We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money - not luxury though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Anse Marcel
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Good value for money - not luxury though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

First, to avoid any disappointment, don't expect this hotel to be a luxury hotel, though it does (unfortunately) brand itself as one. But don't forget you're not paying luxury hotel prices - so just enjoy the location, the friendliness of the staff (who are sometimes a little overwhelmed) and generally, the good value for money you are getting by staying in this hotel, located on one of the nicest beach of the island (and if you have children, one of the safest, with no current or waves). One tip: if you're staying a few days, having a car is a must. The hotel restaurant serves good food, but you will want to try out the (better) restaurants in Grande Case.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room on one of the top floors, to have a better chance of having a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your time at the Domaine and found it to be such great value for the price. As you mentioned our resort offers one of the nicest beach of the island and our staff is always available to help you make your holidays unforgettable.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    145
    68
    49
    38
See reviews for
69
261
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Staff was Rude-not friendly at all (what do you expect from the French)
Very secluded from everything...small beach you share with the radisson blue hotel, no shops, if you want to be quiet and bored this is the place to be. You do need a car...the taxis are ridiculously expensive it was 25 euro to go to the next town which is 15 min drive. Rip off!
-One restaurant that serves the same thing everything night...not good at all! Had the chicken peanut...was expecting something fancy, but the chicken was strips of chicken thrown on a plate...it was very dry and hard to chew...Peanuts were just thrown on the plate...very boring meal.
-the waiters were rude not attentive.
-it says free wifi, but the Internet didn't work at all in the room...and barely worked in the lobby.
-rooms were good...big bed, big bath and balcony ( but nothing fancy)
-rate is cheap...everything else was expensive...
-would not go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience, I am glad that you enjoyed our room although I regret that your stay seems to have been surprisingly overall unpleasant.
I read attentively your review and being quite taken back by some comments, I would like to answer on most aspects.
First of all, I do regret very much that you did not appreciate our staff and I'm quite surprised knowing that our staff is usually praised by our guests as you can see in most of the reviews. I do however take personally your "what do you expect from the French" that seems to express a very partial (and unfriendly) view knowing that you decided to vacationed in a French island.
The cab prices are officially set on the island, and can be considered a little high which is why we organize car rental (at very reasonable prices) within the resort.
Our hotel is located in Anse marcel which is (as specified in all booking sites) in fact a very peaceful and secluded beach, known to be one of the nicest of the island, I am sorry that you did not enjoyed it, maybe you were more looking for a place to party.
I do regret that your stay didn't match your expectation and that possibly the choice of our resort was not the most adapted to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is solidly a 3.75 star hotel. The property itself is just fine, really nothing special about it. The bed in our room was comfortable enough (two twins pushed together), the bathtub was humongous and the porch was nice. We spent much time on the porch eating breakfast and enjoying the weather. The rooms were clean, although our neighbor was a smoker and it permeated into our room which was not nice. They should have smoking and non-smoking blocks.

The service in the hotel is what is lacking, but not in a major way. The power in our room went out and so we went to the front desk to alert them and about after an hour and a half we were moved to another room, which didn't have any hot water. We are not complainers so we just took in in stride - but basically this wouldn't happen in a four star hotel. And if it did, we would get one night free or something. We got an apology though, which was nice.

One thing you should know if you are going to stay is that you MUST get a car. I got one from Alamo for $97 for the whole week which was amazing. You should check a website called autoslash.com and you should get a good deal. Also if you are renting from the airport don't be afraid to negotiate. For the whole week zipping around the island, we spend $60 in gas. This is how much it costs to get a taxi from the airport to the hotel...once. Don't make this mistake.

Finally, all the above considerations should be moot when you consider the quality of the beach cove that this hotel is situated on. This is truly the nicest beach on the island. Le Domaine is lucky for it's location - if it was elsewhere, they mightn't be so successful. A few times during the week, there was almost no one on the beach, and my wife and I basically had it all to ourselves.

What a great week this was.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complete comment. We are happy that you had such a great week with us and enjoyed so much your room and our beach which is, indeed, one of the nicest in St Martin.
We do apologize for the smal mishaps during your stay and we'll take your remarks into account to improve so more our services.
We hope to receive you again soon among us at Le Domaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Such a lovely place. On an island full of chaos, this was a wonderful oasis. Staff was so pleasant, and although not in full swing as we were there in slow season, we didn't miss anything. Beautiful beach. We rented a car and visited Grand Case for exquisite evening dining with easy driving experiences. Breakfast at le domaines was more than adequate. We did not have time to experience the spa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for this nice description.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and had such a great experience with our setting, resort and staff.
We hope to see you soon again at Le Domaine, and his time you'll have to take some time to enjoy our spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Love the French feeling of peaceful Caribbean life! Arianna will take care of your every need! She runs the resort perfectly and you want for nothing! Cedric, the beach bartender, is great too!

Seriously consider booking with ScoobiToo and walk 5 minutes to the marina and spend a adventuresome day on the water--fabulous! We saw whales and Stephane, the captain, is a spectacular guide. Perfect day!

The resort's rooms are spacious and have great beds! I wish they had showers but that's just me!

I can't leave out the breakfasts--wonderful food and right on the water--perfection! Mary makes great crepes and omelettes--just ask her for your favorite one.

Room Tip: The ground level rooms are the least expensive and they are a good value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for this great review.
We are very proud that you enjoyed so much your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at Le Domaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Visited Saint Martin for 5 days with my girlfriend. The hotel itself was amazing. Very quiet, isolated, basically a private beach shared between it and another hotel. The hotel is a little hard to get to, but well worth it. Word of advice, rent a car. Makes getting to the hotel easier and a lot easier to explore the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this great review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed so much your stay at Le Domaine and in St.Martin.
We hope to see you again soon among us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I visited Le Domaine for 5 days. Situated on a cove, the resort was the perfect retreat for a relaxing stay. You are greeted with an open air lobby with charming details and local artwork. The grounds are lush with plants and flowers and surrounded by green hills. The accommodation is pleasant with a spacious balcony. You do not need to drive far to eat gourmet food at the in house and excellent restaurant, Le Table de Marche, offers a variety of local and international cuisine from lobster, fish, shrimp to steak and pasta. I made it a ritual to enjoy a drink during sunset from the beach bar which offers signature rum infused with a variety of flavors to choose from. The music completed the experience to make it a great way to wind the day before dinner and a night out.

The staff was extremely friendly and I would like to offer my sincere thanks to Araine Chapon, the guest relations manager that worked tirelessly in making sure every guest has a fantastic time.

I did not use the Spa but the gym had all the basic equipment including free weights and a punching bag.

If you are planning a trip to Saint Martin then I would highly recommend Le Domaine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this very nice review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and feel like recommending our hotel.
We hope to see you again at Le Domaine very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Address: B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the North of the Island of Saint Martin, in the FrenchWest Indies, in the magnificent bay of Anse Marcel, the Domainede Lonvilliers is a blend of Creole charm and refinement.The Hotel consists of 5 buildings in the Creole style in the heart of alush tropical garden, bordered by a beautiful white sandy beach.Our restaurants :La Table du Marché, Leroys Kfé, the Beach club and the Beach Barin addition to our Ti Snack welcome you every day in a heavenlysetting at the edge of the Caribbean sea.Close by, you will find a charming little leisure port/marina withshops and boutiques.The relaxed but exclusive atmosphere of the Domaine de Lonvilliersinvites you to experience a unique environment. The Domaine deLonvillier is the ideal place for your relaxing holidays in an idyllicsetting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De Lonvilliers Hotel Anse Marcel
Le Domaine Hotel
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.