We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Le Domaine !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Anse Marcel
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Loved Le Domaine !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

I just returned from a brief (4 nights) but great trip to Saint Martin where I stayed at Le Domaine de Lonvilliers hotel. This is my third trip to the French side of St. Martin - my main focus on this trip was rest and relaxation as opposed to sight seeing - I picked the perfect spot ! Located at Anse Marcel on the north side of the island, Le Domaine is about a 30 minute cab ride (depending on traffic) from Princess Juliana airport. The hotel was larger than I had imagined, given the description of other travelers. It is a gated compound of several three story buildings facing either the center courtyard or the ocean, but none of the rooms are more than a 2 minute walk to the beautiful white sandy beach. There are plenty of beach chairs with cushions (some hotels in St. Martin you actually have to pay extra to use a chair!!) and large beach towels you pick up each morning at the beach bar. The ocean is calm in this protected location. There are 2 other hotels on this beach that are currently closed and undergoing extensive renovations, so the beach is very quiet and private. The rooms are large, clean and have lots of closet space. The beds are new and firm (cement firm) but better than the alternative. The staff could not be more friendly or accomodating. I was traveling alone and was doted on by the staff, particularly at the gourmet restaurant, even invited to a glass of champagne on my last evening at the hotel. I ate at the restaurant each night and everything was delicious. Lunch at the beach bar is salads and sandwiches/burgers which are also quite tasty. The hotel guests were mostly couples, 30's or older. If you are looking for nightlife, it is a close cab ride away as are the many fabulous restaraunts in Grand Case. The gym is less than desirable, but heck, you're on vacation so a few days away from the gym isn't going to kill you. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a peaceful, relaxing but extremely comfortable stay.

  • Liked — quiet, peaceful, beautiful beach
  • Disliked — very hard beds
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    145
    68
    49
    37
See reviews for
69
259
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

My husband and I stayed here from Feb. 24 to Mar. 3. For the most part we agree with CairoFL's review. It did take a couple of days to get used to using a hand-held shower in the bathtub but we managed. We loved the bed. Linens and towels are of excellent quality plus we had maid service twice a day. It is too bad that the balcony doors don't have screens. It would have been nice to listen to the ocean at night but we didn't need the wildlife invading. The hotel was not overly busy so there were lots of beach chairs and umbrellas available. Hardly anyone used the pool since the beach was so nice. The pool has two whirlpools; we would have preferred hot tubs. And the pool is not for non-swimmers; it is 5 feet deep almost entirely. We ate at the breakfast buffet every day, usually ordered lunch from the beach bar (pizza and hamburgers delicious)or went out and ate dinner twice in La Veranda. The appetizers and entrees are quite big and could easily be shared. If the chef is offering a wine and cheese tasting, go. The wines, cheeses and breads were all excellent. Most of our dinners were cheese and crackers on our balcony. Unfortunately Anse Marcel is not as thriving a community as it once was so there aren't many options to the facilities at Le Domaine. The convenience store in the village has a very limited selection. We rented a car at the hotel for two days which was quite enough for us (our second trip to the island). The traffic around the airport is awful and it isn't easy to get convenient parking in Marigot. Taxis are easy to get at the hotel and apparently if they take you to Grand Case for dinner, they will wait for the return trip. We had a lovely lunch at Kali's Beach Cafe at Friar's Bay - the ribs were among the best I've had. We chose this resort from a package deal offered by another website. It was good value and we would return if we could get a similar package. I'm not sure that it's worth the regular prices though.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

We just returned from a 4night get away to Le Domaine. The property is very nicely located on the beach in Anse Marcel. Yes, the drive up the hill is bumpy, curvey and a bit "out of the way". But it is not impossible to drive, just exercise caution especially at night. There are plenty of speed bumps discouraging high speed. It is a good 30-40min drive from Juliana airport.
Our package included breakfast each morning. The buffet included baguettes, toast, croissants, eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage, ham, salami, cheese, juices and cereals (Fruit Loops and Frosted Flakes, etc..) It is served on the patio of the open air restaurant right above the beach and the bay. The setting is absolutely beautiful and relaxing!
Beach is great! Minimal waves-very swimable. Beach chairs were nicely appointed with the thick cushions.
The pool is large and very clean, not heated during our stay but the 80+ temp warmed the water enough to refresh before dinner.
Lunch & Dinner menu are the same, although a snack menu is available for lunch. I had one of the best Caesar salads with grilled chicken ( leave out the warm bacon-unless you like it that way ) along with some wine I had left over from dinner 2 nights previously that the staff re-corked and held for us. Husband had hamburger.
Dinner was just OK. My husband did not care for his seafood and I had shrimp tempura which was good.
The real downside to Le Domaine is the bed and the bath tub.
The bed was "King" flat mattress on a board (2 twins pushed together like a cruise ship) very uncomfortable. The tub was
big enough for a romantic bubble bath, however, when returning from the beach, full of sand, sitting in a tub of dirty water is not appealing to me! For 'senior citizens' or even us middle age folks - getting in/out of the tub could be more hazardous than the drive to the hotel! If you choose to stand and hold the shower hose-the tub is, of course, quite slippery. One can easily fall, so I really expect small shower stalls will be installed in the future-after a few law suits...
Staff were always friendly and accomodating. One exception...We asked for them to reserve a table for us at Spiga. When we arrived at the restaurant an hour later, management said the hotel just called and they informed Le Domaine staff that they could not seat us until 9pm. We arrived at 7:30 and left very disappointed! More so with Spiga than the staff at the hotel. The restaurant had 12 empty tables-seems they could have accomodated us... Had a similar experience at Le Santal. We requested 8pm seating and were told 8:30 was the earliest they could seat us. We arrived early, at 8:00 and saw guests at 3 tables only. 2 parties of 2, one party of 4. There were numerous open tables and appeared well staffed as we had 4 different servers-so we were a bit surprised at their request to have us wait. We were seated right away, however, we did not receive any service until 8:30-not even water or wine...Food was very good. Did not like the location!!
Dinner at Sole e Luna was terrific!
Overall, I give Le Domaine a generous 4/5 rating. We probably will not choose this property again due to the bed/shower. However, if that is not important to you...then I believe you will love Le Domaine.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2007

We have just returned from a week's stay at this gorgeous paradise. We loved our airy, spacious room with the circular bath for two, the beach front location & beautiful grounds. We enjoyed the fact it was tucked away from the hustle & bustle of the more touristy centres but close enough for Orient Beach & Grand Case.
We generally eat out of the hotel for dinner on holiday as we love to try local cuisine but we did eat in on our first night & the food & service was superb. In fact the staff were more than friendly throughout our stay, without it being too formal.
I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat

  • Liked — It was located in a quiet bay with fabulous landscaped grounds
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2007

This place is gorgeous! I loved the private beach and the huge open bathrooms with big round tubs and Bulgari products. The staff could not have been nicer, they figured out it was my dad's birthday from his passport and brought him a gift. Breakfast was included so that is always a bonus. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — The rooms!
  • Disliked — The windy hill you have to travel on to get there
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

We have just returned from La Domaine. Unfortunately, this was not our best vacation, not even close. We have been to many Caribbien Islands, staying in hotels from fours stars and up. This hotel is avdrtised as a four star hotel. What a joke! Here is why:

1. Only one restaurant (La Veranda). Food is good, but service is horrible. Even for French restaurant it is much too slow. Lunch can easily take up to 1.5 hrs. Dinner - 2 hours. One morning we got our coffe AFTER we finished our breakfast. We ended up avoiding the restaurant for lunch or dinner all together (breakfast is inlcluded in price). Prices are very high, eg. average size bottle of water $6. Breakfast is served until 10:30am. We came at 10:25am, by the time (10:40am) I wanted fruit or sweets they removed everything.

2. Electricity. It disappears on regular basis, 2 or 3 times a day for 5 - 10 min. Could you believe it?

3. If you ask for somethng to be repaired - forget it.
Either the hotel staff is very inexperineced or they understaffed. In any case, we paid quite an amount of money and deserved better service.
4. The other problem is - location. It is located VERY far away from everything. The road is through the mountain, narrow and poorly lit. Many guests, who are not great drivers, rent cars because othervise there is nothing else to do at the hotel. Imagine some of those drivers on the road! We rented a car to go to Grand Case (20 min drive), the only place that more or less close. There are several restaurants there on one dirty narrow block. Some restaurants were pretty good and prices were better than in La Veranda.

On the positive side, the beach is good, service at the beach bar is good (BTW, after several days suffering at the restaurant, we started to order lunch from the beach bar).

  • Liked — The beach.
  • Disliked — The restaurant.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anse Marcel hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Address: B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the North of the Island of Saint Martin, in the FrenchWest Indies, in the magnificent bay of Anse Marcel, the Domainede Lonvilliers is a blend of Creole charm and refinement.The Hotel consists of 5 buildings in the Creole style in the heart of alush tropical garden, bordered by a beautiful white sandy beach.Our restaurants :La Table du Marché, Leroys Kfé, the Beach club and the Beach Barin addition to our Ti Snack welcome you every day in a heavenlysetting at the edge of the Caribbean sea.Close by, you will find a charming little leisure port/marina withshops and boutiques.The relaxed but exclusive atmosphere of the Domaine de Lonvilliersinvites you to experience a unique environment. The Domaine deLonvillier is the ideal place for your relaxing holidays in an idyllicsetting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De Lonvilliers Hotel Anse Marcel
Le Domaine Hotel
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.