We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace St Martin to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Black Fri-Cyber Mon SALE
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Bucharest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for 8 nights. We liked it very much. You could never compare Radisson to Fours Seasons, BUT, it is a good hotel and it is probably the best choice on the island at this price.
Very nice beach.
Good breakfast.
Nice staff.
If you do not want to leave the hotel (which you could if you stay only a few days), then you do not need a car. But if you want to see the island, then you will definetly need a car.
The road close to the hotel is a little too hilly, but you will get used to it. We rented a Hyundai i20 and we thought we will need to change the car because of those roads, but it was just a first impression. We loved it in the end, it was fun.
Grand Case has nice restaurants and bars, during the day you can go and stay there on the beach next to one of the bars.
Do not keep the balcony door open, there are mosquitos!
If you want to hike, you can go to the Petites Cayes beach. It will take you one hour and a half to get there from the hotel. It was not difficult hiking, but not very easy either. Take water with you.
The restaurant on the beach has good food. We loved the red snapper and the hamburger with blue cheese and their french fries :)
The bar on the beach is very nice too.
This is a good hotel for couples, but it is even a better hotel for families with children! Teh beach and the swimming pool are perfect for children!
Have a wonderful trip! :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor in a room with the view to the garden and we like it. None of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for this nice review. We are thrilled that you and your boyfriend enjoyed the beach, the buffet breakfast and the restaurant. Thank you also for your nice words about our staff!
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    317
    99
    36
    28
See reviews for
285
525
21
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to the Radisson Blu for a last minute vacation in the off season for 7 days. It is way off the beaten path with very little around it but it was just what we were looking for. Because there were very few people there we got to know the staff and I was very surprised that there wasn't a perceptible drop in quality of service or food. There are a couple of restaurants that were close. We only went to the French one and it was so good we ate there 3 times. We rented a car on site for one day to go into town and out to dinner. If you like a lot of variety I suggest you rent a car from day one at the airport. There were a few small children there but if you have teenagers I think they would be bored. It may be more lively during peak season. We will definitely be back for some R&R.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had exactly the experience you were looking for: quiet and relaxing vacations!
See you soon!
Best regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family of four stayed here the last week of March. Weather was good, and ,as noted, the pool is large and very nice with a sand "beach" leading to a zero degree walk in entry. Another section has an infinity edge - very nice.The rooms are average, and look a little worn despite the recient remodeling. None of the rooms are "on" the beach. They are set back about 75 meters. We weren't as impressed with the breakfast buffet as others, but that's a small point. Dinner at Le C was actually very good. Victoria's was also very good for lunch and dinner. Car rentals are available and the drive to Grand Case is about 10 minutes for excellent, but admittedly expensive fare.
I also wouldn't make too much of being " isolated". Orient Beach and Grand Case ( as noted) are very close. Marigot is about 20 minutes by car, but a nice drive ( hey, it's not the same ol' sights from home). If you're looking for gambling/night life you should stay on the Dutch side.

Overall, I think the value is there. This resort isn't as nice as La Samanna or Viceroy on Anguilla, but it is a good deal less expensive.... and , hey, you're in the Caribbean. If you get stressed take a swim and have a cocktail by the water.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed our infinity pool and your dinner at C Le Restaurant. We hope you will be back soon... for a cocktail in the water!
Best regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was perfect for a quiet, peaceful getaway. We were there for about 5 nights. The vibe was overall posh and elegant, without being loud and touristy, but still family-friendly. The grounds are immaculately kept, with an elegant large pool. The beach is a semi-private cove, with lovely views, and is only shared by one other hotel next door so it is relatively private and not crowded. There isn't much space to lay out on the sand itself, which is narrow, but there are plenty of other nearby lawn spaces that look out over the beach, and areas to swim.

The staff were all calm and helpful, and there were nice bonuses, like upgrading our room from regular to deluxe, a free welcome drink at the lobby bar when you arrive, a bottle of Evian in the room, etc. The breakfast buffet is amazing, one of the biggest I've ever seen and delicious, and best of all, included in the hotel price! There is a nice French vibe to the place given that half the clientele are vacationing from France as well, and you get French press coffee, etc.

Our room was beautiful with happy modern Caribbean plantation decor and completely clean and well appointed. I'm not sure why some people are calling it 'dated', it looked perfectly modern to me with a nice large bathroom (just not W-hotel style trendy if that's what you want.) I thought the bed was very comfortable.

My only quibble is that the restaurants are overpriced, but many hotel ones are. The food was good, not exceptional, but decent.

The location is a little remote (you literally have to drive up and over a mountain to get there) but if you want privacy, it's nice, if a bit isolated. There are a couple other restaurants and shops just outside the property if you don't want to keep spending within the hotel. Cabs can take you around (nearby Grand Case is about 5-10 minutes away and is about $20 each way, Philipsburg is about 35 minutes away and cost about $40 each way) or you can rent a car (they rent them at the hotel too.)

One word of caution: being the French side, the outlets are 220V European style. So bring converters if you can if you want to charge your cell phones, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We are more than happy to see that you had a great experience with us. We will share with our employees your nice words about them!
See you soon!
Best regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We are definitely going to come back. We never left the grounds, which is the first time for us. Usually we "explore." Since this is our second time on St. Martin, we just collapsed in the hotel, ate three meals there, stayed by the pool, etc. The guests are quite diverse - equal parts French and American, with no single category dominating the landscape. We were not on St Martin for food - coming from a large city, you are likely to be disappointed, as we were with Grand Case last time [lobster/foie gras/crab/steak sort of territory, all quite overpriced]. So our expectations for food were low. Instead, we focused on the weather, on the ample room, on the perfect temperature throughout the day. I agree with the reviewer awe3, the help is variable. I am picky about my bed, so I was a little miffed to see the "sleep number" mattress where you adjust the hardness by pressing a number on the quasi-remote. It didn't really work to our satisfaction. But we didn't complain, because it was rather minor.
We used the spa for massage, which was great, and the gym is almost always empty - not more than 3 people in it.
beach is a little dissapointing [small], since the chaises are not allowed on it, instead you st by the pool, which was great. But the pool is right by the beach, so it's really not a big deal either.
We thought the room decor was just great - not shabby, just sort of - well, resorty. The plugs were universal in our room, [i.e. you can use either an American or a European plug WITHOUT a converter, they both work] In-room WIFI not strong, but you get wifi on the rest of the property no problem - very convenient.
If you are looking for convenient, no-brainer, unstressful, pleasant vacation, this might be just the place for you. It did the trick for two exhausted New Yorkers.

Room Tip: it seems like they are all the same, if you really care about the view, ask for a court-facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Spa, the pool and that you experienced a perfect relaxing stay in our beautiful property.
See you soon!
Best regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed a quick three night stay at this hotel for a girls weekend. It is a little dated, but it is clean and comfortable. Beds are air number mattresses. Bathrooms were very nice. Walls and carpeting a little dated. The french press coffee and croissants in the morning were delicious (there is a huge selection of hot and cold items). The staff throughout the hotel is extremely nice and helpful. Went to the spa twice and enjoyed it. Had concierge call drivers each night to go into town for dinner and they were all nice, quick and reasonable. Restaurant on beach is nice option for lunch while on beach. We were there in May and never had problem getting beach or pool chairs when we wanted. Stayed on the French side the entire time which was well suited for us. Looked like a fabulous easy resort to take for a family trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for this nice review. We are happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Best regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in March of 2013, but how we felt about our stay is of no consequence to you. What matters is whether you will have a good stay. Here's some relatively objective info you may not get from other sources.

Location: Staying at this hotel puts you "on" St. Martin, but not really "in" St. Martin. The location has about half a mile of beach and a marina connected by a channel to the ocean, while steep hills separate you from access to the rest of the island.

Cabs and rental cars are available, but relatively expensive. Getting to the rest of St. Martin by foot requires about a one-mile hike over a steep hill. Remember, this is not one mile on a treadmill or stairmaster, but a "real world" mile in heat and high humidity. We only saw two people attempt to hike out.

The beach is sheltered and the water calm. There is a gradual slope for about five feet to a depth of a few inches and then a sharp drop off to a depth of a few feet.

If you want to get away from it all, you can do that here. If you're looking to experience the rest of St. Martin, you might want to go somewhere else.

Service: It depends to some extent on who's working the front desk and whether there's a major conference during your stay. In general, the service could be described as either relaxed and unobtrusive or slow and dismissive.

Food: The breakfast buffet is ample. You can avoid a wait by arriving early or late. Arriving in prime time could result in a 15- to 20-minute wait. We did not sample the two restaurants at lunch or dinner. With a conference on grounds during our stay, they were sometimes closed for lunch and/or dinner. About half a dozen folks who ate there told us they were disappointed with the restaurants. No one told us they were pleased.

There are three restaurants about 50 yards from the hotel entrance. There's an Italian place -- people gave us mixed reviews. Some talked about a four-hour meal because of the service. A second place -- Calypso -- got generally good reviews. We ate at another option --Victoria's -- and enjoyed it very much. Fish, meat, and risotto were all excellent -- at least by our standards. It seemed like the island version of Cheers. At the end of our meals we were treated to a local dessert wine and champagne.

There is a Mini-Mart across from the hotel where Coca Cola is one Euro compared to 3.5 Euros in the hotel.

Rooms: We spent two nights in a superior room and one night in a marina suite. Both rooms were larger than comparable rooms in the same category at other hotels where we have stayed. There was access to a total of about 20 TV channels from the US and France. The rooms could be described as either comfortable or well worn. The marina suite suffered from a buzz of mosquitos -- six killed in one night -- outlets that didn't work (though there are both 110 and 220 outlets, bring converters), and a closet door that was only held in place by swollen wood.

We didn't ask for any of these things to be corrected, but did ask for a converter and the service was prompt and friendly.

Other Facilities and Services: We didn't use the marina or water sports options, but they seemed to have many options -- jet skis, kayaks, day trips to Anguilla, and even a water shuttle to the Phillipsburg airport.

The pool is quite large and divided into connected sections. There's a walk-in sand beach for kids, a "regular" pool, and an infinity pool with a terrific view of Anguilla. We were told by guests that this is the largest pool on the island.

There is a Kids Club, spa, and fitness center, but we didn't use them.

The lobby is spacious and open. On a clear breezy day it is delightful to sit there. But when there is a tour bus parked and idling at the entrance, it fills up with diesel fumes. There is also a persistent presence of smoke in the hotel -- not our rooms -- and the pool where one gentleman smoked his cigar while standing in the water and flicking the ashes in the water.

Rachel, who works in check-in was an absolute delight. When we arrived at 9:30 in the morning -- because of an early cruise ship arrival in Marigot -- she set us up with a changing room so we could enjoy the facilities and then arranged for an early check in. We also received great service from the doorman who took the initiative to track down our ride after check out even though we didn't ask.

But take note that not everyone at this Radisson offers service like this.

I hope this helps you figure out if this hotel is what you're looking for on your vacation. "Take the grain and leave the chaff behind."

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for giving us your detailed and objective feedback regarding your recent stay at the Radisson Blu St Martin. We hope you will be back to the Resort!
Best regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Address: BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin)
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening. The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. Located in the beautiful cove of Anse Marcel brings the opportunity to enjoy a natural reserve with its unique flora and fauna and also sandy white beaches with dream-like turquoise waters, ideal for relaxing and practicing water sports. Rooms , restaurants , bars, pools and spa are at your complete disposal as part of the exclusive hotel facilities. The hotel restaurants will delight you with a wide variety of flavors from the rich and colorful Caribbean cuisine to the international dishes prepared daily by chefs. A perfect destination for travelers who want a few days of relax, beach and sun, offering tranquility and fun alike. You'll find the most diverse activities and sports that enliven your stay, and at night you can enjoy the best entertainment. Undoubtedly the small island of St Martin, in its 88 Km2, offers the perfect holiday destination: beautiful beaches, warm weather, and local friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.