We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak ever !!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Brasserie

De Brasserie
160 Beach Road, Strand 7140, South Africa
+27 21 853 3833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 restaurants in Strand
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Frauenfeld
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best steak ever !!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We enjoyed the restaurant so much that we went twice a day, lunch and dinner. Both excellent! The service was friendly & great, quality of food was excellent. The owner of the restaurant can tell nice stories and is very personable. Can recommend this restaurant!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    25
    26
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I had a lovely lunch on the deck at this beachside restaurant with lovely staff, great ambiance and delicious food. We ordered the Bistro platter for 2 which was a perfect light lunch paired with the Elgin Sauvignon Blanc. Definitely recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is our first visit to this restaurant, and are pleasantly surprised with the service. We were served with freshly baked bread while we waited for our food. The waiter was friendly and very helpful with explaining some of the menu items with Belgium names.

The fillets we ordered was perfectly prepared and the pepper sauce and sides were excellent.

No complaints here.

Will definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very bad night out at De Brasserie, Strand”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Booked table for 5 for Fri night 27/12 for 20h30. We had our children down from PTA and this was meant to be a lovely farewell family dinner. After waiting 45 minutes with no other explanation from our incompetent waiter except to be told our table is not available yet, the manager (owner?) arrived (after we had to ask more than once to speak to the person in charge) . This person very belligerently demanded to know what was our problem. He seemed utterly unconcerned about our long wait. He informed us that he can't help it, it's holiday season, more people arrived and what do we expect at this time of the year? Also, the early bookings arrived late and so those tables are not available yet. We ourselves have run our own restaurant and we are completely au fait with the behind the scenes logistics! So first rule is, if you're late, you forfeit your table! When we made our phone booking, Why did they inform us they take bookings only for 18h30 or 20h30? Anyway, this person in charge was extremely impolite and, without any ado, quickly told us we can leave. He brushed off our remark that we actually are 2 locals with our 3 guests. We left about 21h20, very hungry and extremely disappointed and embarrassed by this behavior towards us. Our rating would be nil for all. Huge disappointment, this was our first but definitely our last time there.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good first impression”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Last night we visited this relatively new restaurant for the first time & were pleasantly surprised on the decor & atmosphere. Strand really needs a place this modern and the fact that it was humming already at 6.30 in the evening proves that. I have to admit to some concerns that when I rang to book for 7pm I was told I could only have one of two sittings at 6.30 or 8.30 - apparently they do two sittings at lunch too, but I was assured that if I took the earlier sitting we would not be chased out to make way for the second sitting and this proved to be the case. The staff are all very friendly, the menu not huge but definitely something for everyone and the wine list a little on the pricey side. We were all very happy with our choices & loved the little touches like coffee being served on an extended saucer with slices of cake & small chocolate hearts. The loos are something extraordinary too!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to De Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.