We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace St Martin to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our family of 4 (myself, my husband, and our two boys, ages 5 and 6), traveled to the Radisson Blue in Anse Marcel at the beginning of August 2012. After a major snafu with United (flight was overbooked, and we were not allowed to board the first time we went, had to pay a fee to fly the following week), we were very pleasantly surprised with the service here. Even though we had to postpone our trip for a week, the Radisson Blu honored our original reservation, which was great. We stayed in a ground floor mRina suite. Anyway, here are our pros and cons-
Pros:
Beautifully manicured and well-kept grounds. While we were there, there were landscapers pulling weeds and putting gravel back where it belonged.
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
They gave us a nice welcome cocktail
The pool is open all hours, and was my kids favorite part of the whole trip.
The breakfast buffet was extensive, but got a little boring after a few days
Security getting into and out of the hotel property was pretty good - you had to show your room card at the gate, and at night, there was a second security guard farther up the hill.
Parking was very close to the main entrance to the hotel.

Cons:
The room smelled slightly musty (especially one wardrobe-type piece of furniture), but that may be due to the humidity and the proximity to the canal, and the lack of air conditioning use when no one was using the room.
Not too many shops/restaurants around, besides on the hotel grounds. The restaurants on the hotel grounds were a bit overpriced - not too bad, but not cheap,either. We did rent a car, and more affordable, better food was available in Grand Case (i.e, nicer restaurants and the lolos, which had great ribs, and lots of them.

In all, I would completely recommend this resort to anyone with a family who wants a relaxed vacation with the kids. They also lent the kids buckets & shovels to play at the beach, as well as snorkels, masks, and fins at no charge. Also, we requested an in-room refrigerator,for which we were not charged either. There was a supermarket on the road getting to the Radisson, so we stocked up on juice, beer, snacks, etc, which was a great help with the kids. The staff was really excellent in a helpful way, which was also much appreciated. We did rent a car from Hertz, which was also useful to go to other beaches - we especially liked Mullet Bay for the snorkeling.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for leaving us a review. We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you again.
Cordialement,
Jean-marc Jalbert – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    325
    110
    40
    30
See reviews for
288
544
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Saint Martin is the island of Casinos, beautiful beaches, restaurants etc. But there is a corner in the French area, where you can find a peaceful corner to relax yourself. You have to pass the small village of Cul de Sac (which is located on the road to Pinel Island) and you'll find a "particular" road to the Radisson Resort.

We spent two weeks here, so we had the opportunity to know everything here.

The Resort has pretty new rooms, completely refurbished on 2011, two restaurants, a private beach and a huge swimming pools (someone says that is the biggest of the Caribbean). This Resort is the best accommodation for families with children (either for the swimming pool and for the kids club, or the beautiful beach, with a calm water).

What about the services? The room was very comfortable with all the amenities you could desire (including a Nespresso machine, that was refilled with new capsules every day) and very clean!

Every morning, we had fresh and clean towel beach; once at the beach, the guys of Radisson were ready to open your beach umbrella.

The buffet breakfast was quite good and could satisfy every one (there was also the eggs-corner, to taste a good omelette or scrambled-eggs).

Nice bar for a quick lunch, just beside the beach.

We weren't not satisfied for the dinner restaurant: we found it was too expensive. There are a couple of Restaurant just outside the Resort: we tried one, but I have nothing to say. Since the Radisson is far away, we suggest to get a car, either for visiting this beautiful island and for choosing different restaurants (go to Marigot, or Cul de Sac, or Grand Case and you'll find everything, from "Lolo" to expensive French Restaurants).

At the moment the WiFi connection is available at the Lobby, at the two restaurants, and close to the swimming pool, but there are "work in progress" to extend it everywhere.

We do recommend this Resort

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for the review. We are very happy that all your family had wonderful experience with us at the Resort. As you mentioned the WiFi is now available in all rooms and public areas! This is a great plus for our guests!
We hope you will come back soon to try it!
Cordialement,
Jean-marc Jalbert – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here August 2012 and the hotel is beautiful. Front desk staff a bit aloof. We had problems with our room upon check in and the front desk acted like we were at fault. (Giving us a King Size bed for 4 people). Beside that, the place is a great deal and everyone else aimed to please.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in a room that faces the center of hotel with beautiful grounds. Our room overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-marc J, General Manager at Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry that you encountered some issues with the room and the front desk staff upon check in. We are happy that you still had a wonderful stay with us!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Cordialement,
Jean-marc Jalbert – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar Del Plata, Argentina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at Radisson Blue Marina & Spa on July 2010, but it’s great to see things are going as well as then. We had a very good 5 days stay. Fast check-in and welcome drinks.
Room 1339: on the 1st floor overlooked the neighboring hotel and laterally to the sea. Very clean, modern bathroom with good toiletries. The A/C worked perfectly. No ants or mosquitoes.

Breakfast at Le Marché: Excellent. Great selection to suit all tastes. There was a delicious jam home-made style with local fruits. Friendly and efficient waitresses. Coffee was served and refilled quickly. Indoor and Outdoor seating.

C, Le Restaurant: served delicious lunches (50/60 euros 2 adults, 2 kids no alcohol) with a magnificent view and excellent service. Dinners were also good (100 euros)

The Fitness room: very well equipped, spotless, with fresh towels and water.

The pool: huge, clean and well designed with space to accommodate all the guests, although security staff was not polite, then. (On our first day we were approached by one of them as if we were suspected of being “illegally” there)
There is a peripheral fence around the pool with gates & locks. A little uncomfortable, especially if you are carrying your hands full because there was nowhere to put stuff but the floor. Later we found there was an easier access near the towel hut.

The beach: a bit disappointing as it did not look like on the website. Being in a cove and not fully open sea, the water has a greenish blue color and smelled, during our stay. While we prefered Anguilla’s beaches, where we had been the week before, we also found very beautiful beaches in St. Martin: Baie Rouge, Baie Nettle, Orient, Happy and Friar's Bay, Le Galion, Pinet Island (French side) Cupecoy, Mullet, Dawn, even the popular Maho and Great Bay (Dutch side)
We rented a car (took time to get used to driving on hilly roads) and drove around the island on both sides almost every day, but it was really nice to return to our hotel with its beautiful gardens and calm atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

The Radisson Blu in St Martin was by far one of the best vacation experiences my family have ever had. The management and staff were the best I have ever had the pleasure to deal with. From the check in welcome drink to the management thanking us for staying on the way out, it was a top notch operation. We enjoyed an Italian and a Creole Buffet at Le Marche that were both great. We loved our nightly Lobby Bar visits for cold drinks, Olympics on the TV and fun conversation with the bartenders, who were all very nice people. Even though this resort is probably one of the nicest in the Caribbean, the people working there really made the stay memorable. We enjoyed our week there and will defiantly return. Thanks guys

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Overall, we had a great vacation at Radisson Blu. Very relaxed atmosphere, beautifully maintained grounds, enormous pool, and beautiful and calm beach.

We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a suite upon arrival. The suite was spacious with a separate bedroom and living room with a pullout sofa. There was plenty of closet and drawer space to fully unpack. While the rest of the resort does not have views of the ocean, the suites have a view of the canal that leads to the harbor. Extremely quiet and peaceful.
The kids loved the pool, beach, and breakfast. If you went to the pool early, someone would come around with fresh fruit. LOVED having a Nespresso machine in the room - just like home.

Breakfast was great - not a tremendous selection - but just enough. However, the omelette cook always seemed to be in a foul mood and didn't really know how to make an omelette.

The kids room wasn't very active. They did not have many organized activities so I couldn't convince them to stay longer on their own, which would've justified the fee. So we only played there once for an hour and borrowed a board game to take back to our room.

For improvements, I guess taking into consideration that it's only a 4 star hotel, I would say that the service was relaxed, or in other words not very attentive. The beach chairs were never really cleaned up from the night before so you didn't really need to move beach chairs around, but there wasn't that type of service on the beach. At the pool, besides the fresh fruit, I hadn't even realized that there was a small booth where you could order drinks and food. My biggest complaint was the cleanliness of the bathroom. I borrowed the cleaner's disinfectant spray and cleaned the shower stall myself because it was extremely moldy and smelly. From the look of my cloth, it hadn't been wiped down in a long time. I really just couldn't handle it. After I cleaned, it was perfect. Little details when returning after it was cleaned - no fresh towels one day, not cleaning/sweeping the floor on another with the bath mat from the day before still on the floor, our ear buds were never replenished, and I couldn't really tell if the sheets were replaced.

We had dinner just one evening and it was great. But we passed on the two buffet dinners because considering what was on offer, it was very expensive. Bistrot Caraibes in town is excellent. The restaurant, Calypso, has great pizza. Lots of options everywhere.

This is our second trip to St. Martin. This is by far the best value you can find.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We've been to many hotels in the caribbean, but, this one exceeds all others. The rooms were clean. The staff was oustanding. They went above and beyond to accomodate us. With that said, we plan to return
in the immediate future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Address: BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St Maarten-St Martin (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin)
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New opening. The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. Located in the beautiful cove of Anse Marcel brings the opportunity to enjoy a natural reserve with its unique flora and fauna and also sandy white beaches with dream-like turquoise waters, ideal for relaxing and practicing water sports. Rooms , restaurants , bars, pools and spa are at your complete disposal as part of the exclusive hotel facilities. The hotel restaurants will delight you with a wide variety of flavors from the rich and colorful Caribbean cuisine to the international dishes prepared daily by chefs. A perfect destination for travelers who want a few days of relax, beach and sun, offering tranquility and fun alike. You'll find the most diverse activities and sports that enliven your stay, and at night you can enjoy the best entertainment. Undoubtedly the small island of St Martin, in its 88 Km2, offers the perfect holiday destination: beautiful beaches, warm weather, and local friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace St Martin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.