We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scruffy, poor service - stay next door at The Radisson Blu!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Anse Marcel
Windsor, UK
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Scruffy, poor service - stay next door at The Radisson Blu!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Arrived for a one night stay, and initial impression was of a resort hotel that drastically needs refurbishment. It is unfortunate that it is so close to the Radisson Blu (where we had stayed previously, but it was fully occupied during this visit), because comparisons are inevitable. The Radisson is clean, comfortable, well - maintained, and above all sets very good standards of customer service. The contrast is stark and is perhaps best illustrated by the attitude on arrival. Arriving early at The Radisson, we were told that our room would be available as soon as it was ready, and we were allocated a room to change into beach gear. At Domaine de Lonvilliers we were told brusquely (in French) that check-in was not until 1500. When we did get allocated a room, it was a big disappointment. Door lock broken, cracks in walls , faeces in toilet pan (despite the toilet seat bearing a band that proclaimed it was sanitized for our protection!), rust around the pole in the bath - overall just scruffy and certainly not justifying 4 stars. My greatest criticism is reserved for the breakfast buffet (30 Euros), which is almost mandatory given the location of the hotel and the dearth of other options open for breakfast nearby. We arrived about halfway through the 3 hour (0700 - 1000) breakfast 'window', to find that most of the servery dishes were empty. I asked if there were any more scrambled eggs, since all that remained was a yellowish milk at the bottom of the pan - a girl came across and looked in the pan, confirmed that it was empty and walked off. We never saw her (or any scrambled eggs!)again. There were no clean cups or mugs by the coffee machine (we eventually got 2 from another table),all the fresh bread had gone and was not replaced, and generally choice was limited.
Very disappointing overall - would not recommend. Will upload pictures of the room faults described above if TA permits.

Room Tip: Stay next door at The Radisson Blu!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of those impressions. I do regret that your one night stay among us lives you such memories.
Be assured that we have paid great attention to your review and we will work on improving quickly the mentioned details.
I do regret that you did not felt welcome enough on arrival; our staff (which speaks perfect English) usually goes out of its way to find helpful solutions. it is in fact difficult during high season when our property is full to give a room before official check in time, but in that case you usually are redirected towards our spa to change. I apologize if it wasn’t clearly stated to you.
I most regret your breakfast experience, our buffet is usually reset many times between 7 and 10am and I do apologize if it wasn’t properly the case on the morning you were here. Be assured that we will take all your remarks into account to improve ours services. For information purposes: our breakfast price is 15€/pers which makes it the less expensive of the surrounding hotels.
Our property is in fact very different in many aspects from our neighbor the Radisson but most of our guests are happy of that difference and appreciate the warmth and attention given to then during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    145
    68
    49
    37
See reviews for
69
259
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

During our week sailing in The Carribean we made a supply stop in Anse Marcel. We liked area so much we decided to return at the end of the week and spend our two year anniversary at Le Domaine de Lonvilliers, and relax before our long flight home. We thought it would be nice to stay somewhere that wasn't owned by a big chain......big mistake.

After walking the grounds of the Radisson earlier in the week we were completely disappointed by the state of the gardens at the hotel. Buildings and pathways in a state of disrepair, dead grass everywhere you look, and possibly the worst pool I've seen on any island so far.

The food at the beach bar/restaurant was pretty good....it just took forever for someone to take our order and when we got the bill it was approx. $95 for two lunch plates.

The MAIN issue we had was with the staff and the service, or lack thereof rather. Decided to buy a bottle of Smirnoff Vodka from the bar, which was closing at about 1030. It came to us opened and as soon as we smelled it we quickly realized that whatever was in the bottle wasn't even Vodka, let alone Smirnoff. Took the bottle back to the bar to confront the bar staff and was, in turn, accused of switching the liquor out myself, all the while making offensive jokes and rude comments to each other in French (Yes, Americans know French). As if I'm going to try steal vodka at a hotel that costs $600+ a night. Was then given the only vodka they had left (something terrible) and was told by the manager "Pierre" that it would be taken off our bill. He waited until we were back at home before he sent an email saying that unfortunately, he was instead going to charge us the $110 for the generic house Vodka anyway.

Stay away from this one! The rooms aren't that great, the staff are rude, and there's a 50% chance there will be a backhoe or jackhammer running at the place being built next door. Stay on the Dutch side if you can! A rude and arrogant ending to a week spent in paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is rare for me to respond directly to such comments but I have to on your review.
Because remember I was present with you the evening of the incident. I am the person you hugged the all evening at the beach bar saying what a great team we were, what a wonderful time you were having, how much you wanted to come back quickly. I was also present when the Bottle was open in front of you by our bartender.
I will not comment farther on this incident, the amount of alcohol consumed that evening being possibly the source of it all but you do know perfectly that we tried to arrange thinks for you at best, and we continued afterwards when you send us mails implying that you would write a bad review if not refunded.
I do feel very sorry that you had to end up writing such an hurtful review and most of all that your stay, which seemed to bring you such satisfaction to start with is finishing this way.
I am as always available for more private communication. Ariane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anse Marcel hotels

Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Dear S.Stalz,

I stayed at the Hotel at the same time as you. The Hotel could use some tender loving care but by no means is it anything like you describe.The staff is wonderful the beach is the best on the Island
will be returning in March for another lovely two Weeks. Can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Robin,

Thank you so much for this nice review . We are happy that you have such found memories of our staff and hotel and we’ll be waiting to see you again with pleasure in March.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A good value for what you pay. The grounds are beautiful and the beach may be the nicest on the whole island. The service is sometimes very prompt and sometimes indifferent. Rooms are basic and clean - nothing to write home about, but then again you're outside for most of the time when you're in a beautiful setting like this anyway. The clientele is primarily European. The fitness center is a joke and not in good repair. The restaurants are average. Proximity to the great restaurants in Grand Case along with the secluded and peaceful beaches in Anse Marcel make this is good choice. The Radisson Blu next door is more polished, but not worth the $200+ a night they charge versus Le Domaine. If you go to Le Domaine not expecting a "Ritz Carlton" experience, you'll be fine. If you're expecting a 4-5 star property, you may be disappointed a bit. I'd go back.

Room Tip: Ground floor units seem to be in more disrepair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback on Le Domaine.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us and will use your remarks to improve our services accordingly.
We will be happy to welcome you back soon and hope that you will enjoy the chances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I just spent a glorious week at this quiet hotel on what I believe is the best beach on St. Martin! And you cannot beat the price! You get the same beach as Radisson Blu, but at half the price. True, the place could be a five star resort with a few improvements - better WiFi, Jacuzzi's by the pool that work, and repairs to the fitness center equipment. But, unlike other reviewers, I found the staff wonderful, although overworked. If you want a quiet resort on a great beach, with excellent food, and Grand Case 15 min. away, and all at a reasonable price - this place is for you!! Be sure to rent a car and bring a good book. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Least expensive garden rooms were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so very much for your review and your vision of our hotel.
We will work on the details mentioned to continue improving every day our hotel before your next visit.
Our staff is very proud to have been an important part in making your week holidays "glorious".
We hope to see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for two nights after our cruise. It was exactly what we were looking for. Since we had been on the go from island to island, we wanted somewhere that we could just relax at and enjoy St. Martin. The grounds and beach were beautiful and not at all crowded. The two beach bars were both really good, but the larger one run by the resort was beyond belief. All of the staff were so nice and really went out of their way to please. We especially enjoyed the live music outside. Our only criticism would be that the rooms seemed a little tired. You have a large soaking tub in the room, but no real shower, only a handheld. Also, it's far from all the great restaurants in Grand Case, so if you are staying for more than a couple days, you should rent a car. We just cabbed it, but it does add up.

Room Tip: Ask for room on third floor with beach view to have the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your short stay with us and our Creole night with live music.
We will of course take your comments in account and use them to improve some more our hotel.
All our team hope to see you again soon for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

On our first night we were looking for a meal that would set the tone for our stay so we went to the hotel restaurant expecting the best. The waiter brought bread artfully arranged on a plate and when I picked up a piece the 15 or 20 ants that were comfortable under it scattered.

There was a weak apology, but a shocking return of an identical bread plate.

Fortunately, other guests recommended many excellent restaurants off the main road and at the Raddison just next door.

Needless to say we were very hungry in the morning but there wasn't even coffee in the room. Fortunately we brought some nuts and crackers. Out of morbid curiosity, we looked at the restaurant on our way to the beach and found an exorbitant price for an unattractive buffet.

The setting is lovely but this is not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to apologize once more for the ants’ incident. Although as you may know ants have a tendency to be everywhere in our tropical island, such an incident should never have happened, for that we can only express how sorry we are. That incident clearly and understandably set you off on a bad impression of our Hotel.
We are all the more sorry that it prevented you from enjoying our restaurant which is well know for it’s quality, and also regret that you didn’t try to call room service to get a breakfast in the morning that we would have been happy to bring to you if you were hungry.
We do regret that due to this small incident, your experience at Le Domaine was not what you had expected and I remain available to further discuss if you wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Address: B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the North of the Island of Saint Martin, in the FrenchWest Indies, in the magnificent bay of Anse Marcel, the Domainede Lonvilliers is a blend of Creole charm and refinement.The Hotel consists of 5 buildings in the Creole style in the heart of alush tropical garden, bordered by a beautiful white sandy beach.Our restaurants :La Table du Marché, Leroys Kfé, the Beach club and the Beach Barin addition to our Ti Snack welcome you every day in a heavenlysetting at the edge of the Caribbean sea.Close by, you will find a charming little leisure port/marina withshops and boutiques.The relaxed but exclusive atmosphere of the Domaine de Lonvilliersinvites you to experience a unique environment. The Domaine deLonvillier is the ideal place for your relaxing holidays in an idyllicsetting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De Lonvilliers Hotel Anse Marcel
Le Domaine Hotel
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.