We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite Vacation spot in the Caribbean...highly recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marquis Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Marquis Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pigeon Pea Hill, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“My new favorite Vacation spot in the Caribbean...highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The Marquis Hotel is definitely where you want to stay in St. Martin to relax and completely disconnect from the outside world. The hotel is located on top of a hill with an amazing view of Anse Marcel bay. When you arrive it feels like your own vacation home and not a hotel. The staff couldn't be any more accommodating and professional. Our room was very clean and comfortable. It had a tropical flare but updated with modern amenities. I would definitely stay there again on my next vacation to St. Martin.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    76
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
30
187
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Sitting on Cap Juluca, a hotel resort in Anguilla, we are looking over the straight to St Martin and Anse Marcel where Marquis is located. We stayed there for four nights and have only good things to say about this establishment: Though not by the beach the location is owesome, tucked away on a steep hillside facing the beautiful Anse Marcel beach and the ocean. Only a few mintues drive to the beach and about ten minutes to the great restaurant and cute butiques of Grand Case. Murquis has spacious with great viewes. Is feels very private and romantic with a very welcoming and friendly staff, as mentioned in many of the previous reviewes. Much more personal as may be expected in similar and larger hotels. We were especially pleased with the dinner and sightsseeing recommendations and help with reservations at various local restaurants in Grand Case. Rental car is a must at Marquis (braise yourselves for the steep hills). Delicious continental breakfast served by a nice lady on the terrace by the pool. Bring insect repellant, if you want to avoid the miquitoes.

Room Tip: We stayed at a "great view" room and would reccomend this. Nothing like waking up to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is so beautiful, very very clean - in a very nice location up in the hill- with an amazing view to Anse Marcel. Very close to Grand case to have dinner at night (5 min car drive). The best part of this hotel is the attention provided by the employees, really really makes the difference, they are very helpful, always ready to provide the best recommendations - they are super NICE- I really cannot recall a similar experience at any other hotel - they make you feel part of their family. Do not miss the breakfast which is also outstanding quality! This hotel is perfect for an amazing stay at St Marteen.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Je t'aime The Marquis Boutique Hotel & Spa!

I have been home for 11 long cold and lonely days.....and oh how I miss the Marquis. The hotel is a tiny gem set up high in the mountains...high enough to have a super view of the cove below, high enough to feel that you are away from the world, but only a ten minute ride from exquisite beaches like Pinel or Orient.

The view is magnificent! The pool is soooo restful; with only 17 rooms, you feel like you have the place to yourself. The staff is beyond comparison too. Upon arrival, you will receive big smiles and a kiss on each cheek (the french way)! Moira, the sales manager makes you feel welcome, as if she is welcoming you into her home. Sybille and Francesca will make your stay amazing. They will shuttle you to the local beaches, making sure you do not forget to take a towel with you. If you are hungry, they will bring you room service from the most amazing pizza place sown at the bottom of the hill too. If you forget to eat, Sybille may even call you to remind you to eat, and that she is going to the restaurant!

And of course, lets not forget Madame Zazou who serves gorgeous fruit and warm pain au chocolate in the mornings, along with a strong cup of coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice!

If you are looking to be kissed by the sun and a warm friendly hotel with people that care, visit the Marquis...you will be THRILLED!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We just spent four days at Marquis to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. It was a pleasure to spend time there. The room (Mustique) was perfect for us. Moira and the team are absolutely wonderful and take care of every need. We enjoyed the experience and would definitely go back. I was concerned about the road based on reviews I had read, but it is not a problem at all. I can't imagine staying any other place on the island. The team was extremely helpful with restaurant reservations and made great recommendations. Great four days!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

For context, my wife and I are retired and travel a lot. Often in the winter we want to get away from the cold monotony and just bask in the sun. We've been to several Caribbean destinations. but this was first to Saint Martin. This was a seven night trip. We did not rent a car. We really didn't have much interest in exploring the island and tend to prefer boutique hotels for intimacy and service. We booked a Great View room that includes a balcony. The Marquis was great for our objectives.The good things: The Marquis arranged a driver who met us at the airport (E45). We were warmly greeted and always well served. Everything was relaxing. The room was spacious with high timbered ceilings and the furnishings were adequate. The view was spectacular though we stayed in room 118, which was at the end of the line of rooms with the great view (ask for a room closer to the beach/north). Breakfast was on the central patio by the small pool (nice setting but no view), continental style, and reasonable for these parts (E10). Service was very personal, amiable, and prompt. Marquis provides beach towels and drive you down to the Anse Marcel beach (2 min) and pick you up immediately when you call (ask any server to call) - very quick service. The beach was not crowded, lots of comfortable, padded chaises with functional umbrellas (free) and beach bars and beach boy service - expensive as you would expect; direct bill to your room if you want. They will also drop you at the pier to go to Pinel Island - we did that once but preferred Anse Marcel. We ate most of our meals in the Anse Marcel locations - Le Calypso, La LoConda (transportation provided by the Marquis) - good enough because we snacked so much on the beach (everything from deserts to grilled lobster). One night we took a taxi to Grand Case (E20 each way) to eat at L'Auberge Gourmande - outstanding. We took room service twice on our balcony (room service is catered from a nearby restuarant and takes time but the food is good). The bad: Room furnishings were not to the standard of the rooms themselves - very basic, not much decoration, not luxurious. This place deserves better: with better furnishings and decor we would rate the Marquis at 5. Isolated: if you want to move around the island, rent a car. Pool was nice, clean but small, but who wants a pool when you have chauffer service to the beach? We didn't use the spa service.

Room Tip: For deluxe views, ask for a room closer to the north end (?) - in any case closest to the Anse Marce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We recently stayed a long weekend at the Marquis. We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the warmth of the staff and the great vibes around the hotel. Everyone was very nice and so helpful. Our only regret is that we were not able to spend more time there, as it was so relaxing. In one way, the location of the hotel is a bit far from many of the more touristy destinations...but as we found out, it was really nice to be up on the mountain where we could relax and enjoy the scenery without all the noise. So, in the end, it worked out for the better, and we would recommend this very nice and enjoyable hotel to others. Again - its the great staff that makes the difference. they were all so nice and helpful. just wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Marcel
0.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.0 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 7 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 5 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,345 reviews
7.6 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
4.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Boutique Hotel

Address: Pigeon Pea Hill, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marquis Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marquis is an intimate and exclusive 4star boutique hotel located in Anse Marcel Cove on St Martin's French side. The 17 spacious room & suite accommodations have private terraces and a dramatic view of the ocean. Breakfast & restaurant services can be enjoyed in your room or around the pool. A full service at the beach is provided for hotel guests and a shuttle is at their disposal anytime. Also, guests will benefit from the sport center and the "Zen" area which offers aesthetic treatments and massages. This secluded paradise's reputed personal service adds to its appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Marquis Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Boutique Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel
Marquis Boutique Hotel And Spa
Hotel Marquis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.