We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn

Save Saved
You added Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apartado Postal 41, Santa Barbara 3009, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Coffee Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Would come back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stay here since it's only 15 mins from SJC airport and is gorgeous. Much better than living in the city itself. The coffee here is amazing too. Take the plantation tour too. Restaurant is very nice! We stayed in El Cafetal and it was a beautiful room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Sutanuka; Thanks for the review and thanks for mentioning our food, which we are so proud of. Our chef, Oscar Picado is so talented and he is obsessed with his organic greenhouse where he grows almost all of our greens, spices, herbs and also the exotic tubers such as "Ñampí", "Tisquisque", "Yuca" and other vegetables and fruits such as "Chayote", and edible flowers. I hope you can come back and experience more of our interesting creative Costa Rican cuisine.
See you next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    62
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
82
227
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We came here for 2 nights to start off our honeymoon. It was the perfect place to relax from a big wedding! We loved how it wasn't too big and we felt very taken care of and welcome. We ate all meals here and loved everything we tried. Marco took care of us the most. He was great! You have to do the coffee tour. We learned so much and saw a lot! The coffee here is incredible. We are saving our bag for a special occasion. Our room was beautiful- Rosa Blanca. The most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. Overall just amazing. We voted best room and meals on the trip. Thank you for making our honeymoon special!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Mstrmucklow; I am so happy your days here on your honeymoon were so great. The fact that you got to stay in the Rosa Blanca Master Suite is even more exciting and I know you must have loved waking up in the morning watching the sun rise from behind the Irazú volcano and seeing the birds feeding right outside the balcony. After all, you were 45 feet above the ground! We are3 very proud of our coffee and also that it is organic and shade grown and if you feel like you want to buy some more, you can always get it online door to door at CafeMialgro dot com
Thanks for writing in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our trip to FRB was three nights of splendor in the peaks above San Jose surrounded by a sweet plantation full of relaxation and ease. Kids swimming, adult massage, endless coffee tasting and tours. The staff was beyond our wildest dreams, as they treated us like family and we left with heavy hearts hoping to one day return! Our villas were as splendid as being set back in the forest can be. The food: breakfast, lunch, or dinner were exceptional, but Marvin's drink specials will always be something I crave! There's no better experience in our minds, and we recommend it highly!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Pradogirl; What a great review and thanks for taking your time out of your day to write to TripAdvisor about us. I am so glad you loved the food and the special cocktails we prepare, we love this area of our hotel and as you know, we use our greenhouse and organic orchards to get the tastiest, healthiest and freshest produce, fruits and spices for our food and for our cocktails. Next time you will have to ry our specialty drinks with fresh herbs, ginger and "Guaro", the national rum style alcohol we produce here which is smooth,mild and really delicious. See you next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very relaxing - great rooms, restaurant, and service. The staff were very accommodating and enhance the quality of your stay at the inn. The food was delicious and the coffee amazing! I highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear ckenney4; Thank you so much for writing about Finca Rosa Blanca and I am very pleased that you loved the food and experienced the great relaxation that is fomented here from the nature that surrounds the small hotel on so much property. Come back soon, OK?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Had a fabulous time at Finca Rosa Blanca, it is a beautiful hotel with all the amenities you could want and near San Jose so you get the city feel. The food was great and the staff very accommodating to the guests. It is a quiet and peaceful place to spend a vacation in Costa Rica and there are so many adventure trips that the hotel can arrange with their wonderful guides. Definitely will go back on a return trip.

Room Tip: All rooms have spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Allison S; thank you very much for writing in and talking about our resort. We certainly hope you do come back and this time spend some more days here to experience some of the many other activities we offer. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place was fantastic on every level! Calm and serene, the natural beauty and wildlife are breathtaking. The view is worth the trip alone. Near a nice small town, it is close enough to enjoy local nightlife, but also secluded enough to escape into your own world. The staff were all very kind and accomodating, and like to grow a report with the guests. They were eager to help with any request you may have. The food and coffee are also amazing, and rival the scenery and atmosphere for the best thing about this place. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear DS232134; I really appreciate your nice review and for letting other readers know about our small inn on a large property. Of course our coffee is one of our most important attributes and we are quite proud of the quality and the coffee tour, but you took advantage of our restaurant and its "farm to table" style and so many other aspects which is the best way to experience our small hotel. Thanks again for writing in and for appreciating what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I spent four days at Finca Rosa Blanca. It was a wonderful alternative to San Jose. It is secluded and relaxing. Because it sits on a coffee plantation the scenery was gorgeous. The rooms were quite comfortable with a design that was charmingly unique. The location of Finca Rosa Blanca is perfect for doing activities in the area. We went on an excursion each day (nature preserves, Poas Volcano) and were back in the afternoon to relax and enjoy ourselves. The staff was warm and friendly and gave wonderful reccomendations on what to do in and around Santa Barbara. It was obvious that the quality of our stay was extremely important to them. We also had a WONDERFUL guide named Manolo whose knowledge about Costa Rica and its flora and fauna made for an unparallelled experience. Lastly, the coffee at Finca Rosa Blanca was out of this world. I missed it the second I left (thankfully I bought some for friends and family, as well as a small stash for myself). As I said, Finca Rosa Blanca has a wonderful location that is perfect for excurions, or for relaxing with a cup of coffee and enjoying the beautiful view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Aidan R; What a nice review of our coffee plantation and Inn! Thanks so much for writing about us. Our coffee is quite well known here, but because we are a single origin small coffee farm, it is usually through our guests that they get to tour and then do a cupping to really understand our quality and responsibility to the environment. Of all the coffees "cupped" in the international Rainforest Alliance annual event with 30 international professional "cuppers" (this year in South Carolina USA) we ranked 11th of all the coffees in Costa Rica and the only "specialty" ranking of any organic coffee. As a small resort, we also have a myriad other activities we offer, including volcanoes, cultural tours, off road bicycling, hiking at 10,000 ft in the beautiful Braulio Carillo cloud forests only 8km from our farm and so many more. Your 4 days here was the minimum we recommend if you have the time.By the way, you can buy more of our coffee at CafeMilagro dot com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn

Address: Apartado Postal 41, Santa Barbara 3009, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is a world class 13 room resort located in the middle of an organic, shade grown coffee plantation and lush colorful gardens, framed by awe inspiring views of the Central Valley below. The recipient of many awards for being a global leader in responsible tourism and luxury, Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is the perfect choice for discerning and knowledgeable travelers who want to be surrounded by beautiful coffee fields while nestled in a cozy world famous hotel awarded with the highest levels of certified sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation And Inn
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Hotel Santa Barbara
Country Inn Heredia
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn Costa Rica/Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.