We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Perfection!!! Highly Recommended!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace St Martin to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Paradise Perfection!!! Highly Recommended!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We not only loved everything about the Radisson Blu Resort in St. Martin, but are already planning to come back next year! The property is located in a more secluded part of the island and that is a lot of the magic to this stunning location. Even at full capacity, there are enough pool and beach chairs for everyone. The breakfast buffet was huge and well done. For food- we only went into Grand Case one evening because the places to eat on, and across the street from, the property were excellent. If you were feeling adventurous- you could easily hop in a cab to go all over the island for variety...but I'm telling you- once you're there you will not want to leave! For a change, we went to Orient Beach one day and that was fun and busy. Snorkeling on the Scoobitoo was a blast! We spoke with Jean-Marc Jalbert, the general manager, one evening and loved everything about him. He runs a tight property with the help of Liliana Arrigoni, the Guest Experience and VIP Manager. She was incredibly helping us figure out everything. Last words of advice: book a water taxi to take you from the airport to the hotel-- it is a highlight!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    324
    109
    40
    30
See reviews for
288
542
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
metro Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Well, I stayed at this resort, and let me tell you that I did enjoy my stay, here. This hotel is located on the far end of Saint Martin (French Side of the island), and is definitely a great place to vacation.
We were met at the airport and were taken to the resort, and there was this HUGE hill that we had to go up, just before we got to the resort. I'm thinking that there's no way that our van's gonna' make it, but the driver just laughed and said that we'd get used to it , after we drove it a couple of times (and, we did).
At check-in, we received a free room upgrade, and that was a good start for our vacation (8 days). The room was on the second floor, and was near the beach. The room was nice, but if there was one thing that bothered me, it was that there was no bath vent fans. Okay, okay, so I am picky, but I am accustomed to bath vent fans. :) The bed was comfortable, and the furnishings were just your basic stuff. Let me say that the grounds are very well kept, and the marina next door, is just totally cool. The pools are nice, and were well- maintained. The breakfast was good, also. Overall, the hotel staff was nice and helpful.
This hotel is located in like a cove, and the water is mostly calm. The beach area is pretty good. It makes for some good swimming. In some places, there are some rocky places, but not a big deal. And, I did a lot of research on this hotel, and I rented here because of the secluded location. Let me tell you that I was not disappointed.
We rented a car right there near the resort, and travelled the island a lot. We visited Dawn Beach, Orient Beach and a couple other beaches that I can't remember. Orient beach is definitely a nice beach; it's pretty busy, but that makes it fun to visit, and it has lots of white sand. The days that we visited, the waves were quite choppy. At Orient beach, be prepared to see totally nude people walking the beach. I thought that might be awkward for me, but it wasn't; you just get used to it, and roll with the flow. "Topless" is a norm pretty well throughout the island. I noticed that quite a few women were topless. Plus, I noticed a lot of men that were topless, too. lol I kept my clothes on, but hey, somebody makes a choice to go nude, that's their business, not mine.
Dawn beach is a nice beach, also. I did some snorkeling there, and saw some pretty-colored fish.
Now, the traffic on this island can be really rough, at times. Everybody seems to be going to the same place at pretty well the same time. ;) And, the roads, were in bad need of repair, in places, but that is just a subjective opinion. I will say that some of those motorcyclists were pretty daring, passing on a double yellow line on a blind curve. Drove to Phillipsburg, and it is a nice town; and it has some good places to eat.
So, my overall opinion of my visit to this hotel is that it is worth the money, and I would visit there, again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

From the first greeting to the last good bye, the Radisson Blu was an incredible vacation experience! The staff was genuinely friendly and courteous. The room was delightful; clean, modern and comfortable. The pool was amazing, the grounds impeccable! The daily breakfast buffet was second to none.... from the frest fruit bar to the French press coffee pots! It's a bit of a drive from the airport, but definitely worth the ride! If you're looking for night life and party time, stay on the Dutch side..... but, if you're looking for a relaxing and peaceful vacation place... the Radisson Blu has it all.

Room Tip: I would imagine that if all the rooms were as nice as the one we stayed in, any room on site would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Much to my surprise, the good reviews are true. We chose this hotel for relaxation at the end of an island hopping vacation. What a good choice. We had never before been to St. Martin, and were so happy we chose the French side after seeing the Florida-like over development of the Dutch side.

The setting for the hotel could not be lovelier, and the lobby makes a very good first impression. Admittedly, this hotel is about as far as you can get from the airport on the island, but it is a short ride from Grand Case, Orient beach, and not too far from Marigot. In short, you're pretty close to everything you'd want to see, but feel a world away nestled below the hills of Anse Marcel. Having driven on other islands, we found the drive in to be unremarkable. If you've driven in St. Bart's, you will won't feel challenged at all.

As for the property itself, it is in very good condition. They have renovated this property recently and it shows. The decor is a bright, modern French colonial, as is the architecture. The grounds are well maintained by a visibly active army of workers.

The rooms are spacious, bright and well equipped. I had only three minor surprises with regard to the room itself. First, I found the bed to be a bit stiff, compared to similar hotel brands, although the pillows, linens and towels were of good quality. Second, although the room had a mini-bar it was not stocked. In the end, however, I think this was a bonus inasmuch as there is an inexpensive, very well stocked gift shop in the hotel, so we could actually stock the bar entirely with what we desired, likely for much less cost than the hotel would have charged. Finally, the complaints about the showers are true. Although the bathroom appears brand new, the soaking tub/shower combination is defectively designed from a showering perspective. Simply put, if you shower, you will have a small puddle on the bathroom floor. So, save a towel for clean-up because there is no turn-down service, which was also something of a surprise.

Both the pool and the beach are beautiful. Very serene, with absolutely no problem finding loungers or umbrellas at any time of the day. There sea is very calm and swim able. And while I am not sure if the pool is heated, it was comfortably refreshing. Athough there is pool and beach-side service, it is slow. If you want something soon, your best bet is to walk to the beach bar where the workers tend to congregate, rather than circulate.

Finally, the food at both Marche and C Le were very good. The breakfast daily is basically a pretty lavish buffet brunch. C Le had a great setting and service, and was tasty as well, although no better than the good restaurants of Grand Case.

Basically, this is a solid 41/2 star hotel. Except for the minor inconveniences noted above, we had a very enjoyable stay at this lovely property.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anguilla
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel in tucked behind the hills with nothing but vegetation all around. This gives you the most peaceful days and nights. Rooms were very clean, staff and people in surrounding shops were nice and helpful.
There is a really big pool area and a nice beach with a great view of Anguilla to the north. All in all a great hotel experience that I fully recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The breakfast which is included with the rate was a full service breakfast with a wide variety of selections.The hotel is pretty isolated and we always find that renting a car in St. Martin provides different dining and beach options.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We spent a wonderful week at the resort in early February 2014 and have already vowed to go back again next year. We were looking for a quiet break with beach time and got exactly what we wanted at the Radisson. From the moment we arrived until the day we left, the staff at the hotel gave us great service - the hotel is fresh and beautiful in the most perfect lush setting. We splurged and had a cabana by the pool for the 4 full days of our trip and it was the best thing we did, a real touch of luxury and comfort. We ate the majority of meals at the hotel and were very impressed with the quality of food, the service and the venues for the meals especially Le C restaurant right by the water. We arrived on Super Bowl Sunday and the hotel thoughtfully set up one of their conference rooms with a big screen and Super Bowl snacks, which was appreciated The spa was great too, we went twice during our stay for couples massages - so wonderful. We cannot wait to go back to the hotel in 2015!.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Address: BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin)
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening. The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. Located in the beautiful cove of Anse Marcel brings the opportunity to enjoy a natural reserve with its unique flora and fauna and also sandy white beaches with dream-like turquoise waters, ideal for relaxing and practicing water sports. Rooms , restaurants , bars, pools and spa are at your complete disposal as part of the exclusive hotel facilities. The hotel restaurants will delight you with a wide variety of flavors from the rich and colorful Caribbean cuisine to the international dishes prepared daily by chefs. A perfect destination for travelers who want a few days of relax, beach and sun, offering tranquility and fun alike. You'll find the most diverse activities and sports that enliven your stay, and at night you can enjoy the best entertainment. Undoubtedly the small island of St Martin, in its 88 Km2, offers the perfect holiday destination: beautiful beaches, warm weather, and local friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.