We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't buy into the panic of these previous reviews like I almost did, this is a nice place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't buy into the panic of these previous reviews like I almost did, this is a nice place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I nearly panicked and cancelled my reservation I made earlier in the summer for a 4 night stay last week after I read some of these freak-outs that the place was closed. I also had a difficult time reaching anyone at the resort to answer my questions and eventually spoke to someone at the parent company in Paris.

HOWEVER. The place was decidedly open, just under-occupied and a bit under-staffed as a result. The location is really incredible. If you're looking for a spot on the island that's well separated from the really tourist-y areas, this is great. You go up and over a steep hill and come down into Anse Marcel which is a beautiful little lagoon with just a few resorts using it. There are a set of nice restaurants in a little marina area which the Radisson Blu next door and Le Domaine both have easy access to. The grounds at Le Domaine are well maintained, and there's a really nice Caribbean charm to it. The Radisson is much more modernistic and Americanized in appearance, if that's your thing, but Le Domaine is colorful and warm and very relaxing.

The rooms are spacious and ours was certainly very clean. The internet wasn't working in our building, unfortunately, but it was working in the other buildings so we were still getting WiFi no problem. The beach and the pool are just a short path from all the rooms, and are also very pretty. For breakfast it was a continental affair with a great spot at all the tables to look out at the sea. If you're planning on doing anything elsewhere on the island, Patricia staffs the Activities Desk from 9-11am and from 3-5 or 7 pm depending on the day of the week, and she's extremely helpful. They can rent you a car on the property, which I would recommend, but you can get a cab for about the same price too.

The absolute highlight of the resort, at least in the off-season while I was there, was their bartender/chef/host Rashid. We're talking about a quint-lingual bartender extraordinaire who also is the primary cook for both lunch and dinner. Lunch includes wraps and quesadillas he makes right in the bar that are terrific, and dinner is a set menu with a starter, entree, and dessert that he makes for everyone individually. The assortment he served us in just 4 nights was really terrific and he was a joy to be around as well. I'm sure there is more of a restaurant table-service feel in the heavier seasons, but I can attest that I'd like to go back in the off-season just to see Rashid again. And I hope someone tells him to read this, we miss you you!

Overall, we really had a great time and ended up utterly and completely relaxed. We liked this place a lot, and we're really glad we didn't get scared out of it by the initial troubles with communication. If you're looking to relax, this place will really get the job done!

Room Tip: See if you can get up off the ground, around dusk and dawn the bugs really come out and I think it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    145
    68
    49
    37
See reviews for
69
259
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel advertises suites for four persons then charges you extra guest fees that are 1-1/2 times the per person rate for the first two persons. Never heard of such a thing. Better value elsewhere on the island. Management was totally non negotiable when this issue was brought up.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anse Marcel hotels

Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I agree with leightonc2013 who posted the same review. I made reservations to stay at this hotel in July 2013. I received a confirmation via email acknowledging this reservation. This week I went to the site to gather information prior to our trip & noticed a strange message that said the hotel was "From October 1st until December 21st, Domaine Beach Resort & Spais only Hotel Residence.
These services include accommodation, breakfast, beach, pool, catering to "Ti-Snack"." I sent an email to the hotel asking what this meant & referenced my reservation number. I did not receive a response so therefore thought it best to look elsewhere for a room. I always use TripAdvisor & noticed the similar review from leightonc2013. HOW CAN AN ESTABLISHMENT SUCH AS THIS NOT BOTHER TO NOTIFY GUESTS THAT HAVE CONFIRMED RESERVATIONS? UNACCEPTABLE!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Darlene,

Please note that our hotel is not closed at the moment.
It did closed for renovations in September and is now open again but will be operating at a lighter pace until December, as indicated in the website:
"Dear clients please note that from October 21st until December 21st, Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa is undergoing soft renovations for the upcoming 2014 season AND will only be operating on a limited service basis which include : accommodation, beach access, pool and breakfast.
The hotel will operate again as a full service property as of December 21, 2013. Thank you for your understanding."
Any guest having booked ahead any other services during their stay will of course receive them (such as all inclusive or half board packages) which is why you weren't notify any changes.
I do however apologize if you did not receive an immediate answer to your inquiries and regret the changes it made you do.
Please do not hesitate to contact me privately to see what we can arrange for you to make up for this experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Headline says it all! Hotel closed for maintenance for at least a month September and October 2013. We were one of two separate groups never to be told, and hotel will be closed for the coming month or so.

Thankfully Expedia put us next door in the fantastic Radisson resort.

Location is great, but book the hotel next door!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would first of all like to deeply apologize for your experience.
Our hotel was indeed closed on short notice for renovations during the month of September and we did informed and relocate all of our guests in the best possible way.
Unfortunately, we could not reach directly some of our Expedia clients (since only the site has their details) and send the info though the booking site. Apparently few of those clients did not receive all the details on time, for which we apologize again.
We do regret not having been able to receive you at that time and the trouble it may have been for you to face this change.
We hope to have the possibility to receive you at Le Domaine again and will do our best to make up for this unfortunate experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We traveled in August 2013 with a group of 11 and had a great time at Le Domaine. Our group was part of an all-inclusive package so I started the trip with a bit of hesitation as the majority of our group had never traveled to serene locations and had expectations of the all-inclusive mindset of prior travels to Mexico and the likes. I personally was not let down and enjoyed the quiet, calm and natural beauty of St. Martin and Le Domaine and would travel back without second thought. The reviews were a bit mixed on TripAdvisor so I was not sure what to expect, however, pre-arrival communication was always promptly and thoroughly tended to so I figured it would work out well. Traveling in the low season, we knew occupancy would be low and that in some regards also affects staffing, provisioning, etc. but we were never without.

Location: Le Domaine is set in a beautiful cove on the French side of the island. After arriving, we immediately gathered our belongings and car (from Leisure Rental Car) and headed to the resort. The property is about a good 45 minute drive from the airport so be sure to plan time accordingly for your departure. Anse Marcel is over a very steep hill and when we arrived, it was during torrential down pour, however, it made for an exciting adventure! The property is secluded but offers all one needs for a tropical escape. Le Domaine is adjacent to the Radisson Blu, which in itself seems like a nice property as well but we preferred the more authentic look and feel of Le Domaine yet the Radisson's pool was gorgeous. In the area there is the marina with a couple of restaurants and 2 general/gift shops selling the basics. Restaurants included Da Tony (Italian), Victoria's (bar/restaurant) and Calypso (bar/restaurant), which had amazing pizza and live music on Wednesday nights.

Property: The hotel is spread out over lush grounds and with low rise buildings (not exceeding 4 stories) and has well manicured gardens with tropical landscape. The main central walkway leads straight from the lobby but one must venture off this path to reach the other areas of the property as the main walkway leads you to an offsite beach bar (not part of the property). The main dining area (La Table du Marche) was where we took our breakfast and dinners. Leroy's K'fe was the 2nd dining option and only open for lunch but only served alfresco as the building the housed this venue seemed closed. There is a main beach bar with ample seating and also Ti Snack which was at the edge of the property and not clear whether it was part of the hotel or not. The pool was very warm and clean but we did not use it due to the beautiful beach and calm, warm ocean waters. There was also an onsite fitness center that was never in use so it was great for private morning workouts. The fitness center had wonderful a/c and music, but towels were not readily available nor was water. The open air lobby was only visited during registration, check out and as offsite meeting point as there were no amenities other than a computer for those that needed it. During the night it should be noted that walkways can be a bit dark and many of the lights burnt out so just exercise caution and common sense.

Staff: All the staff was warm and welcoming and spoke well enough English for us to be able to communicate with all of them. Common sense and cultural understanding goes a long way when traveling and it is no different. Some of our party carried the "American attitude" and they experienced resistance to some requests. I never personally experienced this when making simple requests such as additional towels, directions, etc. Due to it being low season, the hotel seemed minimally staffed which is understandable yet I didn't feel that this detracted in any way in terms of service though service could be sporadic at times - inconsistent housekeeping times, limited bar staff, etc. The wait and bar staff were very gracious and dealt with all of us with composure and appreciation.

Rooms: We stayed in a garden room in building 6 and felt it was ample in terms of space and accommodation. Wifi is offered throughout the resort and connection points were plenty though it did sometimes go in an out, but the room connection was fine for what we needed - even able to Skype back to the US for work. The rooms had plenty of closet and storage space so everything was tucked and put away nicely. The toilet is in a separate room off the entrance, which I prefer anyway so some can get ready while others tend to business. The vanity/shower area was open to the room but this wasn't a problem for us and I actually liked it. The only downfall is the tub/shower as it has tendencies to leak into the room if not careful with the shower head attachment. There was a standard 110V outlet in the vanity area that easily charged iPhones and other outlets available for use with an adapter. The A/C worked relentlessly and was a great respite after days in the sun - it was a true work horse! We had 3 in the room so a rollaway bed was brought in and easily accommodated with minimal impact or rearrangement of furniture. The room also featured a flat panel TV, refrigerator and furnished patio area. Ice was available on the 2nd floor in building 5, so just a 1 minute walk away. Buildings featured elevators for those that needed it. Some of the stairs were in disrepair but they were working on them actively while we were there. Parking was adjacent to our room in a semi-secure lot and safety was never any issue. Beds as some pointed out were a bit hard, but we asked for extra padding and pillows (via a note in French to housekeeping - thank you Google translator!) and it made it more doable. After hours in the water and sun we slept soundly anyway.

Food: As we were part of an all-inclusive, our 3 meals per day and drinks were all included. Breakfast was a buffet in the open air La Table du Marche and open from 7a-10a. The fare was the same everyday, but varied enough to be inventive. There were eggs (premade and made to order), cold cuts, bacon, potatoes, fruit, breads/pastries, yogurts, juices, coffee, condiments (jams, butter, syrup, honey, nutella), made to order crepes and hard boiled eggs as well. Lunch was only served at Leroy's K'fe and we were able to take an appetizer, main and dessert. The filet mignon was one of the best I've had! Service during lunch could be a bit slow at times to if looking for an express meal, it'd be advisable to just order one item. Dinner was a set 3-course menu and differed daily. All meals were enjoyable and we found out toward the end that we could inquire as to the proposed set menu and make reasonable changes to accommodate preferences on the morning of. This worked well as we had a birthday and the manager offered to have a cake made for our group - outstanding! The only disconcerting meal was an appetizer of scallop carpaccio, which many did not care for. Other than that - all the food was served expertly and delightfully presented and portioned well (not large, but more than sufficient). Drinks could be taken at the beach bar during the day from 10a-5p and we were pleased with the selection - mixed drinks, beers, wines, sodas, bottled waters, etc. All meals were served with bottled water as well (still and sparkling). Toward the end, they did start to run low on some items but we worked through that without issue. Ti Snack seems to be part of the property but the first night it was unclear if the drinks could be had there. Rashid, the proprietor of the bar, clarified and it indeed was part of our package only when the beach bar was closed. Rashid is a great bartender and very social and personable so we always took a pre-dinner drink with him. He also make amazing wraps and other food though it was not part of our package so it needed to be purchased (prices were reasonable at about $9+ per item).

All in all, we had a great time! Le Domaine is set in an idyllic location and we rarely left the resort except for an great hike to Baie des Petites Cayes - an hour hike over the mountain. We also explored and went to Pinel Island (gorgeous!) and went to Maho Beach one day to see the planes land and takeoff - can't miss! The property is beautiful but there are some signs of deferred maintenance if one wants to focus on those. We would go back without hesitation. For us, it was our way of sharing our love for travel and French culture with some of our family members who have never experienced that before and it fused the best of that plus the island relaxation many yearn for. We are fans of Tahiti and while this is definitely not Tahiti, it is also much more cost effective and has slightly more to offer.

Until next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

What more to add to such a wonderful review except thank you so very much for taking the time to write it and share your satisfaction.
We are delighted that your group enjoyed so much our resort, its location and all it has to offer as well as our island.
We will continue working on improving some of the mentioned details in order to offer you an even better stay for your next visit since we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We visited this wonderful resort in August, 2013 and had an amazing time. We spent a week, as all inclusive guests; the food was wonderful and plentiful, the staff were amazing, trying to fulfill all our wishes and making us feel very welcome, and the beach and grounds were exceptional. I would recommend this is anyone, couples and families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for this high review.
Our all staff is delighted to have contributed in making your stay so enjoyable and we hope to see you return soon for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautiful gardens and beach. We had one additional night in St. Martin and choose this hotel. It was in a secluded area but worth the drive (Just a few minutes). Well worth a stay and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would gladly return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and the quality of our services and staff.
We would be delighted to receive you soon for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Address: B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the North of the Island of Saint Martin, in the FrenchWest Indies, in the magnificent bay of Anse Marcel, the Domainede Lonvilliers is a blend of Creole charm and refinement.The Hotel consists of 5 buildings in the Creole style in the heart of alush tropical garden, bordered by a beautiful white sandy beach.Our restaurants :La Table du Marché, Leroys Kfé, the Beach club and the Beach Barin addition to our Ti Snack welcome you every day in a heavenlysetting at the edge of the Caribbean sea.Close by, you will find a charming little leisure port/marina withshops and boutiques.The relaxed but exclusive atmosphere of the Domaine de Lonvilliersinvites you to experience a unique environment. The Domaine deLonvillier is the ideal place for your relaxing holidays in an idyllicsetting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De Lonvilliers Hotel Anse Marcel
Le Domaine Hotel
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.