We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERIFFIC!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace St Martin to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Toronto, ON
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“TERIFFIC!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Just back from a week's honeymoon @ Radisson Blu. It was a teriffic experience. We wondered about the assessment skills of some of the other reviewers who were negative - you really have to drill down very deep to find any soft spots in this resort from our perspective. Some of the highlights:

LOCATION: We loved the French side of St Martin - it's much less developed than the Dutch side. Anse Marcel is the farthest you can possibly be from the roaming hordes when the cruise ships dock, and from the crowded all-inclusives down in the Dutch side. The Radisson is in a basin surrounded on three sides by undeveloped hills of a national park. It's a very calm little oasis. With the private beach (no islanders roaming selling hair-braiding or trinkets) and beautiful blue cove it's the perfect place to relax & unwind & just let go for awhile. You are ten minutes from the fun at Orient Beach and ten minutes from the good restaurants @ Grand Case, but you are not immersed in any kind of hustle or bustle here and that was very appealing to us.

ACCOMODATIONS: We had a "Superior" room booked thru Air Canada Vacations and it exceeded expectations, including the honeymoon welcome champagne waiting for us when we got to the room. We were in the East building on the third floor and had a really nice view of the marina from our balcony. The furniture seemed brand new, not worn or weatherbeaten as others have written. Freshly painted yellow walls. Everything even better than the website photos. The bathroom & dressing area remodel works really well. Two people can use the bathroom together no problem (rare for a hotel). We loved the Euro touches in the bathroom. All very soundproof - both rooms on either side of us were occupied but we never heard a sound from either side.

FACILITIES: Gym was a real plus for us, we worked out daily and the equipment is superior. Nautilus everything. A trainer onsite giving yoga sessions and water aerobics down at the beach. We had a couples massage in the Spa, it's as nice as any I have ever been in. The infiniti pool was beautiful and it's divided well so there is a family section at the shallow end and an adult section at the deep end. Brown Jordan patio furniture. Two computers and a printer for guest use in the lobby and wifi in the lobby also - ethernet cable in your room. The grounds and landscaping are beautiful and well tended.

SERVICES: Colette was our Concierge and she was superior, setting us up with two great meals and also the Zipline @ Loterie Farm. Room was beautifully serviced every day. The breakfast buffet in the morning is a big plus - you can go down 10am and fill up and not have to eat again until supper. We found the breakfast much better than the website or promotion material describe it - a big bonus.

ETC: We took the Scoobi water taxi (tab on bottom right of hotel homepage) from the airport both ways, which made the begining and end of the trip really memorable and eliminated the 40-minute jitney ride thru island traffic. There is a Hertz counter in the Radisson lobby so our car was waiting for us onsite, eliminating the airport jumble. Having a car for the week gave us the freedom to leave the property when we wanted to and explore everything else on the island. You do have to drive up and back down the mountain each time, but it's fun and a bit thrilling. Youtube "Road to the Radisson St Martin" and check it out, someone video'd the entire run. You go thru 2 different security checkpoints and we felt very safe and secure here the entire time. One way we saved some money was to buy duty-free wine and liqour at the big supermarket at Grand Case. We could drink cheaply in our room and eliminate expensive booze when we were out. We can't say enough positive things about our stay here - it exceeded our expectations and the only negative was just as all good things do, it came to an end and we had to depart.!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    325
    110
    40
    30
See reviews for
288
545
21
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed at the Radisson around Christmas time. I had investigated numerous options on St.Martin to celebrate our wedding anniversary - the Radisson proved to be a good choice for the following reasons:

service/amenities
+ very friendly and attentive team
+ magnificient infinity pool (very clean, very large)
+ high quality food in La Marche (breakfast buffet, live cooking), plenty of time to enjoy it
+ great evening events (buffet, music) during the XMas holidays
+ great cocktails - order and drink at the beach while watching the stars or the lights on Anguilla :-)
+ well maintained area with semi private beach
+ spacious room with VERY comfortable bed
+ free internet / wifi
+ no insects/mosquitos at all

location
+ French side
+ no traffic noise or pollution (airport/cars/ferry/marina) at all
+ close to Grand Case (restaurants)
+ beautiful setting (it is almost like a private valley with a steep entrance for cars)

disadvantages
+ few restaurants. The on-site restaurant La C has a beautiful setting but the quality of food could be improved. Maybe check out Gran Case in the evening.

We had rented a car in the hotel which we returned at the SXM airport. Alternatively you can also transfer by speed boat. We enjoyed our stay very much and hope to be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

The hotel itself is located about 40 minutes from Princess Julianna airport but it is a great escape for sure! As I came over the crest of the hill onto the property I was amazed at what awaited me at the bottom of the hill in the cove. What a beautiful property with very helpful, friendly employees. The restaurants on the grounds are good, yes a bit pricey but they really are quite good. I ate at both the Italian and French restaurants located just cross the courtyard in front of the hotel. Both were really great, no complaints at all! The hotel is located probably five minutes from Orient Beach where you can get your "all over tan" if you like. You may go topless on the beach at the Radisson but at the pool you have to keep it G-rated. The infinity pool is nice as well. I was impressed at how clean the grounds of the hotel were and my room as well. Anything that I asked for...the staff delivered! My breakfast was included with my room rate and it was a very nice buffet spread each morning! I would recommend this hotel most definitely. It's not right in the thick of things...but if some privacy and peace and quiet is what you are looking for...this is your place for sure! I will go back again to stay here and enjoy it just as much.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

The grounds of this hotel are wonderfully maintained and very relaxing. The rooms are upscale and fairly spacious with marble baths, sleep number beds, etc. but unless you're in a higher priced suite, it's still a long hallway, many doors kind of hotel experience. Nice balcony overlooking the grounds and generally a nice, comfortable room.
The amenities and the grounds are the reason to stay here. The swimming pool is huge and the "infinity" type so that it appears to be part of the ocean behind it. The beach is semi private and the staff there is at the ready to bring drinks, umbrellas, towels, etc.
If there is a drawback its the "Caribbean service" and the relative isolation. While the pools staff was terrific, the rest of the hotel simply runs on Caribbean time. Don't expect staff to jump at the speed of a New Yorker. Remember, you're there to relax. Also. if you want parties and nightlife, look elsewhere on the island. Here, you will need to drive or take a cab up a very steep hill and over the other side to find anything more than what you see from the hotel lobby. There are two "outside" restaurants and a shop or two within walking distance so rent a car or be prepared to know the taxi drivers very well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,Illllinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

my husband and I just returned from a week's stay at the Radisson. It couldn't have been more wonderful. We stayed in a Marina suite, beautifully appointed with a sleep number bed, wonderful attentive pool staff, friendly bartenders and the islands best concierge. If you are a high maintenance traveler who needs someone doting on you all the time, shopping immediately nearby and looking constantly for a discount this is not the place for you. If you want to relax, enjoy the sunsets, enjoy a beautiful almost private beach in a wonderful setting with some of the islands nicest people...consider the radisson.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

This hotel/resort is not suitable for someone who must use a wheelchair. The property itself is wheelchair friendly (flat, wide concrete walkways and adequate ramps) but the designated handicapped rooms are not. The property is less than two years old and there was considerable consultation with the management re: the proper design of accessible accommodations. One does not expect ADA compliance in a foreign country but there are glaring obstacles in the handicapped rooms. For example, someone in a wheelchair cannot roll under the sink because there is a full sized vanity cabinet under the sink. There are inadequate and inappropriately placed grab bars. Radisson Blu missed a wonderful opportunity to provide for handicapped travelers.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

My friend and I stayed here just last week & had a wonderful time. The resort is beautiful, the rooms were clean, and the service was very, very good. We stayed from Wed.-Sun. and there were less than 20 people (often fewer than 10) on the beach at any given time!!

2 tips: First, be sure to book the water taxi from the airport to the hotel. The ride is scenic, and you will not be disappointed. Also, you will avoid quite a bit of traffic on the road and arrive at the resort very quickly. Second, if you need a taxi on the island, ask for "Sunshine's Taxi Service!!" You cannot ask for a friendlier or more reliable driver!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Address: BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin)
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening. The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. Located in the beautiful cove of Anse Marcel brings the opportunity to enjoy a natural reserve with its unique flora and fauna and also sandy white beaches with dream-like turquoise waters, ideal for relaxing and practicing water sports. Rooms , restaurants , bars, pools and spa are at your complete disposal as part of the exclusive hotel facilities. The hotel restaurants will delight you with a wide variety of flavors from the rich and colorful Caribbean cuisine to the international dishes prepared daily by chefs. A perfect destination for travelers who want a few days of relax, beach and sun, offering tranquility and fun alike. You'll find the most diverse activities and sports that enliven your stay, and at night you can enjoy the best entertainment. Undoubtedly the small island of St Martin, in its 88 Km2, offers the perfect holiday destination: beautiful beaches, warm weather, and local friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.