We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nestled Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marquis Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marquis Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Marquis Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pigeon Pea Hill, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Nestled Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Marquis is fabulous. The rooms are spacious, the staff is very hospitable, and the views are spectacular. Nestled up in the mountains above Anse Marcel, the hotel provides great views of the water and Anguilla in the distance. Each room has a private balcony which made me feel more like a local than a tourist. A rental car is needed to stay here if you wish to have the flexibility to see the island. However, parking was never a problem and they can even facilitate a rental car. Also, they do have a pool onsite but it is very small. However, with access to the beach at Anse Marcel, why would you choose to stay at the pool?
Each morning we had a wonderful breakfast of pastries, fresh fruit and choice of coffee or tea. Additionally, they served a variety of jams (coconut, guava, mango) with the meals that can be purchased on site if desired (or find the local grocery outlet).
Marquis is conveniently located by Ilet Pinel (5 minutes), Grand Case (10 minutes), and Orient Beach (15 minutes). They gave us the perfect trip of relaxation and local flavor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    76
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
30
187
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed to 2 nights in November when passing through. Nicely away from the cruise ships and the busy tourist areas. Fantastic massage. They provide transport up down to the beach and restaurants. The bit it is missing its our restaurant overlooking the bay for serving dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed for a week in June and it was a very quiet, secluded, beautiful spot on the island. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. The view was absolutely breathtaking. If you're looking for a place to completely de-stress and to completely get away from the world, this is it.

We spent most of our time eating at the hotel. There aren't a whole lot of options in the area to eat. And the places that are around are overpriced and the food is so-so. The food at Hotel Marquis is good and is cheaper than what you'll find around in that part of the island.

We only traveled to Marigot once and it was enough for us. If you want to get around, the Hotel Marquis can recommend good taxi drivers. Just expect to pay a little bit of money due to the location of the hotel.

We loved it. And we would absolutely go again.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Marquis in March and had a lovely time. We booked a package deal on Expedia because I found a great deal for this hotel but also because I had been looking at this hotel separately as well. The hotel has fantastic views of the Anse Marcel Bay (yes, the drive is steep but we didn't mind it albeit we rented a jeep due to the climb).

The rooms were comfortable and roomy. We wanted a slightly better view than the not bad view we had with the original room they assigned us so we asked if they had a room further up available and they did. Moira offered us a discount on the upgrade which was nice and they made sure our new balcony had a lounge chair in addition to the table and chairs. The room had a coffee maker and a small fridge, however, we couldn't figure out how to operate the coffee maker properly (maybe it wasn't working properly or it could have been user error) and the fridge was fully stocked with "mini bar" items you would be charged for using. It would have been nice if it were half empty to stock with your own items...we ended up having to take half their stock out to make room for items we bought at the local market.

The hotel staff were impeccable! Fabio, Electra and Moira (and everyone else we encountered) were truly warm and welcoming and had great ideas about where to eat and what to do. You may not have the pleasure of meeting Fabio or Electra since they are Swiss students studying tourism working at the hotel as an internship but I understand that Moira employs students from their school regularly so I should imagine you will have the opportunity to meet some other wonderfully polite students who are learning and exploring the island with you. In fact, we kept running into Fabio everywhere we went :)

The breakfasts were good but we didn't realize they weren't included in our package so, again, Moira offered us a discount on them when we checked out.

We thought this hotel was a gem of a find for the price and we also liked the clientelle there, feeling like they were mellow and "our kind" of people. We became fast vaca pals with another couple from France even though we had communication issues since we didn't speak the same language :) and we went on a Catamaran cruise with them and another young couple of American students on spring break.

We would highly recommend this hotel for a quiet retreat on the French side. It's a short drive to Grand Case in the evenings for a great meal in their many restaurants or you can walk down to Anse Marcel where there are a few restaurants and a private beach. For beaches, we really loved Pinel Island (recommended by the hotel staff) and Baie Rouge and the beaches on Anguilla (which we visited on our Catamaran trip) were amazing!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views. If you can afford it, request a suite. We asked for an upgrade and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologne, Italie
Level Contributor
256 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

it's really marvellous to find out a small piece of quite in a busy and crowded island as St Martin-St Maarten is! the beaches are overcrowded except the Anse Marcel, where only two big hotels are on the beach and few nice resort are betterly located on the top of the hill overlooking the beach and the bay. the staff is very kind and it's really nice to spend few days over there. a car is absolutely necessary to move around, to visit few interesting points of the island (the butterfly farm, Pinel Island) and to taste some restaurants in different places. if you are not interested in busy area, casino, unpolite and unkind local people...avoid to go to St.Martin, but for any reason you go there take your time and relax at the Marquis Boutique Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Decided on St. Martin because there was a direct flight and booked Marquis because they had a special and the photos looked amazing. The hotel staff was amazing and the hotel itself and the view was beautiful, but the furniture and the bedding looked outdated. What we liked the least was that there are steep hills driving up to the hotel which I found bit unnerving. Though we loved the spectacular view, we wished it was easier for us to come and go from the hotel.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

You could not find any other hotel where the staff is that helpful, great advice for restaurants and any activities! Spacious rooms, very relaxing hotel. Amazing breakfast. Congratulations!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Marcel
0.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
6.0 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 7 in Orient Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 5 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,345 reviews
7.6 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
4.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Boutique Hotel

Address: Pigeon Pea Hill, Anse Marcel 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marquis Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marquis is an intimate and exclusive 4star boutique hotel located in Anse Marcel Cove on St Martin's French side. The 17 spacious room & suite accommodations have private terraces and a dramatic view of the ocean. Breakfast & restaurant services can be enjoyed in your room or around the pool. A full service at the beach is provided for hotel guests and a shuttle is at their disposal anytime. Also, guests will benefit from the sport center and the "Zen" area which offers aesthetic treatments and massages. This secluded paradise's reputed personal service adds to its appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Marquis Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Boutique Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Anse Marcel
Marquis Boutique Hotel And Spa
Hotel Marquis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marquis Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.