We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Costa Rica Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn to your Saves list
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apartado Postal 41, Santa Barbara 3009, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Coffee Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Gardnerville, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Costa Rica Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel is a short distance from the airport in a secluded area on a hillside. There is a beautiful view. You do not see the coffee planation from the hotel, you need to take the walking tour. You have no idea how big the plantation is. You have an opportunity to walk through the plantation on the 2.5 hour tour. There is a small fee for the plantation tour. The hotel rooms a nicely appointed, the hotel staff is friendly and the food is very good. The coffee tour is excellent and you will learn a lot about how coffee is grown. We ate all of our meals here, swam in the beautiful pool and enjoyed the hot tub together. This really is a lovely Costa Rican property and would recommend once you arrive in San Jose to stop here first.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Lori; I am glad your stay met or exceeded your expectations and we try very hard to always bring our guests the experiences and service they deserve. Vacations are precious and we want you to feel like everything went perfectly and you were pampered and left feeling better than when you arrived. We really are happy that you took the time to write about your stay and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    62
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
82
234
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed 3 days after a busy tour of Costa Rica and were welcomed like family by Ed, Carlos, David, Toto, Jorje and others. At the end of the rainy season it was not too busy and we enjoyed the quiet and attention. Carlos makes a great Mojito with fresh mint from the garden and Guaro and we enjoyed the mid afternoon coffee and cookies or muffins. Ulices gave a wonderfully informative tour of the coffee plantation which lasted over 2 hours. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for something a bit different with great food and an eco friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: We stayed in La Caretta (the oxcart) room and enjoyed a huge outdoor terrace with a great view and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Susan M; I really appreciate you taking the time to write about your 3 days with us and that you enjoyed the attention to detail and the service by all of our great staff. We always recommend 3 or 4 days minimum to take advantage of all we have to offer and I am glad you could rest and relax as part of that experience.And we appreciate your noting our work in sustainability, which is woven into everything we do without sacrificing the luxury and quality you deserve.
Thanks you so much for writing in and we hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had a great, relaxing three nights at Finca Rosa. Everything was top-notch: The staff, accommodations, grounds, food, pool, spa. From our check-in to check-out our every need was catered to with polite, friendly service (especially Carlos and Toto, but really everyone was fantastic). We stayed in La Piedra, a nicely appointed suite with a king bed, separate living room and a huge patio with chairs that we took advantage of quite often. The bed had a ceiling fan over it which was fine for us. It cools down considerably at night anyway. We opted for the meal plan since we did not have a car. It would have been fun to go into town and eat with the locals (like we normally do) but we were fine eating all our emails at the Inn. The food was fantastic, had some great wine and local drinks also. And 2:00pm coffee time was something we looked forward to every day. It probably took me too long to mention the coffee. Some of the best we've ever had (and we are coffee snobs now I guess, haha). We took the coffee tour and that was a lot of fun not only to see how the coffee is grown, harvested and roasted but also how they are organic in every way. Our guide (I believe, Javier) was excellent in explaining everything. We didn't take any side trips as at this point in our trip we wanted to relax more (probably should have taken a volcano trip, oh well next time). We did get a massage at the spa, which was wonderful, of course. Overall, an excellent stay at Finca Rosa, kudos to the owners and staff for making it a special place. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: La Piedra has two rooms, a king bed and a nice patio. Nice to have the extra space, especially the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear the Hellers; We really appreciate your taking the time to write in and share your thoughts about your stay at Rosa Blanca. We pride ourselves on offering truly memorable vacations and authentic experiences, and we ant your stay to be better than you expected. The guide (Xavier) has worked for us for many years and like all of our staff, really loves our guests and lives in the area. Thank you for mentioning our restaurant- we believe in the "farm to table" philosophy and all of our produce and herbs are grown in our organic greenhouse just a few meters from the restaurant, and is managed by our chef, Oscar Picado.
We are very proud of our high quality organic coffee and Ulises who is our guide, will be thrilled to hear your great comments about the tour and the coffee in general.
Again, thanks for the nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This review is about the coffee tour, not the hotel itself. My husband and I just blown away by how awesome this tour was! For starters, it lasted around 2.5 hours, which allows you to get a much more in depth understanding of the process compared with the other Costa Rican coffee tours we did (which were around 1-1.5 hours). The young man leading the tour was absolutely fantastic, highly knowledgable and friendly. The tour involved a walk around the plantation (bring sneakers), explanation of all stages of the process from growing to roasting, and then a 'cupping' session at the end where you learn to identify the different aromas and tastes of a good coffee. A unique point of this plantation was that they produce organic, shade grown coffee - so it's interesting to see and hear about how and why this is done. Highly recommended!

The cost in November 2013 was $35 per person.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear LK 12113; Thanks for the nice review of our coffee our! We are very proud of what we are doing and love to share it with our guests and people from outside who come just for the tour. We try to produce a great quality coffee that happens to also be organic, and for this we were invited to be part of the Specialty Coffees of Costa Rica, which requires a top ten percent ranking in an international "cupping". I am sure that Ulises who is our guide, will be thrilled to hear your great comments and we hope to see you at the hotel and plantation again soon. Please remember you can always purchase our coffee in North america at CafeMilagro dot com if you wish to buy more. Again, thanks for the nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

There is no doubt that FRB is located on a beautiful and well maintained setting. The office and restaurant staff are friendly and accommodating and prompt answering emails. Breakfast was nice and fresh, dinner not stellar for the price. We actually ate in a local restaurant suggested by Toto (Freddo's Fresca) and loved the fresh smoothies and juices and local fare we ordered. We did receive delicious chocolates each evening; delivered to our rooms. That said we had a few issues. We had 2 faulty coffee makers (we called for a new one after the first one was infested with ants) and the replacement did not work either. Seemed odd, especially since we were on a coffee plantation and wanted to enjoy the delicious coffee. Secondly, the adjoining rooms we shared with friends did not have air conditioning, a grave oversight on my part when booking. Perhaps this is not an issue for much of the year but the 2 nights we were there in NOV it rained a lot and the rooms were very musty and damp smelling. We did not use the community area for that very same reason. Again, it seems odd that for the price one pays AC would have been a given. There was a leak in the entry area that we pointed out to the staff. A dish towel or two would have been appreciated in the kitchen area.

The king beds were comfortable but took up most of the bedroom. Room layouts were a bit unusual and didn't really offer much in the way of comfortable living space. The outside patios would have been lovely but the weather was not cooperative.

We did a day trip to Poas and La Paz Waterfall , this was a good location to depart from. A GPS is a must (Carlos kindly programmed for us) as well as printing off directions from the FRB website as to how to find it.

The staff did help arrange (for a fee) the return of a piece of luggage left in their office storage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Michigan TeacherMom; I am very sorry that your stay was not extraordinary and please accept our apologies for the inconveniences. We do live in a vibrant biodiversity and we enjoy a wonderful balance and ecology but sometimes we experience some curiosity by the ants or other insects in getting into the rooms. As per the coffee makers, we just have bad luck with the factory equipment, and although we use the highest quality appliances throughout the hotel, and especially coffee makers, occasionally we find that we are the victims of faulty equipment. As you know, we did however promptly find a replacement.
I am sorry that you did not try any of our many organic fresh fruit drinks and typical Costa Rican beverages, which are from our own orchards. We serve so many in our restaurant and I am sorry you did not have the chance to sample some of these wonderful beverages.
We do not need air conditioning, as the days are usually perfect temperature with nice breezes and rarely higher than 78 degrees. As you know, the nights are cool and great sleeping temperature. Unfortunately, you were staying during a very strong low pressure storm and the humidity was extremely high, although this is a very rare occurrence that it would be so noticeable.
Again, thank you for bringing to our attention these issues and next time you come, we will try to give you the best hotel stay of your life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethtown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I'll never forget the wonderful stay Mom and I had at Finca Rosa Blanca. It was an amazing 5 days of being pampered, eating well, and taking amazing tours. We felt fortunate to be teamed up with our tour guide, Manola. He is an expert in the history and ecology of Costa Rica, and he spent two days showing us the culture and habitat of the local community, a historical coffee plantation, and the volcano. I highly recommend booking tours with him. The staff, especially Toto, took very good care of us--right up to the last details. We felt very much a part of their family. The staff arranged our pick-up and departures and made sure my 73-year-old mom was well taken care of. Thank you for helping us make cherished memories.

Room Tip: My mom would have benefited by being closer to the clubhouse. It would have given her a place to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Carrie; Thanks for writing in and for sharing your experiences with the readers of TA. I hope next time we can get your mom a little closer tot he restaurant and show her all the great things to do right here on premises. As you mentioned, pampering is our specialty and we will make sure our guests always feel this when they leave. Toto and Manolo will be so pleased to hear how much you appreciated them, and because we are dedicated to sustainable tourism, it makes me happy to hear that you were impacted by Manolo's interpretative tour. Please say hello to your mom and we hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My friend and I stayed 2 nights in September, during low season, so there was hardly anyone else staying there. The view from our room, El Valle, was beautiful. We so enjoyed the peace and beauty of this place. The food at the restaurant was fantastic, and everyone there was friendly and helpful. We so enjoyed visiting with Toto at the reception desk. The tour of the coffee plantation is a must! Ulysses was a knowledgeable guide and we learned so much about coffee. Our entire trip to Costa Rica was delightful. We hope to travel there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Dks227; Tot mentioned that he had met you two and I am so glad your experience was so exceptional And thank you for writing in to share with others. El Valle is a beautiful room as are all of the rooms as each one is completely different and designed uniquely. Please come back and stay again soon and let us share some more of our beautiful country and the Central Highlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn

Address: Apartado Postal 41, Santa Barbara 3009, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is a world class 13 room resort located in the middle of an organic, shade grown coffee plantation and lush colorful gardens, framed by awe inspiring views of the Central Valley below. The recipient of many awards for being a global leader in responsible tourism and luxury, Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is the perfect choice for discerning and knowledgeable travelers who want to be surrounded by beautiful coffee fields while nestled in a cozy world famous hotel awarded with the highest levels of certified sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Hotel Santa Barbara
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation And Inn
Country Inn Heredia
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn Costa Rica/Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.