We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Grande Mountain Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Utuado
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Grande Mountain Retreat
Road 612, Km. 0.3 | Barrio Caonillas, Utuado 00641, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Utuado
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Great family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our clan of 13, ages raging from 9 to 80+, decided to visit this resort we had read about a while back in the newspaper. We were very pleasantly surprised by the amazing beauty of the area and specially the outstanding service provided by the staff. We were able to enjoy great family time while visiting near by historical attractions. I would definitely recommend it to my family and friends.

Room Tip: The ride to the hotel is long and winding. There are many steps to some of rooms that can be tricky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    119
    41
    23
    8
See reviews for
55
198
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto,Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent 2 nights here and one night included New Year's. There are 4 units in each pod so if you get a noisy neighbour(we did) you can hear everything through the thin walls-even a sneeze.
The restaurant service is unbelievably slow. Each morning it took over 45 minutes to get an omelet.In the evening the service was worse. Their staff is not well trained. The food is not at all interesting and ours was poorly cooked. You are basically trapped here for eating so don't expect much.The surroundings are tranquil but there is little to do. The one path that is mentioned is just a walk. We would not return. It is not worth the price.

Room Tip: If you get a noisy neighbour no rooms will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
proprietor44, Owner at Casa Grande Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Yes, a noisy next door neighbor can certainly be unpleasant. If we are advised of the situation we can address it.

We do our best in the restaurant but there is always room for improvement. The large majority of our visitors, including TripAdvisor reviewers, find the dining experience to be well above average.

There's lots to do at Casa Grande. Read a book in the hammock, have a dip in the pool, participate in a morning yoga class, treat yourself to a professional massage, identify some of the 55 species of birds inhabiting the area or take a hike on the woodland trail. If the Ceiba and
Valle parts are not challenging enough, try the Vista which provides ropes to assist you on a steep hillside climb.

Off property there's nearby Lake Dos Bocas, Rio Abajo and Toro Negro Forests, Arecibo Observatory, Caguana Indian Ceremonial Park, the Window Cave and nearby beaches. You can also contract a local tour operator for a zipline experience or visit a local coffee farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We only had a one night stopover in San Juan but decided that we wanted to see a bit of the interior of Puerto Rico. We followed excellent directions provided by the hotel and, once off route 22, had a very pleasant drive through the mountains. Two hours after landing in San Juan, we were sitting on the balcony of our cabin, looking across the valley at a pristine mountainside. The room was basic but comfortable, and ice provided by reception served well enough in the absence of a refrigerator. We had a very peaceful and comfortable night. With a bit more time, we could have availed of the hikes, yoga classes and pool. Wifi at reception was useful for our ongoing travel plans.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We knew we would just leave things behind and rest when we arrived here. Peaceful, calm, serene. No disturbing calls - no signal, no soaps to worry about- no tv, no radio- so cant be irritated at our neighbours !! Just with birds, nature, coqui frogs, fog, ..we couldnt have asked for more. Delicious food, very polite, hospitable staff - this place is where we would want to go back again. Celina, Steve, Rafael were great to talk to. Thanks for helping guests recognise the importance of being with nature !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay Area, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you want a place to get away from it all and completely immerse yourself in nature this is the place! My husband, mother, and three nature loving and travel friendly kids (12,9, and 6 years old) stayed two nights at this wonderful piece of heaven on earth. After roaming the mountains and the local natural attractions we spent a few hours in the tile floored pool surrounded by nature at its finest. We fell asleep to the sounds of the mountains around us in the cool night air and awoke to delicious breakfasts every morning. The staff were wonderful and so were the other people staying at the hotel. The restaurant was able to accomodate my severe food allergy and even offered vegan options which was a huge plus for me. My family had a great time and I would recommend it for families with kids who are NOT attached to their game systems, solo travelers, and couples.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I loved this place from the moment I arrived. Found a great deal online but didn't think it was going to be this great . Peace and solitude, surrounded by mountains. No TV, no radio, no phone or wireless signal . It was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Casa Grande is an excellent place to get closer to nature and enjoy the beautiful view of the Cordillera Central. We spent two nights of our honeymoon trip at Casa Grande and could not be any better. Tasty food, great service and of course good company (my wife). I will like to mention that Celines, Jose, Steve (the owner) and Gary (his son) were very kind and nice to us making our stay very pleasant.

NOTE: Don't expect TV or radio! This is a retreat! Come prepare to enjoy, relax and disconnect from civilization!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Grande Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Mountain Retreat

Address: Road 612, Km. 0.3 | Barrio Caonillas, Utuado 00641, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Utuado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Utuado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a valley in Puerto Rico's central mountains, Casa Grande is an oasis of peace and tranquility. 20 rooms scattered up the mountainside, each with private bath, balcony and hammock. Freshwater pool, restaurant and bar. The Café serves comida criolla, contemporary dishes and vegetarian options. Fully equipped yoga facility offering morning class, birder's paradise, botanical gardens and woodland hiking trail. Near Camuy Caves, Arecibo Observatory, Caguana Ceremonial Park, Toro Negro and Rio Abajo Forests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Grande Mountain Retreat Hotel Utuado
Casa Grande Mountain Retreat Puerto Rico/Utuado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Grande Mountain Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Grande Mountain Retreat to your Saves list