We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing! NOT recommended!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lam Kinh Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lam Kinh Hotel to your Saves list
Lam Kinh Hotel
Thanh Hoa, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Thanh Hoa
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing! NOT recommended!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

From the pictures we expected a beautiful, clean and well kept hotel. The building facilities are dilapidated and the hotel is deserted! The advertised facilities are non existent: pool area not maintained. fitness center closed and so was the entire 3rd level of the hotel which was meant to have a bar, lounge and entertainment. It was in total darkness with no furniture in site! We also had Dirty bath towels. The location is also away from the markets and restaurants.I would not return nor recommend this hotel! Very disappointing!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I didn't expect much from my trip to Thanh Hoa due to its bad reputation for poor hospitability. But the stay at Lam Kinh hotel turns my view downside up. It's a large and well equipped hotel. My room is spacious, clean with a very comfortable bed. The staffs surprised me for being very polite and helpful. I enjoy my stay here and don't have anything to complaint. There's just one thing to notice that it's located 15 km from the beach. So it'll be inconvenient if you don't have a private car. However, getting a taxi is easy, I think and the road leading to the beach is cool and in good condition.

Also, I think it might be cheaper if you call to the hotel for booking rather than using Agoda. I paid VND 1.3 mio for a night but when checking out the receipt I saw for Agoda is just around VND 1mio. Probably it's special price for travel agent. But it's worth a try to check.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good location in town, the room big ,clean .the break fast also very good so many option for you to choice.but ony one thing i complane about this hotel is staff unpro &rule.if i came back thanh hoa i will stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi/vietnam
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is best in the area. The food in the restaurant is good, service needs improvement.
The waitress wants to watch their soap opera , so they switch on the TV very loudly, I complain and the go to the next TV set and turn on loudly again. They are there for service not for private entertainment. I order some wake up call and they never called ! That is a serious matter since you can miss a meeting or your appointment.

Pros:
- food in restaurant
- very good room ( but no bath tub)
- driving range for golf
- TV channels
- good bed
- BF is okay
Cons:
- wifi is very weak
- service in restaurant need more training
- wake up call not available
- TV sets in restaurant
- service in the restaurant
- dance club is not working
- no bar

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night last month. Rooms are big with all amenities and big balcony. The breakkfast spread is huge as compared to a similar hotel with cerals, eggs counter, juices, bakery, hot dishes etc.Lobby and public areas are neat and clean and the staff is exceptionally courteous and professional. They ensured my short stay was just superb.

The best part about this hotel is the value for money. I paid less than $50 for a room with breakfast and just could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singleton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

good clean hotel close to city , staff speak good english for this part of vn will always stay at this hotel when in thanh hoa

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lam Kinh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lam Kinh Hotel

Address: Thanh Hoa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thanh Hoa Province > Thanh Hoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Thanh Hoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Lam Kinh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lam Kinh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.