We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace St Martin to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
STATEN ISLAND, NEW YORK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Traveled July 25-31 2009 with adult daughter.
Hotel is isolated in the mountains, which requires traveling up and then down a steep hill; very scary if you have a fear of heights. Once you reach the resort it is well worth it.
The grounds were beautifully maintained, the room immaculate and spacious as well as tastefully decorated. The sleep number comfort beds were delightful and ensured a perfect night's sleep.
Staff was friendly and accommodating; I was provided with a refrigerator and converter for my stay.
The breadkast and dinner buffets at the Le Marche restaurant was both satisfying and tasty. The C Le Restaurant although the meal was fine-it was very expensive.
Both restaurants are open buildings and biting insects can be a problem, be sure to pack some insect repellent.
The lounging at the beach and the pool were both very relaxing. The infinity pool was one of the largest I've seen; it was well maintained.
As previously mentioned the hotel is rather isolated, ideal if you wish to just relax and remain on the property. If traveling off the property and you do not drive, a taxi is very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    325
    110
    40
    30
See reviews for
288
545
21
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

a Radisson could be so good. Big rooms like the Kapulua in Maui... and a great beach...
Because it is in a cove you almost have the beach to yourself (and the other hotel guests).
Lots of famiiies; lots of happy French (it's their August vacation time); pool is perfect without being over the top; lots of nice staff...
Looked at the other places (swear: the Westin looks like a prison; no hyperbole)
I am writing this while staying here so perhaps management will read... they need a moderately priced pizzeria instead of the expensive beachside restaurant (that is not good - sent back plates- and empty except for those tables at the shoreline on the beach)-- a place to eat in the evenings for a more moderate price that what starts at $25. That's it. Have fun.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

I have discovered that the Radission web site does not have the best prices on their own properties. They tout a "best price guarantee" which instills confidence in the consumer when in fact you would be well advised to book thru any other travel site to get their real best price.

Their guarantee is deceving & superficial at best as the fine print makes it impossible to achieve.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIchmond, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

I also read some of the previous negative comments and I found none to be true.

The hotel is simply beautiful! The staff are very friendly and accomodating to any request. Their pool I would say is one of the nicest in the Caribbean, huge for Caribbean standards and well maintained. The beach is very comforable and a note about the "brown" sand---it's just normal sand-well maintained with a person raking out any seaweed or vegetation that may wash ashore at night.

You should rent a car as Anse Marcel is fairly secluded but it's only a 5-10 minute (2 mile) drive over to Orient Beach and Grand Case (many restaurants for evening dining.

If you want casinos, they are about 20 minutes away by car, in fact the whole island only takes about an hour to drive completely around and it's very hard to get lost.

The rooms are comfortable and completely remodeled, including the hallways-we did not seen any cracks as previously reported a month ago. The spa and weighroom were open and funcitioning. The buffet was nice in the morning. As for mid-day and evening meals we did have some cheeseburgers delivered to us at the pool but we did not eat our dinner at the resort instead we drove to some restaurants we had previously dined at on other trips to the island.

If you want a nice vacation with or without children then this is the place to go. If you are looking for nightlife and partying then we would suggest over by Maho Beach area on the opposite side (also nice) of the island.

Radisson did a very nice job in taking over the former Meridien hotel, keeping it's charm plus upgrading what needed to be upgraded.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

You'll want a car to venture to nearby areas, but the Radisson itself is an upscale secluded property with a wonderful pool, elegant open air lobby, nice restaurants, and a friendly and efficient staff. It attracts a mix of families with children and couples from Americas and Europe. While not too large, the rooms are clean, bright, and with balconies, efficient A/C, flat screen TVs, free broadband (!), and incredibly comfortable beds and bedding. I didn't use it, but the newly re-opened gym looks nice - with big windows looking out toward the pool area. The free breakfast buffet had everything from eggs, sausage, and bacon to chocolate croissants, fruits, pancakes and Fruit Loops. Adjacent to the hotel is a little cluster of shops - a small convenience store with wines and liquors and fresh baguettes, the lively Calypso restaurant and bar, and Scubafun which operates dive trips directly from the marina. The Radisson's romantic LeC restaurant opens to the beach and on several nights they had live entertainment. It was a pricey option when the other cafe was closed but the dishes were prepared and presented as nicely as any on the island. Service was friendly and efficient. St. Martin is a fun island to visit and driving it is a must-do adventure. It is easy to get lost because the unmarked roads wind around mountains and into back alleys. But after the bustling and sometimes tacky Phillipsburg and Orient Beach attractions, the Radisson became a welcome retreat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

I read all of the reviews (after I booked the hotel) and was a bit concerned about the roads, the bathroom, the flies at the breakfast buffet and other things reviewers noted. I should not have worried. The road is steep but not treacherous at all! This was our first trip to St. Martin, we rented a car at the airport and navigated the roads without a problem. In fact, I stopped at the top and took photos of the lovely marina at the bottom. Breakfast is served indoors now and the staff is exceptional. The bathroom was not a problem, the sliding doors left a small opening but we thought overall it was a beautiful bathroom. The C restaurant - the service was very, very slow. Try the Le calypso across from the hotel - ask for Remy!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

My mother and I stayed at the Radisson the second week in July. As the previous reviewer noted, the hotel is not new. It is located where Le Meridian used to be. The location is very remote and the road leading down to the hotel is treacherous at best (hence the Descent Dangereuse sign). The spa and exercise room are still under construction however the rest of the hotel is completed. From the time you drive up, you feel that you are at an old plantation house. The lobby is spacious and breezy and the grounds are beautiful as is the infinity pool. The previous reviewer indicated that the grounds are poorly maintained but I disagree. The lawn sprinklers weren't functioning properly so that may be why the grass looked a bit parched but they were working on it. The rooms are rather utilitarian but functional. Be aware that there is no ocean view from any room. All of them face the courtyard with a slight view of the pool and of the ocean the further down you are. The marina suites face the marina which isn't very impressive. The restaurants are mediocre; dine in Marigot or Grand Case. I wasn't impressed with the beach but I'm a devout Aruba lover and have yet to find a beach or water that compares. The beach itself is brown sand and, while the water is clear, the effect of sand and water washing up on the beach is murky. The staff is well-trained and more than willing to assist especially the activities director, Sunshine. I can't say enough good things about him. I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for peace, quiet and true relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Address: BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin)
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening. The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. Located in the beautiful cove of Anse Marcel brings the opportunity to enjoy a natural reserve with its unique flora and fauna and also sandy white beaches with dream-like turquoise waters, ideal for relaxing and practicing water sports. Rooms , restaurants , bars, pools and spa are at your complete disposal as part of the exclusive hotel facilities. The hotel restaurants will delight you with a wide variety of flavors from the rich and colorful Caribbean cuisine to the international dishes prepared daily by chefs. A perfect destination for travelers who want a few days of relax, beach and sun, offering tranquility and fun alike. You'll find the most diverse activities and sports that enliven your stay, and at night you can enjoy the best entertainment. Undoubtedly the small island of St Martin, in its 88 Km2, offers the perfect holiday destination: beautiful beaches, warm weather, and local friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.