We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben's on the Beach

Ben's on the Beach
Beach Road, Strand, South Africa
+27 21 853 7977
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Strand
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on the beachfront in the Strand, Ben's on the Beach boasts spectacular views across False Bay, towards Cape Town. Veteran award-winning restaurateur Ben, and his wife, Shirley (a former hotel school lecturer), established Ben's in 2004. They have created a stylish yet relaxed venue, where a varied and well-priced selection of dishes is offered. Ben's is one of the few remaining establishments that continues to dry-age meat - the time-honored and superior method. At Ben's you will not find over-priced and under-portioned "haute cuisine". We believe that the new expression "less is more" is gobbeldygook, where food is concerned. We concentrate on the simple yet timeless dishes that diners return to again and again, such as a great steak, fresh linefish, and the ever-popular creme brulee. At Ben's, you will discover generous portions at honest prices. We look forward to your visit ... And then return!
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a curry place when we drove passed Ben's. It looked packed, but never the less, I had heard they did fantastic steaks, so we decided to give it a try. They were full but they seated us at the bar until a table became available. After perusing their wonderful wine list, I decided to have a Mojito cocktail instead. (Secretly I am in pursuit of the perfect Mojito!) We did not have to wait too long for a table. They had a great set menu for R135.00 for 2 courses. We opted for the a la carte menu. My husband's grilled halloumi was fantastic, but sadly my tempura prawns were overcooked and dry. The mains made up for. The rib eye steak was delicious and I thoroughly enjoyed my beef cordon bleu. Very rich, but comforting and tasty. We had a great evening, wonderful service and reasonably priced.We will definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    79
    13
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
“Mothers day experience with family and mother-in-law”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Thanks for a memorable day there on Sunday especially your "Turkish delight" waitress who was very patient and fun, but gave very good service. The food was excellent.

We will be back

Dudley Rowswell

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lunch at Ben's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I shared lunch with some friends from Cape Town and Louisiana USA, The venue was suggested by the CapeTonians and I was only to learn later that the proprietor is an old friend from Naval Training days, thirty-nine years ago!
The venue was stylish with a beautiful view of the False Bay sea off the Western Cape Strand.
The meal was one for the discerning diner. Competently prepared, tastefully presented and tasted like "much more of the same".
Ben's hospitality and his well drilled crew who serve in the place made one feel special and quite "at home".
In the words of General Mac Arthur, "I shall return...".

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westendorf
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Ben's is a true gem and possibly the best restaurant in the Strand. Been there 5 or 6 times and can truly recommend them. They have an interesting menu with enough optoons for even the most fussy diner. Their specials are interesting and different. The service is fast and friendly no matter how busy they are. Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“STYLISH - UPMARKET - VALUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The place to take your special date, wife or even your mother in law.. where you can dress up for the evening or go in smart casual (Ben's do not allow short's and slacks), so do make a bit of an effort. It's a place for grownup conversation and a wonderful meal, leave the kids at hoem for this one. Ben's rate very high as one of the best restaurants you can visit in the Helderberg aria. Is has a pleasant and well organised dining room with a warm and cosy atmosphere, interesting décor and hand crafted artwork. In the day there is also a designated smoking aria next to their bar, but at night you will have to take your puff outside. The staff is friendly and efficient, the place is spotless and you could literary "eat of the floor". A nice varied wine selection but for a R30.00 corkage charge you can take your own wine with. The menu is varied and will cater for almost any pallet, and the food is prepared with attentive love and well balanced. Their Pepper steak in red wine sauce is a winner and is on my top 5 list. Weekdays bens open at 11, and stay open till late... Weekends it is bet to book or you may be left standing outside as the place tends so be packed on Friday and Saturday evenings...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's on the Beach also viewed

Strand, Cape Town
Woodstock, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Ben's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben's on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.