We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quintessential Eco lodge, only nicer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Grande Mountain Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Grande Mountain Retreat to your Saves list
Casa Grande Mountain Retreat
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Road 612, Km. 0.3 | Barrio Caonillas, Utuado 00641, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Utuado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The quintessential Eco lodge, only nicer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

What you get: amazing jungle, awesome swimming pool, relaxing hammock on your personal patio, a comfy bed, and the amazing sounds of the coqui frogs as you sleep (including a cute croaking frog key chain on your room key).

What you don't get: tv's or telephones.

I would skip the dinner, not worth forty bucks. If you do go don't be late. I showed up fifteen late and a large group had eaten most of the food. They heroically scavenged the kitchen and found something for me.

Wonderful experience overall. Wish we could have stayed more than one night.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
proprietor44, Owner at Casa Grande Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your Casa Grande experience. The night in question we had a large unexpected group of dinner guests and we came up a little short on our offerings at the end of the evening when this reviewer arrived to dine. Our regular practice is to maintain a more than ample inventory of food products to prepare and serve all menu items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    134
    43
    23
    12
See reviews for
65
228
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia,pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lovely. Everyone was friendly. Sounds at night were truly tropical. Not luxurious but geared more to enjoying the outside. Rooms are sparse, more like row house cabins (neighbors sound like they are in your room) but amazing view from each. Took yoga in the morning to the sounds of the birds, the local dogs barking and the roosters crowing. Pool was wonderful, food very good and view from the porch amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The pictures looked amazing everywhere and the reviews were all good, so we booked. The area is great but the barracks style room is not. The bed is a cheap springy, 1970's throw back. The walls are so thin, we could here people sneeze. The shower was weird because we could hear the person in the bathroom next to us showering. The waitress for breakfast was surly and the breakfast was not great. If I could go back, this is the one part of the trip I would change.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
proprietor44, Owner at Casa Grande Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. Each guest room has either one queen or two full size beds. The condition of the mattresses are checked regularly by housekeeping. We replace mattresses when needed and buy Sealy's brand, their highest grade commercial quality. If the guest had brought this matter to our attention we would have investigated and either changed the guest's room or discounted the rate accordingly. The wood furniture is all handcrafted by local artisans. There's a ceiling fan above the bed, framed photos of the plants and flowers and a poster celebrating one of the local festivals hosted by the various municipalities. The bathroom has a walk-in shower and the sink rests on an attractive Euro-style cherrywood vanity. There's also a wraparound balcony with two arm chairs and a hammock.

We're successful in large part because of the high quality of the personal service we provide our guests. With few exceptions, our staff is given high marks by our guests including our TripAdvisor reviewers. Likewise the restaurant is reviewed quite favorably. Admittedly, we don't bat a thousand and we have our off days. We make every effort to limit those days so guests are eager to either extend their stay or look forward to returning. That is usually the case at Casa Grande.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nice place, very basic room. Secluded, and not private rooms. Thin walls, but everyone seems to live with that. Think of a 4-plex condo with with nothing but drywall on the studs. Two wall to the ouside with windows that have blinds made of concete blocks. Didn't do the yoga, but those who did seemed to like it. But even the thought of 6 hours of yoga....This place would force any high tension person to slow down or leave.

Room Tip: There are two ways to get there, one is really a challange. GPS took us that way. Take a look at y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
proprietor44, Owner at Casa Grande Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. The two guest room walls to the outside have Miami style metal windows with crank handles. There are no "windows that have blinds made of concrete blocks". Please use the directions on our website instead of your GPS to find us as it's a whole lot easier getting here on the main roads.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Casa Grande is worth the drive if you are trying to get away. It is beautiful, quiet and serene. Our room was right by the pool and I loved the hammocks on every porch. The rooms are simple, but sufficient. I would definitely return if I needed some peace.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catskill, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just finished up a month long trip to Puerto Rico with a 2 day stay at La Casa Grande. It was fantastic. The setting is so peaceful, the mountain air is so refreshing, the gardens are perfectly maintained, and the facilities are clean and comfortable. We woke every morning with the smell of orange blossoms in the air. What surprised us the most was the quality of the food. We had two dinners there and each was superb and very reasonably priced. If you want to get away from it all and love peace and quiet, this is the place for you. We will definitely return the next time we are on the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Simply a grest place to be. Beautifully nestled in the moutains with clean well maintained rooms.
The staff was very freindly and helpful and the Owner was clearly dedicated to the creations of a positive forest experienced. A little difficult to find find but the staff is available by phone to help. The food was very good and fresh with outdoor dining. The Batey zip line is not too far away and a great experience with excellent guides.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Casa Grande Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Mountain Retreat

Address: Road 612, Km. 0.3 | Barrio Caonillas, Utuado 00641, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Utuado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Utuado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Grande Mountain Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a valley in Puerto Rico's central mountains, Casa Grande is an oasis of peace and tranquility. 20 rooms scattered up the mountainside, each with private bath, balcony and hammock. Freshwater pool, restaurant and bar. The Café serves comida criolla, contemporary dishes and vegetarian options. Fully equipped yoga facility offering morning class, birder's paradise, botanical gardens and woodland hiking trail. Near Camuy Caves, Arecibo Observatory, Caguana Ceremonial Park, Toro Negro and Rio Abajo Forests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Grande Mountain Retreat Hotel Utuado
Casa Grande Mountain Retreat Puerto Rico/Utuado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Grande Mountain Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.