We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but not a 4 Star Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean but not a 4 Star Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

On the positive, it is very clean and located on a very nice beach on the nicest bay on the island.

That said, this is pretty much a 3 star hotel, most definitely not the 4 star they claim to be. The rooms are very basic, with cheap, and basic furnishings and decor. The King bed was 2 twin mattresses put together so there is a gap running right down the middle. The grounds are not well kept, there are a lot of unburied hoses and cables running through the minimal landscaping and broken fixtures are found throughout the grounds.

Internet- I guess they have it, but it is an exercise in futility it is so spotty. It cuts in and out several times a minute. It's better in the middle of the day when everyone is at the beach, so I am guessing they just don't have enough bandwidth.

They do have food and beverage service on site, but it is ridiculously expensive for very basic food. Breakfast is 15 Euro ($20) for a sad little buffet. Not much improvement over the free buffet at a Hampton Inn in the States. The bread and pastries were very good as you would expect from a French property.

The lunch menu, don't even bother. I paid 18 Euro for a plate of pasta, that was a handful of rigatoni straight out of a box, served with a plain red sauce probably straight out of a jar. That was it, nothing else for $23.

The good news is for dinner Grand Case is a very short drive with fantastic restaurants right on the beach for less money. I guess you could do the same for lunch. There is not a single lunch option at the hotel for under $20 and most are in the $30-40 range and very disappointing.

I guess to sum it up: If you find a great rate and don't plan on using anything other than their beach, it's not an all together horrible option. Just realize that it is definitely a 3 Star Hotel at best, not the 4 Star that they advertise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear guest,

I read you review with great attention and thank you for pointing out details that we will work on improving in order to offer you the kind of quality you were expecting.
I do apologize for the Internet connection difficulties you encountered. It was a momentary problem and not a regular situation. Be assured that we are doing everything in our power to avoid such inconveniences.,
As for your view on our restaurants, I am very sorry that you didn’t seemed to enjoy our brekfast buffet or our different « à la carte » offers. I do however have to point out that we serve only very fresh cooked food ( and absolutely nothing « out of a can »), that our chef is very well known for the quality of its products and dishes which explain the prices asked.
Those prices are however within the average price range of the island.
I do regret that you didn’t find them to your liking.
I'm glad that you did enjoy our settings and hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    145
    68
    49
    37
See reviews for
69
260
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and we were very efficiently checked in. The staff was business like but not overly friendly. The grounds were nice and the beach was very beautiful. There were plenty of very comfortable lounge chairs and umbrellas for the guests. We spent many happy hours there. The room however, was not exactly luxurious. The beds were hard as a rock and not very comfortable to sleep on. The large bathtub was nice but it would have been better if there was a shower to go with it. We turned on the hot water to the bathtub and it would not warmup. We called the front desk and to their credit they came very quickly and determined that the hot water was connected to the cold water tap and vice-versa! The room was very clean and there was a nice little veranda outside where a snack and a nice bottle of wine could be enjoyed. As the place was off the beaten track there were no close options for food so if we wanted to eat there we had to drive to a restaurant or eat their very overpriced food (even by St. Martin standards). We tried breakfast one morning and it was not very good and there were no options other than the full breakfast. The staff seemed annoyed when we asked to just have coffee (which came out of an automatic machine and was terrible! This is part of France after all and we expeceted good, strong coffee).

Room Tip: Floors other than the ground floor have an enclosed veranda for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us this "mostly very good" review.
We have paid strict attention to your remarks and will work on improving some more our services.
For information, we do have different sorts of coffees available in the morning including strong espresso and I do apologise if it wasn’t promptly offered to you on request.
As for the restaurant, our prices are average compared to most of the island restaurant’s, and for guests wishing to eat outside our hotel, 3 restaurants are also available at the nearby marina (2 min walk).
We hope to receive you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

well, just got back from le domaine. after reading some reviews, i was skeptical and arriving from st. barths, which was over the top luxury, had my doubts. our suite was great. the construction did not bother us. the hotel is def a little rundown and could use major overhaul. has great possibilities! outside furniture broken, etc. but the people are lovely and work very hard. the food was great. it is far from town i guess, but we were there for beach and bar. the beach was nice. there are a couple of places next door for drinks/dinner. on the whole, we were happy.

Room Tip: we requested a high suite and it was big, clean and nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for this review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us, our unique setting and the warmth of our team.
Be sure that we will take into account your remarks and try to improve some more our hotel.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is not nice at all . It's very old and run over . It need remodeling and its in the middle of no where. The rooms are old and were not clean. The beach is very quite . Nobody was hanging out at the beach or the pool area. Definitely not kid friendly. And all the rooms have tubs not showers. So it not good for handicap guest .

Room Tip: Would never stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Babyruth,
I read with attention your review and must admit my surprise.
It doesn't seems from what I read that you had any specific problem during your stay with us but rather that you just took a real dislike to our hotel.
Maybe you were more looking for a hotel club with lots of animation and night life which is indeed not what Le Domaine offers.
I am very sorry for that, all the more since certain comments are more than inadequate:
As you can see from previous comments, many people seems to enjoy our property and rooms very much.
As a fact, Le Domaine is located in Anse Marcel, wich is one of the nicest secluded beach of the island where is also located the Radisson, the atmosphere is indeed quite which is why most of our clients choose us. It is specify in every brochures or website so you would have known it before arrival.
Since our beach is so nice, it is almost full everyday so I can hardly imagine how you can have seen no one hanging out there. The swimming pool is indeed less frequented since people seems to prefer the sea front.
As for not being kids friendly, we have pool activities for them such as swimming lessons, we have a kid club open from monday to saturday for kids between 3 and 12 years old where activities are offered in and outside.
Our rooms mainly offer bathtub and not shower, which is specified as well in every brochure or website, so that you would know before arriving. For your information, we also have specific handicap rooms with special showers.
I do regret that you did not like our hotel and do hope that you will find a better suited property next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anse Marcel hotels

virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our recent stay over President's week at Le Domaine De Lonvilliers in Ance Marcel was so enjoyable and such a find! Anne warmly greeted us in the attractive reception area and immediately settled us in our suite 816. Our room was comfortable, bright and so relaxing. The restaurants and the beach were in close proximity to the room and truly the beach has to the nicest on the island - gorgeous view, comfortable lounge chairs, umbrellas, and an attentive staff. Although the property is aging a bit , it is an outstanding and unusual place. Food is expensive as in all the hotels but it was such a treat to dine in such a beautiful setting. Wish that we could return before next year to this french gem!

Room Tip: A room closer to the beach is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for this nice review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your president's week at Le Domaine.
We hope as well that you will return to visit us before next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

After asking to switch to a room with a balcony and a working curtain/shower, we were very pleased with this location. Despite being sorely understaffed, the main manager works extremely hard to accommodate guest requests in a nice property. The beach is pristine and private, a top (or should I say topless) beach on the whole island. The restaurant is astronomically priced with slow service (we waited 90 minutes for our first bite...), so eat in Grand Case with gourmet restaurants lined up one after the other. The desserts at the Radisson are quite nice, too. A good value, a gorgeous property, but if you're used to US customer service, this won't be your best option. The intimate cove beach is romantic and quaint and really does make up for it...

Room Tip: Demand a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Be assured that we have taken your remarks into account and will use them to improve our services, especially in the restaurant.
We are happy that you enjoyed our settings and hotel and the hard work of our team.
We hope to see you soon again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at Le Domaine in 2007 and loved the place. I returned this month after seeing an Expedia deal and was a little disappointed, mostly as it appears that a lovely hotel in a perfect location is on a serious decline.
When you first enter your room, you are struck by the horrible decorating – brown with blue crushed velvet draperies hung with too few curtain hooks. I was immediately concerned that the lock on my sliding door leading to my ground floor patio was broken and a small chain was installed which could easily be broken by an intruder. I was shown another room, also on the ground floor with the same problem. Unfortunately, they would not move me to an upper floor and assured me that Anse Marcel was safe and I was close to the main desk. I didn’t have any problems, but was very concerned. The refrigerator in my room didn’t work and the maintenance woman simply came in, turned the temperature knob down (which did nothing), shrugged and left. Next, the furniture on the patio was broken and mismatched. The chairs were dilapidated wood and vinyl, not suited for outdoor use. The table had a broken top which was covered with a table cloth and a piece of round glass on top of that. Shabby in a not so chic way. Aside from that, the room was clean, the bed firm (almost too firm) and the towels plentiful.
The grounds are not well kept. When I first arrived I was struck by the long grass that didn’t appear to have been mowed in weeks. When it was mowed a day later, what was left was brown and bare patches. Plants are dead or dying. It is clear that nothing is being watered. The physical appearance all around was that the place is on the verge of bankruptcy.
So what is good about this place? The location is one of the best on the island. Although there is development on one side and the Radisson with a lot of guests on the other resulting in the beach getting a bit crowded, the small bay is protected, the water calm and the vista breathtaking. Aside from the maintenance woman, the staff is great and provided wonderful service. At the beach, a chair, umbrella, nice towel, menu or refreshment is brought promptly by the energetic attendant. The food from the beach bar, while pricey, was delicious. The small spa provided a very nice, relaxing massage. The restaurant provides a buffet breakfast that is tasty for 15 euros and dinner, again a bit pricey, but very good. The staff at the restaurant from management to wait staff was attentive and helpful. There are a few other restaurants within walking distance at the marina next to the Radisson for some variety and the prices were reasonable.
So, overall, I had a nice vacation. However, had I paid full price, I would have been disappointed with the accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us.
We are pleased that you had a nice vacation with us for this second time at Le Domaine.
We do however regret the changes you seemed to have noticed and you can be sure that we will actively work on improving them.
We do hope to see you again soon for an even more pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Address: B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the North of the Island of Saint Martin, in the FrenchWest Indies, in the magnificent bay of Anse Marcel, the Domainede Lonvilliers is a blend of Creole charm and refinement.The Hotel consists of 5 buildings in the Creole style in the heart of alush tropical garden, bordered by a beautiful white sandy beach.Our restaurants :La Table du Marché, Leroys Kfé, the Beach club and the Beach Barin addition to our Ti Snack welcome you every day in a heavenlysetting at the edge of the Caribbean sea.Close by, you will find a charming little leisure port/marina withshops and boutiques.The relaxed but exclusive atmosphere of the Domaine de Lonvilliersinvites you to experience a unique environment. The Domaine deLonvillier is the ideal place for your relaxing holidays in an idyllicsetting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De Lonvilliers Hotel Anse Marcel
Le Domaine Hotel
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.