We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to a "modern, slow food" restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Celler de l'Aspic

El Celler de l'Aspic
C/ Miquel Barcelo 31 | Falset, 43730 Falset, Spain
34 977 831 246
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Falset
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“First visit to a "modern, slow food" restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

In celebration of our 50th wedding anniversary we signed up for a wine-tasting visit to the Priorat. One of the evenings during our stay in Falset, our leader took us to El Celler de l'Aspic. My husband went with reservations because he is not an adventurous diner and is more or less a meat and potatoes sort of person. We both were very favorably impressed with our meals. The leader and I chose the 45 euro tasting menu which included wines and my husband opted for a plate of 6 local cheeses with jam and a filet. The standouts in the tasting menu were the wonderful mixed salad with foie and some crunchy bits and the three mushroom ravioli. Downstairs there was a large party going on so we were seated upstairs and were not annoyed by noise which in some restaurants at home is overpowering and prevents comfortable conversation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    37
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herrliberg, Switzerland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Celler de l'Aspic is a rather stylish, cool location which is not something you would normally expect to find in the Priorat. All the warmer were the reception, the service and the competent advice from Tony Bru, acting as chef and sommelier as well. A five course menu for 35 EUR: what can you expect: a lot, we can tell you! From the amuse bouche to the dessert, there was nothing you could have critisized. The catalan cuisine was fantastically good. We had, amongst others, a delicious fish, perfectly cooked risotto with "pulpo" and an excellent chicken. Dessert for the gentlemen was a flan caramel made out of goat milk. I hate goat milk, but I had no leftovers on my plate from this dish! The wine card offers a large selection (and for once it shows the vintage, which is not always the case even in better restaurants in the Priorat). We drank a fruity Morlanda blanc, 2010, and a bottle of 2002 Gran Clos, which was full bodied and rich, but still surprisingly juvenile. We would go there anytime again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Simply one of the best dining experiences of our lives, and we have been to El Bulli!
Not only is every detail taken care of, but every fork/spoonful enlivens those pleasure-producing endorphins. It is worth a trip to Falset just to enjoy what this restaurant has to offer, which, as the name suggests, includes a superb choice of singular wines of the region.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Flawless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Arriving for a 9 pm reservation, we were greeted and given our choice of tables. The atmosphere/ambiance of El Celler de l'Aspic is sophisticated and understated. As we were studying the menu, chef/owner/sommelier, Tony Bru, approached and asked if he could be of assistance. We decided to place our dining in his experienced hands and chose the Priorat menu with wine pairings- 5 courses plus dessert- for 50 Euro per person. Tony asked if there were any allergies or foods to avoid. Our starter was a cold tomato soup drizzled with balsamic vinegar. Next a mixed green salad-4 varieties of lettuce, green beans, cherry tomatoes followed by a stuffed ravioli topped with cheese and mushrooms. Then a magnificent presentation of wild tuna served on a bed of paper-thin zuchini accompanied by a vegetable medley of carrots, asparagus, green beans, and mushrooms dressed in a light soy sauce. An organic chicken leg course was followed by 3 wedges of cheese accompanied by dollops of tomato, quince, and fig preserves. And finally dessert- two different desserts to share- a cold white chocolate soup with bits of strawberries and a summer fruit salad with a scoop of almond ice cream. At the conclusion of this stellar 2 1/2 hr. dining experience, we were appropriately wowed by such a gourmet experience. The presentation alone was spectacular, but the flavorful taste experience of fresh, local ingredients was masterful. It is evident that Chef Tony Bru has high expectations for service as his servers were impeccably trained and they executed flawlessly. Kudos to El Celler de l'Aspic for inventive, delicious dining in the small town of Falset.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I expect more from a Michelin recommended restaurant...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The experience was nice but it wasn't outstanding. I am used to getting more from a Michelin restaurant. Service was good but the food came out fast. It was local food, prepared well but nothing 'blew me away'. We had the set menu, 5 different plates plus dessert. I don't mind paying more for better food but this didn't meet my expectations. Again it was average but nothing more.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Celler de l'Aspic also viewed

Falset, Province of Tarragona
Falset, Province of Tarragona
 
Gratallops, Province of Tarragona
Falset, Province of Tarragona
 

Been to El Celler de l'Aspic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Celler de l'Aspic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.