VERY slow so plan to hang out a while. This is a great place to come for a romantic night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    22
    12
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nice restaurant and cafe in Batu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Last week i went there with my family. We ordered fried salt fish ( ikan asin goreng ), pecel lele, gurame goreng, ayam bakar, sayur asem. Well, gurame bakar is delicious and crispy. I ate it with rice and sambal kedondong. Unfortunatelly sambal kedondong is not hot. Too sweet for me.
Sayur asem is yummy. But ayam bakar is too salty. And i dont like ayam bakar in this restaurant. Well, for atmosphere in this place is good enough although a little dark inside restaurant. Like in cave. For the price, is rather expensive for food like these. Oh ya, forget to mention, ikan asin is hard to bite....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batu, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must visit in Batu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

One of the oldest restaurants in Batu, but like a fine wine, it has aged with quality. You can expect cheap prices here, and great food like the ayam bakar and terong penyet.

The sambal is one of the ebst that i tried so far, and it goes so well with the food. I think this restaurant deserves a Michelin mention sometime in the future!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Such an amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We just went there for dinner and the food is just absolutely amazing. Of course we had the yummilicious gurami, cah selada (I've no idea what vege it was but it was good), ayam goreng and ayam bakar. My super fussy son couldn't get enough of the ayam bakar and we had to re-order. Was shocked when the bill came, way cheaper than what is expected. Definitely recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Absolutely Best Resto in Batu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went there with lower expectation and found they are really deserved a star for their food.
Try Gurame goreng kering (crispy fried garoupa), sambal pencit (mango chilli sambal), and Penyet terong (chilli aubergine). Ordered stir fried string beans, fried tempe and grilled chicken too, they're all amazing!

Affordable price, good ambiance (live music in some nights) and they also have a coffee shop on 2nd level, their hot choco drink is also heavenly good!.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Bethania Batu also viewed

 

Been to Warung Bethania Batu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warung Bethania Batu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.