We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Anse Marcel
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went on our honeymoon from late September-early October. That's right, in the middle of hurricane season. But we lucked out on the weather. It was sunny everyday, and the staff at Le Domaine was a ball of sunshine as well! My boss recommended the resort. That's where she went on her honeymoon. I'm so glad she did. We got our room upgraded, a complimentary couples massage, free breakfast every morning, and a free Champagne dinner. It sits on Anse Marcel, which is almost like your own private beach, but with a cocktail just inches away from your lounge chair. The room was clean, the grounds were superbly landscaped, and the staff was attentive. We will definitely be back. Oh, and although we spoke French, we found every person to be fluent in English as well.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face a courtyard, so you cannot get a beachfront room. But that's not a bad thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    152
    70
    50
    35
See reviews for
68
254
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Domaine in Sep 2012. This is low season - because of the risk of bad weather (hurricanes) and the price was better than at much lesser places. 90 euros plus the usual taxes. Total for two nights was €206. Now if you go there for Christmas week, you will pay substancially more, probably around three times as much.
The room was great, spotless. The bed is extra firm. The gardens are absolutely gorgious!
There is a restaurant on the premises - not for the faint of wallet. But 20 minutes away in Grand Anse, there are a wide variety of restaurant that are extremely reasonably priced. We had lunch there on grilled porc ribs, with a beer for $25 including tips for the two of us.

Room Tip: Rent a car, this hotel is out of the way. Avis was $76 for two days. All rooms are good there. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Rooms: Pretty on the outside, but rather average on the inside. The bed was very hard and they pushed two twins together to get a king, so if we wanted to cuddle in the middle, you would get stuck in the crack. The large tub was great for a jacuzzi, but not good for showering or privacy.

Location:The hotel grounds and beauty and privacy of the beach were exceptional. It really felt like paradise and the perfect place for relaxation. However, the downside to an excluded location was if you wanted to go outside the hotel for dinner or activities, you had to get a taxi and it required going up and down a large sloping hill, which was a bit scary in the heavy rains because you could get stuck in the mud. If you are planning to want to do a lot and get out a lot, this is not the location for you.

Food: breakfast buffet was excellent. Really enjoyed sitting out and being to look out at the beach as I sipped my morning coffee. Dinner was excellent too, except they pulled down the shades so you couldn't see the view.

Activities: Enjoyed snorkeling and took a thrilling jet ski adventure through the hotel. We rode all around the island and stopped off for drinks and relaxing on the beach on the Dutch side. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I visited Le Domaine the last week of August with a friend. I realized it was a bit far from everything but thought if the hotel was nice enough it would be worth it. I was wrong! The pictures on their website is very misleading. We arrived in St Martin and the cab driver and dispatcher thought we were crazy for staying there. When we got to the hotel, we checked in and were brought to our room. He opens the door to a room that wasn't cleaned yet and told us to wait at the bar. We tried to switch the hotel because of the bad vibe. The lack of communication and hassle made us suck it up and stay there. They charged us for every little thing. DISGUSTING FOOD!!! 80 euro for two salads and fries. The look and smell of the chicken in the salad made us gag. We complained but nothing was done. We could not get coffee unless we bought the breakfast buffet. They made an exception and charged us 11 euro (approx.13 dollars) for 2 small coffees. The room was clean enough but the towels smelled like mildew and the beds were so hard and uncomfortable. I would never suggest anyone to go to Le Domaine. If you want to stay in Anse Marcel far from everything stay at the Radisson next door. The hotel was closer to a four star and they were much more accommodating even though we weren't even staying there. The staff at Le Domaine were very friendly for the most part but many of them did not speak English (unprofessional to not speak English when working at a FOUR STAR hotel). We wasted one full day and so much money on our cell phones to cancel and in the end nothing was done. NEVER AGAIN will I stay at Le Domaine!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anse Marcel hotels

Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I had a great time and enjoyed a pleasant stay. Beautiful location, friendly and cooperative staff, nice food, nice beach bar with great coctails. We enjoyed the arrangements of short trips by the hotel staff along with the beautiful ocean view room. We enjoyed the jacuzzi like bath tab at very reasonable price.

Only bad moment was a bug that landed on my wife during dinner. It's the carribean, its exotic ... i understand, but nevertheless the restaraunt staff should either apologize or offer it for free. Neither happened. One bad momment cannot ruin the wonderful memories.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurel, MS
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I thought I wanted an ocean view room in St. Martin, but would sacrifice the ocean view for the beautiful garden view from our large balcony at Le Domaine. Bouganvillas, mandevillas, gorgeous palms -- I found all enchanting. Also, the private beach area shared only with the Radisson was incredible. The food at the restaurant was good. The service was very average. Breakfast which was supposed to start at 7 was never completely ready until at least 7:15 or 7:30. We had tennis at 8 so that was important to us. The pastries and sweets available were delicious, however. We purchased through hotwire -- a real deal, but were shocked when they tried to charge us 20 euros each for breakfast advertised as free on hotwire. After presenting documentation, our breakfast costs were removed. This was a slightly troubling end to an otherwise delightful stay at LeDomaine. I found the bed comfortable and the shower no problem. You take the handheld shower and hang it up to make it into a "real" shower. Easy solution. Yes, there are French interns -- some of whom are beautiful and charming. Our hostess, Alline, was both! All in all, I would recommend this place -- especially if you can get a bargain rate and free breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor or above room so that you can look out over the beautiful gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were charged 40 EUR for 2 for a mediocre breakfast and were treated badly by the front desk when we complained since we thought that breakfast was included. There was never a manager to speak to.. seems like the place is ran by students doing their internship from France.

Room Tip: We paid $99 a night-- but dont pay more
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Le Domaine De Lonvilliers Hotel Anse Marcel
Le Domaine De Lonvilliers Hotel
Le Domaine Hotel
Le Domaine De Lonvilliers
Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel
Address: B.P. 481, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the North of the Island of Saint Martin, in the FrenchWest Indies, in the magnificent bay of Anse Marcel, the Domainede Lonvilliers is a blend of Creole charm and refinement.The Hotel consists of 5 buildings in the Creole style in the heart of alush tropical garden, bordered by a beautiful white sandy beach.Our restaurants :La Table du Marché, Leroys Kfé, the Beach club and the Beach Barin addition to our Ti Snack welcome you every day in a heavenlysetting at the edge of the Caribbean sea.Close by, you will find a charming little leisure port/marina withshops and boutiques.The relaxed but exclusive atmosphere of the Domaine de Lonvilliersinvites you to experience a unique environment. The Domaine deLonvillier is the ideal place for your relaxing holidays in an idyllicsetting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domaine Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.