We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is not nice at all . It's very old and run over . It need remodeling and its in the middle of no where. The rooms are old and were not clean. The beach is very quite . Nobody was hanging out at the beach or the pool area. Definitely not kid friendly. And all the rooms have tubs not showers. So it not good for handicap guest .

Room Tip: Would never stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Babyruth,
I read with attention your review and must admit my surprise.
It doesn't seems from what I read that you had any specific problem during your stay with us but rather that you just took a real dislike to our hotel.
Maybe you were more looking for a hotel club with lots of animation and night life which is indeed not what Le Domaine offers.
I am very sorry for that, all the more since certain comments are more than inadequate:
As you can see from previous comments, many people seems to enjoy our property and rooms very much.
As a fact, Le Domaine is located in Anse Marcel, wich is one of the nicest secluded beach of the island where is also located the Radisson, the atmosphere is indeed quite which is why most of our clients choose us. It is specify in every brochures or website so you would have known it before arrival.
Since our beach is so nice, it is almost full everyday so I can hardly imagine how you can have seen no one hanging out there. The swimming pool is indeed less frequented since people seems to prefer the sea front.
As for not being kids friendly, we have pool activities for them such as swimming lessons, we have a kid club open from monday to saturday for kids between 3 and 12 years old where activities are offered in and outside.
Our rooms mainly offer bathtub and not shower, which is specified as well in every brochure or website, so that you would know before arriving. For your information, we also have specific handicap rooms with special showers.
I do regret that you did not like our hotel and do hope that you will find a better suited property next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    145
    68
    49
    38
See reviews for
69
261
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our recent stay over President's week at Le Domaine De Lonvilliers in Ance Marcel was so enjoyable and such a find! Anne warmly greeted us in the attractive reception area and immediately settled us in our suite 816. Our room was comfortable, bright and so relaxing. The restaurants and the beach were in close proximity to the room and truly the beach has to the nicest on the island - gorgeous view, comfortable lounge chairs, umbrellas, and an attentive staff. Although the property is aging a bit , it is an outstanding and unusual place. Food is expensive as in all the hotels but it was such a treat to dine in such a beautiful setting. Wish that we could return before next year to this french gem!

Room Tip: A room closer to the beach is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for this nice review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your president's week at Le Domaine.
We hope as well that you will return to visit us before next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

After asking to switch to a room with a balcony and a working curtain/shower, we were very pleased with this location. Despite being sorely understaffed, the main manager works extremely hard to accommodate guest requests in a nice property. The beach is pristine and private, a top (or should I say topless) beach on the whole island. The restaurant is astronomically priced with slow service (we waited 90 minutes for our first bite...), so eat in Grand Case with gourmet restaurants lined up one after the other. The desserts at the Radisson are quite nice, too. A good value, a gorgeous property, but if you're used to US customer service, this won't be your best option. The intimate cove beach is romantic and quaint and really does make up for it...

Room Tip: Demand a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Be assured that we have taken your remarks into account and will use them to improve our services, especially in the restaurant.
We are happy that you enjoyed our settings and hotel and the hard work of our team.
We hope to see you soon again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at Le Domaine in 2007 and loved the place. I returned this month after seeing an Expedia deal and was a little disappointed, mostly as it appears that a lovely hotel in a perfect location is on a serious decline.
When you first enter your room, you are struck by the horrible decorating – brown with blue crushed velvet draperies hung with too few curtain hooks. I was immediately concerned that the lock on my sliding door leading to my ground floor patio was broken and a small chain was installed which could easily be broken by an intruder. I was shown another room, also on the ground floor with the same problem. Unfortunately, they would not move me to an upper floor and assured me that Anse Marcel was safe and I was close to the main desk. I didn’t have any problems, but was very concerned. The refrigerator in my room didn’t work and the maintenance woman simply came in, turned the temperature knob down (which did nothing), shrugged and left. Next, the furniture on the patio was broken and mismatched. The chairs were dilapidated wood and vinyl, not suited for outdoor use. The table had a broken top which was covered with a table cloth and a piece of round glass on top of that. Shabby in a not so chic way. Aside from that, the room was clean, the bed firm (almost too firm) and the towels plentiful.
The grounds are not well kept. When I first arrived I was struck by the long grass that didn’t appear to have been mowed in weeks. When it was mowed a day later, what was left was brown and bare patches. Plants are dead or dying. It is clear that nothing is being watered. The physical appearance all around was that the place is on the verge of bankruptcy.
So what is good about this place? The location is one of the best on the island. Although there is development on one side and the Radisson with a lot of guests on the other resulting in the beach getting a bit crowded, the small bay is protected, the water calm and the vista breathtaking. Aside from the maintenance woman, the staff is great and provided wonderful service. At the beach, a chair, umbrella, nice towel, menu or refreshment is brought promptly by the energetic attendant. The food from the beach bar, while pricey, was delicious. The small spa provided a very nice, relaxing massage. The restaurant provides a buffet breakfast that is tasty for 15 euros and dinner, again a bit pricey, but very good. The staff at the restaurant from management to wait staff was attentive and helpful. There are a few other restaurants within walking distance at the marina next to the Radisson for some variety and the prices were reasonable.
So, overall, I had a nice vacation. However, had I paid full price, I would have been disappointed with the accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us.
We are pleased that you had a nice vacation with us for this second time at Le Domaine.
We do however regret the changes you seemed to have noticed and you can be sure that we will actively work on improving them.
We do hope to see you again soon for an even more pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Looking for a nice beach to rest & relax over Presidents week, this small resort seemed to fit the bill. Initially we ran into a few bumps; first room # 612 had no wifi ( extremely critical when traveling with a teenager, let alone staying in touch with one's business) not enough hot water, the front desk staff Marie was very accommodating & was able to move us to # 629. Everything worked, unfortunately the next morning we awoke to very early am loud banging and hammering. Across the street from us is a new resort is under construction. Back to the front desk to Anne & Marie and once again they graciously accommodated my request. By 3:00 pm that day we were moved to room # 924. Finally we can relax & rest. The beach is amazing, like a postcard. Views of Anguilla, very prompt service for beach chairs, umbrellas( no charge) offered by Cedric. Great beach cuisine served to you on the beach, food by Leroy Kfe. There is a small gym that is good enough for a quick work out. The tiny spa is good for a quick unwind with therapist Stephanie. Despite the initial bumps the staff makes this place great. I would not hesitate to return or to recommend this small resort. Remember prices are all in euro's, spend accordingly.

.

Room Tip: Until construction next door is completed ask for rooms in building 900 or 800' free parking, on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for this nice review, we are happy that after a bumpy start you enjoyed your holidays with us and the service profited by our staff.
We do hope that you will recommend our hotel to your friends and will be happy to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Arrived for a one night stay, and initial impression was of a resort hotel that drastically needs refurbishment. It is unfortunate that it is so close to the Radisson Blu (where we had stayed previously, but it was fully occupied during this visit), because comparisons are inevitable. The Radisson is clean, comfortable, well - maintained, and above all sets very good standards of customer service. The contrast is stark and is perhaps best illustrated by the attitude on arrival. Arriving early at The Radisson, we were told that our room would be available as soon as it was ready, and we were allocated a room to change into beach gear. At Domaine de Lonvilliers we were told brusquely (in French) that check-in was not until 1500. When we did get allocated a room, it was a big disappointment. Door lock broken, cracks in walls , faeces in toilet pan (despite the toilet seat bearing a band that proclaimed it was sanitized for our protection!), rust around the pole in the bath - overall just scruffy and certainly not justifying 4 stars. My greatest criticism is reserved for the breakfast buffet (30 Euros), which is almost mandatory given the location of the hotel and the dearth of other options open for breakfast nearby. We arrived about halfway through the 3 hour (0700 - 1000) breakfast 'window', to find that most of the servery dishes were empty. I asked if there were any more scrambled eggs, since all that remained was a yellowish milk at the bottom of the pan - a girl came across and looked in the pan, confirmed that it was empty and walked off. We never saw her (or any scrambled eggs!)again. There were no clean cups or mugs by the coffee machine (we eventually got 2 from another table),all the fresh bread had gone and was not replaced, and generally choice was limited.
Very disappointing overall - would not recommend. Will upload pictures of the room faults described above if TA permits.

Room Tip: Stay next door at The Radisson Blu!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of those impressions. I do regret that your one night stay among us lives you such memories.
Be assured that we have paid great attention to your review and we will work on improving quickly the mentioned details.
I do regret that you did not felt welcome enough on arrival; our staff (which speaks perfect English) usually goes out of its way to find helpful solutions. it is in fact difficult during high season when our property is full to give a room before official check in time, but in that case you usually are redirected towards our spa to change. I apologize if it wasn’t clearly stated to you.
I most regret your breakfast experience, our buffet is usually reset many times between 7 and 10am and I do apologize if it wasn’t properly the case on the morning you were here. Be assured that we will take all your remarks into account to improve ours services. For information purposes: our breakfast price is 15€/pers which makes it the less expensive of the surrounding hotels.
Our property is in fact very different in many aspects from our neighbor the Radisson but most of our guests are happy of that difference and appreciate the warmth and attention given to then during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anse Marcel hotels

Long Beach, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

During our week sailing in The Carribean we made a supply stop in Anse Marcel. We liked area so much we decided to return at the end of the week and spend our two year anniversary at Le Domaine de Lonvilliers, and relax before our long flight home. We thought it would be nice to stay somewhere that wasn't owned by a big chain......big mistake.

After walking the grounds of the Radisson earlier in the week we were completely disappointed by the state of the gardens at the hotel. Buildings and pathways in a state of disrepair, dead grass everywhere you look, and possibly the worst pool I've seen on any island so far.

The food at the beach bar/restaurant was pretty good....it just took forever for someone to take our order and when we got the bill it was approx. $95 for two lunch plates.

The MAIN issue we had was with the staff and the service, or lack thereof rather. Decided to buy a bottle of Smirnoff Vodka from the bar, which was closing at about 1030. It came to us opened and as soon as we smelled it we quickly realized that whatever was in the bottle wasn't even Vodka, let alone Smirnoff. Took the bottle back to the bar to confront the bar staff and was, in turn, accused of switching the liquor out myself, all the while making offensive jokes and rude comments to each other in French (Yes, Americans know French). As if I'm going to try steal vodka at a hotel that costs $600+ a night. Was then given the only vodka they had left (something terrible) and was told by the manager "Pierre" that it would be taken off our bill. He waited until we were back at home before he sent an email saying that unfortunately, he was instead going to charge us the $110 for the generic house Vodka anyway.

Stay away from this one! The rooms aren't that great, the staff are rude, and there's a 50% chance there will be a backhoe or jackhammer running at the place being built next door. Stay on the Dutch side if you can! A rude and arrogant ending to a week spent in paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is rare for me to respond directly to such comments but I have to on your review.
Because remember I was present with you the evening of the incident. I am the person you hugged the all evening at the beach bar saying what a great team we were, what a wonderful time you were having, how much you wanted to come back quickly. I was also present when the Bottle was open in front of you by our bartender.
I will not comment farther on this incident, the amount of alcohol consumed that evening being possibly the source of it all but you do know perfectly that we tried to arrange thinks for you at best, and we continued afterwards when you send us mails implying that you would write a bad review if not refunded.
I do feel very sorry that you had to end up writing such an hurtful review and most of all that your stay, which seemed to bring you such satisfaction to start with is finishing this way.
I am as always available for more private communication. Ariane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Address: B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the North of the Island of Saint Martin, in the FrenchWest Indies, in the magnificent bay of Anse Marcel, the Domainede Lonvilliers is a blend of Creole charm and refinement.The Hotel consists of 5 buildings in the Creole style in the heart of alush tropical garden, bordered by a beautiful white sandy beach.Our restaurants :La Table du Marché, Leroys Kfé, the Beach club and the Beach Barin addition to our Ti Snack welcome you every day in a heavenlysetting at the edge of the Caribbean sea.Close by, you will find a charming little leisure port/marina withshops and boutiques.The relaxed but exclusive atmosphere of the Domaine de Lonvilliersinvites you to experience a unique environment. The Domaine deLonvillier is the ideal place for your relaxing holidays in an idyllicsetting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De Lonvilliers Hotel Anse Marcel
Le Domaine Hotel
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.