We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Domaine de Longvilliers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Rochester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Le Domaine de Longvilliers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at Le Domaine. As our children are now grown, we're at the time in our lives able to enjoy trips like this.

As many others have mentioned the beach is wonderful, the small bars and restaurants for lunch and rum drinks were wonderful and we found many of the staff were French ExPats and pleased to talk about their experiences at home and on St martin and offer ideas on activities we should try. We had a rental car so explored differnt beaches but would return to Anse Marcel as our favorite.

The French side of the island had a extended power outage on our second day and the staff worked through it with smiles and set out a large breakfast for all of us, camping style.

We found the room clean and comfortable, our deck perfect for sitting out with wine and people watching the water pressure and hot water was fine. The Radisson next door was more modern, maybe more luxurious but about twice the price---

As we visited different parts of the island, we found the secluded spot at Le Domaine to be just right- we cabbed down to grand case for great/ inexpensive dinners a couple nights-- (didn't want to drive up the hill in the dark after dinner and drinks).

We met Ariane (another Parisien) and had chance to chat near the end of our trip-- She's a manager and we complemented her on her facility and staff. She was a pleasure and seemed very sincere and grateful for the kind words as she had just read a not so glowing trip advisor review and believe me she takes pride in her hotel takes the poor reviews personally. I shared our opinion from reading many reviews that there is just no pleasing some folks-- no matter how hard you tried.

Pleased to recommend the hotel to families with children, young couples and us 50ish couples. was hard to leave and we look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this nice review.
As you put it, I do take very personally our reviews and can only thank you again for this one.
We are very proud that you appreciated so much your time with us and will be more than happy to welcome you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    145
    68
    49
    37
See reviews for
69
262
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muncy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

WOW!! Where do I begin??
We were in St. Martin for our honeymoon. When we checked in - after a LONG day of travel, delayed flights, etc - Arian, Guest Services Manager, greeted us with a wonderful smile and congratulations on our nuptials! Was very genuine and sweet! We got to our room, with help from the very professional hotel staff. Upon arrival, we had flowers in our room (from my new hubby!) and a beautiful balcony with a view fo the Caribean!! Soon after arrival, Arian returned with a a lovely bottle of wine and glasses for my new hubby & I!! Compliments of our very thoughtful Travel agent!!
She then took the liberty of making dinner arrangements at their restaurant, which we were so happy to have after a long tiring day.
The hotel room was very clean and comfortable. Especially since we were so close to the beach!! Which is why we chose St. Martin in the first place!
Breakfast was filling and fresh every morning, along the beach.
We had visited the spa a few times during our stay there and it was very enjoyable as well.
Le Domaine has so much charm and is really quite lovely!! No it's not the 'newest' or the fanciest, but it's beauty, charm and lovely character won us over!! The staff especially was very friendly and helpful!! From start to finish!
I would certainly recomend this hotel to anyone planning on visiting St. Martin, whether with family, business or romantic getaway!

Room Tip: Get the Balcony...You can sit there in the Evenings and hear the ocean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review.
We are happy that you enjoy your special time with us and that you have such good memories of our hotel and staff.
We wish you once again all the best for your new married life and hope to see you again at Le Domaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were met by a curt and unwelcoming French boy wearing all-white Moroccan style garb. Hungry after a delayed flight, he gave us 2 drink tickets and informed us that the main restaurant was not open and neglected to inform us that other dining options could not be charged to the room. It's such a pleasure to have to carry cash around your hotel. But then again, our safe was broken (learned that after we locked our passports inside), so we had to carry items with us. The room was sparse and didn't look like the photos and contained minimal information on the facility. Though there was a coffee pot, we were given only 2 packets, despite asking for more, and no creamer. The grounds weren't particularly green or flower-filled either, and the beach chairs and tables were worn and falling apart. We had to wait for towels for 15 minutes when the staff finally felt like going to pick up clean ones from the laundry- this happened on both occasions when we asked for towels. The hot water and water pressure wasn't enough for 2 quick showers, although we did learn that the hotels in Grand Case had NO water, so I suppose this wasn't terrible, just not 4 star. The bed was hard and didn't have enough pillows. On the bright side, it's one of the few hotels where you can walk to a beach and you can take a 50 minute hike up the path to Petites Cayes (wear sneakers), which is deserted and gorgeous. Rashid, who operates the Ti Snack at the beach, runs on his own time, but always had a smile and made some decent quesadillas- about the only affordable food at the resort and available in the late afternoon when other dining options are closed. He also has a plethora of infused rums that he makes when inspiration sets in... be it from a seagrape or litchi or ginger. He was the only redeeming part of our stay. The pool, which was almost empty most of the time, offers no view of the ocean and the 2 hot tubs didn't work.
Although the room contains a refrigerator, when we attempted to bring in some wine, bread and cheese picked up at the market in Hope Estate, we were told by the ungracious French woman at the reception that we could not do so and she wasn't willing to give us a knife. While I understand having a policy about guests not bringing in food, this doesn't make much sense when you're not an inclusive resort, don't have food or drink options that suit many travelers needs (the bar closed at 10pm!) and have a refrigerator. Breakfast was lackluster and my 3 ingredient omelet had only 1 ingredient correct, and 1 I didn't order. Most guests seemed to feel the same disappointment as we did. I would not recommend staying there again, but I'd visit Rashid anytime!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear guest,

We read with attention your remarks and regret that you did not fully appreciate your stay among us.
We do apologize for some of the inconveniences you might have encountered and we will work on improving some of the mentioned points.
We are however happy that you did enjoy our setting and the Ti snack during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I booked this hotel through Jetsetter after reading mixed reviews. the criticisms were mostly about the service. Our experience was wonderful in almost every aspect. The setting is magnificent, the beach, pool, and gardens lovely, the staff more than accommodating---in fact very helpful and friendly. The rooms are large with very generous closet space. This is an older resort that had been part of the Radisson next door. The new owner has updated most areas. The outdoor furniture is old and a little tired but I'm sure will be replaced eventually. Also the restaurant is pricey as in very, but there are several alternatives right in the little village of Anse Marcel. One caveat however---this resort is up and over a mountain and the winding road can be daunting. Be sure to get a car with enough horse power to tackle those steep hills. Or else, just use taxis and try not to think about the price. And lastly, almost all of the really good restaurants are on the other side of the mountain. The road at night is well lit but just as steep and winding as in the daytime. Thus, there are dining decisions to make.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for this nice and detailed review.
We are glad that you have good memories of our Hotel and staff.
We hope to see you again soon at Le Domaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just returned from five nights and loved every minute of our relaxing stay! While we were not crazy about the shower situation, it was fine. The room was clean and quiet. The service was excellent all around. Ariane was lovely, very attentive and always present. The beach is beautiful, with comfortable chairs, and perfect for lazy days of reading, walking, and swimming in the gorgeous water. We ate all of our dinners in Grand Case, very French and very, very good!! La Villa was our favorite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review.
We are happy that you liked our property and enjoyed your holidays with us.
We hope to see you on a next trip very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

On the positive, it is very clean and located on a very nice beach on the nicest bay on the island.

That said, this is pretty much a 3 star hotel, most definitely not the 4 star they claim to be. The rooms are very basic, with cheap, and basic furnishings and decor. The King bed was 2 twin mattresses put together so there is a gap running right down the middle. The grounds are not well kept, there are a lot of unburied hoses and cables running through the minimal landscaping and broken fixtures are found throughout the grounds.

Internet- I guess they have it, but it is an exercise in futility it is so spotty. It cuts in and out several times a minute. It's better in the middle of the day when everyone is at the beach, so I am guessing they just don't have enough bandwidth.

They do have food and beverage service on site, but it is ridiculously expensive for very basic food. Breakfast is 15 Euro ($20) for a sad little buffet. Not much improvement over the free buffet at a Hampton Inn in the States. The bread and pastries were very good as you would expect from a French property.

The lunch menu, don't even bother. I paid 18 Euro for a plate of pasta, that was a handful of rigatoni straight out of a box, served with a plain red sauce probably straight out of a jar. That was it, nothing else for $23.

The good news is for dinner Grand Case is a very short drive with fantastic restaurants right on the beach for less money. I guess you could do the same for lunch. There is not a single lunch option at the hotel for under $20 and most are in the $30-40 range and very disappointing.

I guess to sum it up: If you find a great rate and don't plan on using anything other than their beach, it's not an all together horrible option. Just realize that it is definitely a 3 Star Hotel at best, not the 4 Star that they advertise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear guest,

I read you review with great attention and thank you for pointing out details that we will work on improving in order to offer you the kind of quality you were expecting.
I do apologize for the Internet connection difficulties you encountered. It was a momentary problem and not a regular situation. Be assured that we are doing everything in our power to avoid such inconveniences.,
As for your view on our restaurants, I am very sorry that you didn’t seemed to enjoy our brekfast buffet or our different « à la carte » offers. I do however have to point out that we serve only very fresh cooked food ( and absolutely nothing « out of a can »), that our chef is very well known for the quality of its products and dishes which explain the prices asked.
Those prices are however within the average price range of the island.
I do regret that you didn’t find them to your liking.
I'm glad that you did enjoy our settings and hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anse Marcel hotels

Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and we were very efficiently checked in. The staff was business like but not overly friendly. The grounds were nice and the beach was very beautiful. There were plenty of very comfortable lounge chairs and umbrellas for the guests. We spent many happy hours there. The room however, was not exactly luxurious. The beds were hard as a rock and not very comfortable to sleep on. The large bathtub was nice but it would have been better if there was a shower to go with it. We turned on the hot water to the bathtub and it would not warmup. We called the front desk and to their credit they came very quickly and determined that the hot water was connected to the cold water tap and vice-versa! The room was very clean and there was a nice little veranda outside where a snack and a nice bottle of wine could be enjoyed. As the place was off the beaten track there were no close options for food so if we wanted to eat there we had to drive to a restaurant or eat their very overpriced food (even by St. Martin standards). We tried breakfast one morning and it was not very good and there were no options other than the full breakfast. The staff seemed annoyed when we asked to just have coffee (which came out of an automatic machine and was terrible! This is part of France after all and we expeceted good, strong coffee).

Room Tip: Floors other than the ground floor have an enclosed veranda for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us this "mostly very good" review.
We have paid strict attention to your remarks and will work on improving some more our services.
For information, we do have different sorts of coffees available in the morning including strong espresso and I do apologise if it wasn’t promptly offered to you on request.
As for the restaurant, our prices are average compared to most of the island restaurant’s, and for guests wishing to eat outside our hotel, 3 restaurants are also available at the nearby marina (2 min walk).
We hope to receive you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Address: B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the North of the Island of Saint Martin, in the FrenchWest Indies, in the magnificent bay of Anse Marcel, the Domainede Lonvilliers is a blend of Creole charm and refinement.The Hotel consists of 5 buildings in the Creole style in the heart of alush tropical garden, bordered by a beautiful white sandy beach.Our restaurants :La Table du Marché, Leroys Kfé, the Beach club and the Beach Barin addition to our Ti Snack welcome you every day in a heavenlysetting at the edge of the Caribbean sea.Close by, you will find a charming little leisure port/marina withshops and boutiques.The relaxed but exclusive atmosphere of the Domaine de Lonvilliersinvites you to experience a unique environment. The Domaine deLonvillier is the ideal place for your relaxing holidays in an idyllicsetting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De Lonvilliers Hotel Anse Marcel
Le Domaine Hotel
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.