We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Savoie Villars

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Savoie Villars to your Saves list
Le Savoie Villars
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   10 place Savoie Villars, 37350 Le Grand-Pressigny, France   |  
Hotel amenities
kington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“unbelievable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Despite having been booked months in advance they were completely unprepared for our party
even though the tables were laid for us.We had to go to a nearby bar for a drink.The waitress was extremely stressed and we had to wait a very long time for anything.When our host dared to complain the proprietor came out and very unpleasently ranted abuse at us, our hostess was assaulted and pushed out of the hotel, at this point some of us left but for those that stayed the Gendarmes were called and they just stood there staring and making everyone feel uncomfortable. Later found out the locals had been betting on how long it would be before trouble flared.Aparently 5 incidencies this week. Seems already to have a bit of a reputation.Financed by the local commune I believe and have been reliably informed that there are strong letters on their way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richard t, Propriétaire at Le Savoie Villars, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I would like to add some information to your words that does not reflect reality.

We prepared was visiting since your table was ready, but your group has preferred to go take a drink at the bar of a side which has considerably delay the service

In fact you weren't alone this day and lesser things when reservation for 7:30 pm it is to meet its commitments

I can also let you insinuate that my behavior was aggressive because I took upon myself after that some people of the group have me insult me and my waitress.

Just look at the comments on booking or on this site to know that I am not an aggressive person and unpleasant. Moreover no incidents had yet taken place since my opening; but I do not have a accept such behavior in my institution, also many reviews so far the on was shocked by how you behave and we have stated their support. Some of your group also were also shocked and will are excused. Indeed you are not without knowing if the mounted police was called by what some of you are left without pay!

With regard to the person supposedly assaulted and pushed out of the hotel it is very exaggerated because several times I asked to leave the establishment since this lady insulted me in English word extremely shocking for a woman of that age.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice location and food but the attitude of the staff was incredibly rude...we were in a group of around 20 which had been booked at the restaurant for about 2 months and confirmed the week before. Despite this they had only two staff members serving and a large number of other customers. When we dared to ask for bread and water having waited an hour with no service whatsoever, the staff became quite aggressive, implying we were in the wrong to be impatient as it was obvious they were busy. We felt completely unwelcome with plates and cutlery being slammed onto the table and comments being muttered under the staffs breath. The most unpleasant evening I have ever had in a restaurant which is a shame as it came recommended. We will certainly not be visiting again and will advise friends and family to avoid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richard t, Propriétaire at Le Savoie Villars, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hello

I can react strongly to your criticism that does not reflect reality

Indeed your group had booked for 7: 30 p.m. However the entire group was present that to 20h15.cela is not our fault if, during this time the you have expected .your appetizers which were offered by the House you were served when the entire group was present.

The bread, I would like to inform you that it is placed on the tables that when input arrives, what the nor was not the case. With regard to wines no request was made when making your reservation, you had the time to order it because you were an aperitif.There are also way nicer to ask to be aggressive like this was the case

With regard to the aggressiveness of myself and my waitress, I inform you that after being insulting by some people of your 'big pig' group, c.... «» food yucky ""move your big c... ". "etc etc, you can imagine that our cold blood have disappeared and we have told

You were not alone tonight la and I am sorry that you did not have exclusivity as you wanted.

The restaurant received very many group before you and absolutely all are returned in satisfied, I'm sorry if this was not your case. as some of you have mentioned me the customer is King but under certain conditions, the lack of respect that you had towards my staff is absolutely shocking and could not go unanswered. I never was also insulted by clients tonight with your group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked 2 months in advance to eat at this establishment as a party of 25. Upon arrival, (at the agreed time) the tables were not prepared and we had go to a bar next door to wait. We returned after some time and were seated. We waited nearly an hour for any attention (drinks order, explanation...), and eventually received our agreed aperitif. When we requested some bread and water we were met with a particularly surly attitude and were told they had not been expecting us (!) and we would have to accept that they were understaffed. Some time later the starter, as part of the set menu, began to be served. Although the food was delicious, the attitude with which it was delivered was disgusting. Forks were slammed down, requests for drinks were taken with distain together with very loud, public, exclamations of "pah! - c'est imppossible!" (from the waiting staff).... it was perfectly Faulty Towers -esq!!!
I am afraid to say that after three of our party had been reduced to tears by the rudeness and aggressive attitude of the staff we left the establishment (i cannot call it a restaurant).

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Auberge Savoie Villars reopened a couple of months ago (June 2013), having attracted a new proprietor, and then renovation work being carried out to renew the kitchens. We are thrilled to add the restaurant to our local list of favourite places to dine. As we live in the next village, we've already been 3 times; and once to celebrate a birthday! Mr Tiercelin is an excellent host and the chef is an excellent cook. So you can be sure of a warm friendly welcome and as the menu changes with the season, fresh tastey food is guaranteed.

Room Tip: If the weather is warm, ask for a table on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

highly recommend this restaurant- the food was superb and in a pleasant location. service, however, was pretty slow as the waiter seemed to be on his own, coping with numerous tables. the wait was worth it, though, for the quality of the food, and the menu itself was very good value at 22euro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Savoie Villars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Savoie Villars

Address: 10 place Savoie Villars, 37350 Le Grand-Pressigny, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Le Grand-Pressigny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Le Grand-Pressigny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Savoie Villars 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Savoie Villars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Savoie Villars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.