We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent bed and breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
The White Hart Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Newbury Street, Whitchurch RG28 7DN , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Whitchurch B&B and Inns
Bristol
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent bed and breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for one Saturday night. We were put in the 'annex' in a double room, which was very pleasant. The double glazing on this room is incredibly effective and blocked almost all the pub noise, so no need to worry about noise. Ok breakfast but probably not worth £6.50 if you come in off the street. But all in all, for sixty notes was very good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
17
18
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fantastic food - very reasonably priced and of good quality. We ate at the hotel on the first evening and had breakfast on both days. The owners have only been there since September, and whilst there is alot for them to do, it's clear they know what they are doing - this is a place with loads of potential.
The bedroom was rather tired, and could have done with a bit of a dust. The bed was clean and pretty comfortable, however, it was clear that the there was work ongoing to update the rooms. The bathroom was clean and adequate. There were several people in our party and it was clear that there is quite a range in the quality of the rooms.
The girl that served in the restaurant on the Friday evening and at breakfast on the Saturday morning is a real asset to the hotel. She was very attentive and had a great way with everyone. The staff in general were very good except one of the female servers.
This place is really good value, and has the potential to be pretty special. Really nice location as well.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just had 2 nights here. Good value, but a bit noisy on a Friday night- not unpleasantly so though. Excellent breakfast and a comfortable basic room in the annexe. Good food on Saturday night at an excellent price. Friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here one night while attending a nearby wedding. The room (number 11), above the pub, was large (A double bed and a single to one side) with grand old furniture, the bathroom had a bath with an overhead shower. Tea/coffee making facilities were available also.

The pub is a large old building which seems to be very popular in the village, only thing against the pub (or indeed, the whole town) was that come mid afternoon there was nowhere to buy a meal except the co-op over the road, we had to drive to Winchester.
Breakfast in the morning was included and that was fine.

I'm with others that find it a little odd that some other reviewers on this site expect 5 star service in this type of establishment, it "does what is says on the tin" as they say and we would stay here again if ever we are in the area without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

we stayed here on bank holiday weekend, well we stayed one night out of an expected three because we could not bear it. the rooms were out in the old stable block and were fine in terms of they had new ensuites and were very small but clean. However the walls were paper thin (you could hear a coathanger being moved along the rail in the neighbouring room), the doors and windows were single glazed which meant that when people were asked to leave the pub they sat in the car park below for hours on end. After one night of no sleep and shoddy service at breakfast we paid up and departed. On the one night we did stay we chose not to eat there and chose the lovely pub down the road -only a pity they didn't do rooms!

Room Tip: don't have a room over the stable block
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whitchurch hotels

SW England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The White Hart web site is totally misleading, and it is the first time I have been disappointed after reading Tripadvisor reviews - it certainly does not live up to the expectations raised by the previous Tripavisor reviews.

On arrival it was appeared rather tired, the white hart over the entrance has lost one antler and everything was rather dingey - cigarette butt ends littered the floor of the courtyard at the rear and a plant was overhanging the fire escape. The bar and restaurant area was dark with canned music and sweet vending machines. Having found the only person on duty we went to find our room - the stair carpet was in need of a jolly good vacuum and clean. The upper floor was just as bad and much of the paintwork was very grubby. There were narrow dingey corridors with more grubby paint, the one bright spot being some strangely incongruous modern art. I was very tempted to say I couldn't stay there but relented as we had arranged to meet others.

We chose to go elsewhere for dinner on the assumption that if the areas we could see were not clean the kitchens may not be, added to which the bar and restaurant area was rather noisy and not at all comfortable or relaxing.

Our bedroom was a very good size with a new ensuite bathroom which was clean enough, the bedlinen was clean, but the mattress was dreadful! It was so thin and soggy it would have failed the Tourist Board pinch test. I could feel all the springs which made for a very uncomfortable night with very little sleep. I moved to another, single bed in our room in the early hours which was slightly more comfortable, but by then there was so much noise from the road outside I couldn't sleep. On the plus side there was plenty of hot water in the morning.

Breakfast was like something from Fawlty Towers. Service was slow as there was only one member of staff on duty plus the chef. She was very pleasant and did her best to be helpful but she seemed slightly out of her depth and the odds were stacked against her. There was a limited selection of processed, sugary cereals, so I ordered porridge which it appeared was beyond the capability of the chef and eventually I told them not to bother as time was going on. Full English breakfast was adequate but not great and the beans were definitely not Heinz. Someone ordered poached egg which took ages for the chef to perfect and by the time her breakfast arrived everyone else had finished. Toast was made from bog standard white bread, we had to ask for marmalade which was not well presented and definitely bargain basement supermarket fare. At one point the supply of knives ran out despite there being very few guests.

When we checked in and out we had to hunt down a solitary member of staff who was trying to do everything. It was cheap, we were charged less than I had been quoted, but it was not worth more and I would not have been prepared to pay more. The whole place needs a good deep clean and tidy and they need to address the issue of customer service. My husband and I had been looking forward to a much needed night away before a meeting, the White Hart was chosen because of it's location and because it could accommodate other people in our party. We were very disappointed and will not be returning. By paying very little more we could have had a very much better quality experience elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the fire escape and if you are a light sleeper, for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel/pub has gone from strength to strength from a dingy pub back in the 1990's to this heart of the community. Have enjoyed many a great night here and the food is good too. The landlord Andy is always helpful and friendly.
If you're visiting the fantastic town of Whitchurch, stay here.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: Newbury Street, Whitchurch RG28 7DN , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Whitchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Whitchurch, Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.