We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bargain in St. Martin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Southbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best bargain in St. Martin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I just spent a glorious week at this quiet hotel on what I believe is the best beach on St. Martin! And you cannot beat the price! You get the same beach as Radisson Blu, but at half the price. True, the place could be a five star resort with a few improvements - better WiFi, Jacuzzi's by the pool that work, and repairs to the fitness center equipment. But, unlike other reviewers, I found the staff wonderful, although overworked. If you want a quiet resort on a great beach, with excellent food, and Grand Case 15 min. away, and all at a reasonable price - this place is for you!! Be sure to rent a car and bring a good book. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Least expensive garden rooms were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so very much for your review and your vision of our hotel.
We will work on the details mentioned to continue improving every day our hotel before your next visit.
Our staff is very proud to have been an important part in making your week holidays "glorious".
We hope to see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    151
    76
    51
    49
See reviews for
74
281
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for two nights after our cruise. It was exactly what we were looking for. Since we had been on the go from island to island, we wanted somewhere that we could just relax at and enjoy St. Martin. The grounds and beach were beautiful and not at all crowded. The two beach bars were both really good, but the larger one run by the resort was beyond belief. All of the staff were so nice and really went out of their way to please. We especially enjoyed the live music outside. Our only criticism would be that the rooms seemed a little tired. You have a large soaking tub in the room, but no real shower, only a handheld. Also, it's far from all the great restaurants in Grand Case, so if you are staying for more than a couple days, you should rent a car. We just cabbed it, but it does add up.

Room Tip: Ask for room on third floor with beach view to have the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your short stay with us and our Creole night with live music.
We will of course take your comments in account and use them to improve some more our hotel.
All our team hope to see you again soon for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

On our first night we were looking for a meal that would set the tone for our stay so we went to the hotel restaurant expecting the best. The waiter brought bread artfully arranged on a plate and when I picked up a piece the 15 or 20 ants that were comfortable under it scattered.

There was a weak apology, but a shocking return of an identical bread plate.

Fortunately, other guests recommended many excellent restaurants off the main road and at the Raddison just next door.

Needless to say we were very hungry in the morning but there wasn't even coffee in the room. Fortunately we brought some nuts and crackers. Out of morbid curiosity, we looked at the restaurant on our way to the beach and found an exorbitant price for an unattractive buffet.

The setting is lovely but this is not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to apologize once more for the ants’ incident. Although as you may know ants have a tendency to be everywhere in our tropical island, such an incident should never have happened, for that we can only express how sorry we are. That incident clearly and understandably set you off on a bad impression of our Hotel.
We are all the more sorry that it prevented you from enjoying our restaurant which is well know for it’s quality, and also regret that you didn’t try to call room service to get a breakfast in the morning that we would have been happy to bring to you if you were hungry.
We do regret that due to this small incident, your experience at Le Domaine was not what you had expected and I remain available to further discuss if you wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wading river NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Jeremy is an excellent sports instructor with classes of Zumba, stretch, Yoga and swimming at the lovely resort with a beautiful pool
He makes the class fun and at your own pace with good music
He is very patient

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are happy that you enjoy our resort, its beautiful setting and our activities.
Our coach Jeremy thanks you personally for those great comments.
We hope to see you again soon at Le Domaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was staying at le Domaine for a weekend with a friend and my mother to celebrate her birthday. The place itself is outstanding : the hotel itself is situated in a little bay sharing a magnificent beach with the Radisson next door. It is very quiet and relaxing and this is exactly what we were looking for. The staff is very friendly as well and recommended us each night where we should eat. The hotel is about 5 minutes drive away from Gd Case, which is probably the best place to eat and go out in Saint-Martin; while there are no night club in Grand Case, unlike Maho, there are dozens of little restaurants and bars on the beach front where you can spend a wonderful evening. Finally, the hotel staff and concierge, Patricia, also organized for us a little boat tour of the Island with just us three and the boat skipper. About the hotel amenities, it's true the basic rooms that we had, are probably not on par with 4 stars hotel in the US, but I thought it was actually pretty good for the price we paid. Overall, we had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Remi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and share your good experience. We appreciate you talking so nicely about Anse Marcel and the overall hotel.
Our staff is proud to have contributed in making your stay among us wonderful and will always be happy to welcome you back, hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

OUR REVEIW OF LE DOMAINE IN ST MAARTIN……
after reading such a mixed bag of reviews i have to set the record straight….

To start with I'm going to warn you that this review is going to be long but that doesn't mean negative.
We arrived in the Caribbean on Christmas eve 2012 after booking the holiday at the last minute , my teenage daughter and i ( mum ) were greeted warmly on this sunny afternoon and shown to our room. This was called tired in some of the trip adviser reviews and yes it was a bit dated but by no means was it without some charm, something we later discovered that ran throughout the whole hotel.

Our first evening was excellent and we enjoyed a beautiful 4 course dinner and cocktails in the restaurant after seeing Santa Claus making an appearance by jet sky no less.
Dropping presents to all the young residents. It was a very well organised evening as sometimes these events can be really tacky.

Over the next few days we enjoyed the sunshine and hotel to its full using the spa and beach facilities , Stefani at the spa was very lovely to my daughter and the treatments were excellent but
The system to book was a little confusing - best to book through reception. But what was becoming increasingly clear was the tightly run ship and amazing group of staff that work so closely together to keep the entire hotel not only charming but efficient and in our honest opinion one of the most friendly environments we have every stayed in.

As a business person i know how important staff are and whatever they are doing at LE DOMAINE is something that many other places, including the neighbouring RADISSON BLUE should go to see and learn from the guys at LE DOMAINE
( we happened to try the Radisson for dinner one evening and never returned - stuffy- American-stiff upper lip )

At the DOMAINE they have an amazing sense team-work and their heirachy system is run very smoothly and to full effect - when necessary the managers are not affaid to jump in and get there hands dirty ! This impressed me as most hotels aren't that flexible - it felt more like a family run business.

After having stayed at the hotel for a few days more we had a full understanding of how it works… There are a few of the 'manager' types of staff that constantly over see the hotel and after talking to our favourite bar manager 'Fabrice' we discovered that they all work closely together to navigate a smooth operation and ultimately the running of the whole hotel. I can't express enough how this makes you feel at home , relaxed and cared for .

This was very encouraging for the rest of our stay including New years eve. we opted out of the sit down dinner and chose one of the few little restaurants in the area but returned to the hotel for cocktails which i have to say are excellent - frozen mojhito or pina colada ( obviously ) were our tipple most days. Although you have to try the flavoured rum's like vanilla and banana or ginger !

We visited most of the islands hotspots for snorkelling and diving , Pinel island and Tintamarre for swimming with sea turtles has to be a must for every visitor.
But our beach at Anse Marcel is just about as good as it gets , so thankfully excursions every day are not necessary!

One of my concerns about staying in a hotel for 2 weeks was boredom and routine but surprisingly we never got bored, our friendly barman at the main bar 'fabrice' and the small beach bar owner 'Rashid' always kept us entertained with colourful and inventive cocktails, wisdom and stories. We completely fell in love with them both and they made us so welcome that we intend to visit Fabrice in his home town in France later this year.
We highly recommend the very reasonable lunches Rashid makes , wonderful salads to rival any good deli in London or Paris. And you must have virgin pina coladas to keep you cool on a hot day - Fabrices' are the best…. As for the main restaurant the lunches are amazing and very generous , we tried the salads - pasta- crab cakes - the whole lobster everything tasted fresh and everything else that went past on the trays looked as good !

Our experience of the evening menu wasn't as good, i have to say reluctantly :( it wasn't that the food itself wasn't fab but every day the menu seemed to be limited- we found heard that a lot of the produce is imported from France !!!! and this is the case for the whole island so things are sometimes difficult to source. But what we did have was always of a high standard!

Its obvious that people only seem to write reviews if they've come back from a holiday that was bad and they want to complain, but in this case i want to say that its the opposite and although i have jotted down the things I've noticed to be weaker, their is not a lot to complain about!!! my daughter and i both found it very difficult and emotional to leave the hotel with all the amazing hard working staff. So heres a big thank you to you all xxx Fabrice, Rashid, Sebastian, Zoe, Damian, Arianne and all the very attentive others .

Room Tip: We had a garden room but i think a first floor room or suite were better. But to be honest are you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Mizzi and Mum,

Thank you so much for this amazing review.
You described the atmosphere we try to maintain in our hotel better than I could have done.
We will work on our evening menus taking your remarks into account and we will do our best to keep the rest the way you liked it or even better.
Fabrice, Rachid, the rest of our team and I would like to thank you again for your enthusiastic spirit during your stay and for taking the time to write these flattering comments.
We look forward to having you again at Le Domaine in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visited Le Domaine in December 2012. Our first and last stay in this hotel. With lots of experience of travelling all around the world, from 1*- 5* star hotels, absolutely can say this is so far not a 4 star hotel. We've had expected more for the money we've paid than we've got.
I agree with another visitor that pictures on their website are misleading.

The staff at the front desk were very helpful but at the bar and restaurant uninterested.
The food was ok, but it took quiet long for our dinner to be ready. So, also our dinner was small and expensive.

The room was not well maintained and was not cleaned every day and our bed was sagged on one side.
The internet connection is very bad, it's not available in your room unless if you go outside, somewhere in the garden, and it still has low signal and slow connection while WI-FI from Radisson next door has good connection even till the beach.

But, bad experience is also experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction C, Responsable relations clients at Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express these remarks; we will take them into account to improve our services and rectify the situation promptly.
For instance, we worked on the Wi-Fi problem that occurred during your stay with us and it is now fixed in the rooms as well as in the public areas of the hotel.
We do regret that your experience at Le Domaine was not what you had expected for the money you paid and I remain available to further discuss if you wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Address: B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the North of the Island of Saint Martin, in the FrenchWest Indies, in the magnificent bay of Anse Marcel, the Domainede Lonvilliers is a blend of Creole charm and refinement.The Hotel consists of 5 buildings in the Creole style in the heart of alush tropical garden, bordered by a beautiful white sandy beach.Our restaurants :La Table du Marché, Leroys Kfé, the Beach club and the Beach Barin addition to our Ti Snack welcome you every day in a heavenlysetting at the edge of the Caribbean sea.Close by, you will find a charming little leisure port/marina withshops and boutiques.The relaxed but exclusive atmosphere of the Domaine de Lonvilliersinvites you to experience a unique environment. The Domaine deLonvillier is the ideal place for your relaxing holidays in an idyllicsetting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De Lonvilliers Hotel Anse Marcel
Le Domaine Hotel
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.