We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort, nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace St Martin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale from $85
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Anse Marcel
NYC area
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice resort, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I traveled with my 23 year old daughter. Our first time in St. Martin. The Radisson Blu was fine. Our room was nice and comfortable. The description of ocean view was misleading. We looked out over a lovely courtyard and if you squinted and peeked around the corner, you could kinda, sorta, see the ocean.

The restaurant LeC was fine. Expensive. I found all the dinners on the French side to be expensive, but the food was generally better than at LeC. Especially considering the price.

Lunch wise the options were limited. You could eat inside at the casual restaurant but if you wanted to eat outdoors there was a small pool bar/restaurant. Very little shade. Menu options were also limited. No ice tea. One day I ordered a panini which was delicious but the next day, no paninis. And it took 15 min to tell me that. The alcohol drinks were very heavy on the liquor. Our mojito was truly undrinkable.

Beware: the beach, although extremely pretty is unexpectably narrow. We kept being told that was due to high tide, but it seemed to always be high tide. So whereas I expected a wide, white beach I found a narrow strip where you were always in danger of having water under your chair. The beach staff however was terrific.

The entire staff was friendly, helpful,and easy to deal with. Small issue: although the rooms were equipped with American plugs for laptops and phones, they were no for other appliances, like my daughters straight iron. When I asked about an adapter I was told no problem. For 4 euros I could have one. Really? A charge for an adapter? Never had that before. Seemed petty to me. My daughter lived without it for our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback about your recent stay with us and for your nice comments about our staff. However, we are sorry to see that C Le Restaurant did not meet your expectations, I have shared your comments with the team, as well as your remark about the drink at the Beach Bar, we will make the necessary adjustments. The strong swell that we had this past few months had an impact on the size of our beach, but it is not like that all year round!
We hope you will be back to the Resort, you will notice the difference!
Best regards
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    494
    299
    88
    25
    18
See reviews for
266
494
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and myself had the pleasure to visit the middle of march on and incentive trip for 6 nights.
Our hosts provided the boat transfer from the airport nice option. Check in was a litttle slow but keep in mind we had a large group. I don't think most of the time it would be a problem. Great location on a picture perfect beach. We stayed in a marine suite and were impressed. Breakfast was included and had something for everyone and geat service. We rented a car for one day to drive over to orient beach and grand case both real close to the hotel. Loved Saint Martin and the Radisson Blu.

Room Tip: Marina suite worth the up charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are very pleased that you had a great time for your incentive trip and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the water taxi. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Best regards
P.S: Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here 7 nights in February 2013 and were very impressed with the upkeep of the facility, the friendliness of the staff, quality of food and the beautifully maintained property. It's set in an idylic lagoon with a quiet, well manicured beach, and surrounded by dramatic green hillsides. If you're wanting wild surf, you may prefer a different venue as the water in the lagoon is calm.
The lobby and restaurants are all open air and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is fabulous, and the dinners are first rate. As with all resorts and hotels, the food and drink on premises are very expensive.
We would recommend renting a car for part of your stay so you can explore the island and have a chance to eat some local cuisine at significantly lower prices. There is a Hertz booth right at the front desk so you can easily set up a rental at any time, but plan on a 24 hour delay in delivery of vehicle.
Our room was very nicely furnished, and house keeping was very good. Don't get excited about the adjustable mattresses. The beds are mediocre. Bathroom was well lit, plenty of hot water and very nice towels.
The pool is gorgeous and ENDLESS. A few 'lengths' will give you a workout! They offer endless towels at the pool which you can also take to the beach, and they're big and fluffy.
Check out the hot tub. It's very private and warm.
I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Get a balcony. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Resort. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the facilities, the food and our infinity pool. We hope to see you back to the Radisson Blu St Martin very soon!
Best regards
P.S: Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

If all you want to do is relax, this is the place. That being said, would have found it boring if stay was more than 4-5 days. One of the better beaches, pools, views we have experienced but on the two rainy days, nothing to do. Closest town a $40 cab fare with only 3-4 restaurants worth the trip and no real stores. Wonderful breakfast, but having the same food each day was tiring. Suggest guests check room on entering-we found ants in bed sheets and a few 2-3" roaches. Once cleaned up, no repeat issues. Most of staff world class with a few exceptions (thanks, Yann, for reminding us what arrogant French waiters used to be like). Restaurants across street above average food but terrible service and often out of 50% of menu and wine list. For fishing, check on who you are put with. Most Captains terrible attitude with poor equipment. Sunshine Tours a great tour company with Bob one of the best we have worked with.

Room Tip: Outside rooms, particularly those facing water (and away from beach) seem the most quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We thank you for giving your feedback about your recent stay. We are happy that you liked our pool and beach, however we would like to apologize for the room, fortunately the issue has been solved quickly. We hope that if you are looking for relaxing vacations, you will be back to the Radisson Blu St Martin!
Best regards
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Point, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned from this lovely hotel. The grounds, infinity pool and beach are beautiful! The rooms are clean, well appointed and modern. But, the true greatness of this hotel is the staff. They are friendly, very accommodating and a pleasure to know. Liliana the VIP manager and Beatrice her assistant go above and beyond to make your vacation experience memorable! The hotel restaurants are wonderful! If you are looking for a low key, pleasant stay in St Martin then this is the place for you!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are so happy that our staff, and especially Béatrice and Liliana, gave you a memorable experience. We hope you will be back soon!
Best regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A group of three couples just returned from St. Martin, staying at the Radisson Blu. For all of us it was our first trip to the island. We were not at all disappointed. The Radisson is definitely out of the way from many of the touristy areas, but that was fine by us. It is in a cove, looking out between two mountains. The beach is not very long, but it is beautiful and protected with a few waves, but no big ones that keep you out of the water. The hotel's pool is beautiful--largest and nicest I've seen on the islands. Even the hot tub, many of which are not really hot in the islands, was hot. Lots and lots of chairs on the beach and pool deck. Never any crowding or fighting for space.

Breakfasts were included in our package and were very nice--buffet style with about anything you could want. The food was good and plentiful, including custom made omelets and eggs. We had dessert for lunch one day at the beach hotel. The desserts were wonderful. Otherwise, we had dinner at one of the three off-property restaurants across the street. The hotel restaurant for dinner was pricier and simply more food than we were interested in.

The rooms were beautifully appointed and comfortable. Everything worked. The beds were super comfortable. We had got a free upgrade from a superior room to a deluxe room, which was on the first floor and looked out on the courtyard between the two main buildings. Really beautiful setting, but most rooms don't have a water view. That's OK because we spent very little time during daylight hours in the rooms.

The only complaint about the room was that the shower door in the tub runs only half the length of the tub, meaning about half the water gets splashed on the tile floor. Be prepared to sacrifice the floor mat and a hand towel to the shower experience every day.

Many people suggest getting a rental car when staying at Ansel Marcel. We did not because we felt we would spend most of our time on the beach, which we did. A guest we met introduced us to Gus, a taxi driver who lives nearby and has a nice mini van. We hired him one day to drive us around Philipsburg, Sunset Beach, and Oyster Beach. Another evening we had him drop us off in Grand Case. Because of the poor parking around the island we found it easier to hire a driver than rent a car.

If you're into night life, there is very little in Anse Marcel, but sitting outdoors and on the beach is very pleasant in the evenings.

We've been to Aruba, Belize, and many parts of Mexico and the Bahamas and found St. Martin and especially the Radisson at Anse Marcel to be among the most beautiful and relaxing places we have visited. We will be back to this one.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard offer the best view, except for the more expensive Marina buildings. Thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed the beach, the pool, our huge buffet breakfast and the room. We look forward to welcoming you again for another great experience!
Best regards
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

For many, including myself, this is what paradise is. Beautiful beach, amazing pool, lovely grounds and nice room. It also boasts a reclusiveness as it is somewhat hidden away from most of the flat land on the island. Existing in a cove, surrounded on 3 sides by mountain and fourth by sea.

It was well worth the money we paid to stay here. The room was somewhat basic, but nice. Robes to wear, espresso machine with really tasty coffee, mini bar. I do wish there was a larger shower curtain as water did go everywhere when showering.

Drawbacks of note - it's pretty much as far from the airport as you can be. It is a long taxi ride thru the island, which offers a nice view of the all the residence but is not for those who might get motion sickness. The final approach over the mountain pass into Anse Marcel was harrowing. It will scare you. The grade is steep and if it is raining then it is even scarier. I wish we would have been prepared for that as we didn't really know it was coming. I feel like it kept us from leaving as well. We did venture out one day and night to Orleans and Grand Case but I would have perhaps liked to have ventured out to Orient Beach as well or perhaps some other locations. The flip side of that was that it made simply sitting by the pool easy to digest. I guess, with the dining options being fairly limiting - it would be nice if you could take an easy taxi out of the resort at night.

The food was good at the resort but wasn't awesome or really very unique. We ate at the beach side restaurant for one night and the grilled lobster was dry and expensive. The breakfasts were nice however. We ate one night at a restaurant directly across from the hotel - Da Tony. It was a nice little italian place.

Service is expected to be very 'island time' and 'french'. Do not be in a hurry or you will be upset. Even the small bar out by the beach was tough to get a drink, even with no other drinkers around! I'm american however, so I understand this is a cultural difference and it wasn't too bad.

All said it was a blast and very relaxing for exactly 4 nights. Any more would have gotten perhaps a little boring food wise.

Room Tip: We faced the west, on the first floor. There is a public pathway to the beach that was pretty visib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for giving us your opinion on our Resort. We are happy that despite some little drawbacks you enjoyed your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again!
Regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Address: BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin)
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening. The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. Located in the beautiful cove of Anse Marcel brings the opportunity to enjoy a natural reserve with its unique flora and fauna and also sandy white beaches with dream-like turquoise waters, ideal for relaxing and practicing water sports. Rooms , restaurants , bars, pools and spa are at your complete disposal as part of the exclusive hotel facilities. The hotel restaurants will delight you with a wide variety of flavors from the rich and colorful Caribbean cuisine to the international dishes prepared daily by chefs. A perfect destination for travelers who want a few days of relax, beach and sun, offering tranquility and fun alike. You'll find the most diverse activities and sports that enliven your stay, and at night you can enjoy the best entertainment. Undoubtedly the small island of St Martin, in its 88 Km2, offers the perfect holiday destination: beautiful beaches, warm weather, and local friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.