We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace St Martin to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

just returned from a super relaxing week at Radisson Blu on the french side of the island, st. martin. the beach is beautiful, virtually private and very safe. this hotel is a small resort and is not like the busy, expansive all inclusive resorts. its a nice quiet retreat. the resort has only one main restaurant but is very close to the fantastic restaurants in grand case. just across from the hotel are a couple of dining options including great pizza at calypso. the hotel offers a rental of a small in room refrigerator and expressed no beach/lounge area restriction on refreshments purchased off the property.
the only negative of staying here is there is no evening entertainment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our beautiful beach and our restaurants!
We look forward to your next stay.
Best regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    325
    110
    40
    30
See reviews for
288
545
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk County, Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Radisson Blu Resort at Anse Marcel, St Martin is a stunningly beautiful hotel with manicured, immaculate grounds, a gorgeous pool area, and a secluded, perfect beach immediately adjacent to the pool. They were having a bit of confusion when we first arrived -- their computers were down and they sent us to a room that was still occupied -- but all got sorted out, and everything went well after that. Sumptuous breakfasts in an open-air dining room are free to hotel guests. The rooms are large and luxurious, with covered balconies and spacious bathrooms -- although the showers have these odd little half doors that do not prevent the floor from getting soaked when you shower, no matter how careful you are. If you rent a car and drive yourself, as we did, be prepared to be "white-knuckled" the first time you navigate the extremely twisty, steep, and narrow road that leads to the hotel. Also, being on the French side, the hotel uses the French standard for electrical power -- 220 volts through a twin-round-pin plug -- so you'll need a converter and plug adapter to charge your cell phone or laptop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for this great review! We are so glad that you liked our Resort. We hope to see you back to the Radisson Blu, St Martin soon!
Regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Radisson Blu is hard to reach, but worth the trip. Roads leading to the hotel seem too dangerous to walk, so we stayed at the hotel and beach for our 3 night stay. The beach is outstanding - white sand, not crowded, and clean water with a few sail boats in the harbor just beyond the buoy line. The island, Anguilla, is viewable in the distance about 2 miles away. Hearty buffet breakfast is outstanding. Personnel in the lobby are helpful. An international salsa festival in the ballroom livened up our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you had a great experience at the Resort and had the opportunity to see the Salsa Festival, which was a great event!
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Radison Blu Resort at St Martins
Just came back from this hotel after five nights stay. My 7th trip to St M/Ms. I have stayed in just about every hotel chain from Ritz/Four Seasons and higher rated to “we’ll leave a light on for ya”, so I think I am pretty qualified to comment. The Radison Blu is on a great piece of property—the setting here is if not the best in St M/M, it is one of the best. A beach resort surrounded on three sides by Hills/small mountains. The beach is great, the pool is without a doubt the best I have seen in St. M/M, albeit I have not stayed at all of the top end places, (save your money and do not eat at the newly constructed beach bar, food was terrible) but the food at the beach side restaurant was very good. There was not one thing to be disappointed about regarding the setting. I give the setting 6 stars out of 5.
The actual hotel is pretty decent, not top notch but really pretty decent. The rooms are roomie, nice bath and a sitting balcony. Each bed was a sleep number bed, which I guess I miss the purpose of that amenity-not sure why it is there, not even sure it worked. Each room had a safe-which in my opinion is a must at every hotel. The one drawback to the room was the carpeted floor, for a resort where people are coming and going with sand and wet things---a carpet to me is a mistake, not very clean—one other thing---do not have open food in your room, we stopped and bought some French Pastries and placed them on the TV table-the box was closed but not air tight. We woke up in the morning only to find our pastry covered with a thousand ants—little buggers but they were all over the inside of the box. Ruined some really good pastry.
I think the room was overpriced but the setting was fantastic so I guess one outweighs the other-should be selling for $100.USD less at peak in my opinion. I give the hotel room 3 stars out of 5.
There are restaurants on the hotel property and across from the main hotel entrance-thirty yards away all pretty decent-Victorias was very good but was a bit pricey but Calypso was priced fair and had excellent pizza. The Italian Restaurant (name slips me, was very good). We had a breakfast package and I thought the breakfast was very good-everything one could want. One note about the restaurants---people smoke non-stop and do not care for a minute who is sitting next to them---you may be at a tight table and the couple next to you will light up and smoke before, during and after their meal--- we always got a table away from that but I saw others who were really annoyed get up and move away. But the smokers did not flinch a bit—
You don’t need a car if you are happy to just stay on the property—food, bar etc all there. Driving in St M/M is interesting---one thing for certain---the roads suck and they have not gotten better over the years and more and more people are driving so be cautious. The road to and from the hotel is interesting-up and down a tight steep hill.
The property is 8 minutes from Grand Case-which in my opinion may be the most over rated place on earth to eat dinner, and maybe 15-20 from Marigot, which has some decent restaurants. We stopped at Le Spinnaker and I had the best escargot ever ---give it a try. Marigot is packed with cars, narrow streets and lots of locals walking so if you do not like driving-take a cab. Nothing spectacular in Marigot, I am a looker not a shopper but I did not see anything that looked like a deal—so if you are looking for one, know your prices-Euros and USD.
ST M/M is great, I will go back and I will even stay at the Radison Blu-albeit I do think it is overpriced.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We thank you for giving us such a detailed feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your overall experience at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was our fifth year returning to the hotel, and each year just gets better. The renovated Marina Suites were quite stunning, and really seemed like our home away from home. As always, the staff is most friendly and accommodating. Avril, we love you! The charming and ever present GM, Jean-Marc, runs a beautiful resort and promptly attends to any issues (thanks for the wine glasses). Now if he could have only secured a Patriot win, our stay would have been complete. Look forward to our return next January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review. I have passed along your compliment to all the staf, and especially to Avril!
We look forward to welcoming you next year!
Sincerely,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I really would like to give it a better rating, but I expect more from the price we paid. The resort is beautiful and the staff is wonderful -- the best -- but it just didn't measure up.

The food on the breakfast and lunch buffets was consistently warm (not hot) and overcooked. The C restaurant was much better (and they made a superb cosmo!). The waitstaff at both restaurants and all of the bars was kind and attentive.

After a couple of days, my room started smelling moldy. I told the housekeeper, and she said something like "The drain needs cleaning," knowing what to do. Sure enough, when I came back later, it was not smelling. A couple of days later, the same thing. I overheard other guests complaining about mold, too.

The housekeeping staff was kind, helpful, and really nice, but... Some days I had turn down service, some days not. The bathroom card said to hang towels if I would reuse them. I hung them every day, but they were always removed. A few days later I had no more towels! While the room was cleaned everyday, it was never tidied. (Personally, I think it is because of poor training.)

They boasted they had spent millions on renovation yet the shower would go from hot to cold to hot to cold. Plus, the results from adjusting the faucet didn't easily change the temperature. One set of the curtains also did not open and close easily--after a couple of days I discovered how the housekeeping staff deals with that issue. The clock radio was broken. And the mold issue.

Would I go back? No.

If I had a reservation, would I cancel it? No.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback on your recent stay and for your really nice comments about our staff. We are, however, very sorry that the Resort did not meet your expectations. All your remarks have been shared with the entire team and we will work diligently to solve these issues.
We hope you will be back to the Resort to give you another insight of our beautiful property.
Best regards,
Jean-marc Jalbert - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our stay in May of 2012 at the Radisson was amazing. The crystal clear water was nestled by the green hills. Within minutes of our arrival, we were given the room key, delicious drinks, and a friendly staff member to help with our bags. We wanted a family beach getaway (2 kids- 14 and 8) and that's exactly what we got. The breakfast buffet offered a wide variety of choices. My only negative point would be the price of the food. There are two restaurants in front of the property which offer more adequate pricing. (I would not recommend the Italian restaurant as they had insane prices and mediocre food)

As far as entertainment went... We were entertained! The pool is beautiful, the beach astonishing, and the property itself; elegant. We hired a small, private boat (everything was checked and confirmend with the trip planning staff) and went on a tour and snorkeling expedition. There is more than enough entertainment on the property itself as well!

One word of advice: Bring the strongest possible sunscreen available. Our skin, used to the East Coast sunshine, was NOT ready for the magnitude of the St. Martin sunshine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Address: BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin)
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening. The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. Located in the beautiful cove of Anse Marcel brings the opportunity to enjoy a natural reserve with its unique flora and fauna and also sandy white beaches with dream-like turquoise waters, ideal for relaxing and practicing water sports. Rooms , restaurants , bars, pools and spa are at your complete disposal as part of the exclusive hotel facilities. The hotel restaurants will delight you with a wide variety of flavors from the rich and colorful Caribbean cuisine to the international dishes prepared daily by chefs. A perfect destination for travelers who want a few days of relax, beach and sun, offering tranquility and fun alike. You'll find the most diverse activities and sports that enliven your stay, and at night you can enjoy the best entertainment. Undoubtedly the small island of St Martin, in its 88 Km2, offers the perfect holiday destination: beautiful beaches, warm weather, and local friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.