We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great space for kids to run but that's about as good as it gets” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia in Miniature (Catalunya en Miniatura)

Catalonia in Miniature (Catalunya en Miniatura)
Can Balasch de Baix, Torrelles de Llobregat, Spain
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest model village in miniature in the world and the only one in Spain.
Sant Cugat del Vallès, Catalonia, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great space for kids to run but that's about as good as it gets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I'd read other reviews for this place so wasn't too hopeful as to what we'd find. That said I thought I'd go with a positive attitude as we had been invited to go by our kids friend.

On the positive:
Not busy
Loads of car parking space
Drive to it goes through the hills
Space for kids to run through
Clean toilets
Empty bar/cafe
A promotional stand for a dairy cooperative that gave the kids a free balloon, badge, milkshake and a go at milking the fake cow (guessing this isn't usually there).

On the negatives:
No child interaction
Buttons for electronic models didn't always work
Seems old fashioned, as in the model if Sagrada familia doesn't represent where they are at now.
Some of the models are just a bit outdated, and don't mean much to a non locals eg. Models of 1950/70's style distribution centres.
No shade (on a sunny October day we struggled so would hate to have gone in height of summer).
You have to pay extra for the train and the mini diggers (the latter didn't work properly).
Picnic area involved going up and down lots of steps which is difficult for those with prams/mobility issues (not sure if there was another route).

We didn't however pay to go on the rope play area which may have changed my opinion of it, but we had two babies in our group so couldn't.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    16
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Catalunya en miniatura - minuture town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A really nice place to go with your children if you are determined enough to get there. There are two different train companies and if you don’t speak Catalan you might find it very challenging to get the correct train. Landmark places you can see are Sagrada Familia, Montserrat, Columbus Monument, arc de Triomf, La Rambla, the Olimpic stadium and so much more - scale 1:25. There are buttons to press to make the choir sing at Montserrat or the boat’s horn blow at the harbour which makes it very nice for the children. You can go on a miniature train ride around the park. Then there are the circuits you can do but the minimum length is 1.5 m with no exceptions. The people are very friendly and really tried their best to communicate in English.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Catalonia in Miniature - very good place to spend time with your kid!
it situated in nice little town Torrelles (about a hour on the bus from Barcelona)
in the park are all significant buildings of Catalonia, also has moving model cars, trains and ships ... and there is an amusement park for children (Bosc Animat), a picnic area, a bar, a train to detour around the perimeter of the park

I advise to visit the small restaurant not far from the parking lot, there is a great wine and food!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Interesting half-day spending for young kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The park has nice miniature buildings from Catalunya, as name tells, but the best part for young children are the moving trains and boats that can be triggered by some buttons by the lttle ones
The price is rather high for what they offer, but with young children you can spend 3+ hours in there. They also have a small playground yard, a picnic area (though you need to bring your own food from home) and an adventure tracks (we tried only the one for young kids, that is fun and very easy)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Recommended with the kids !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

The visit last about 90 minutes, but all depends of your walking speed and wish of course.
You are walking along all miniatures of famous Catalans' buildings.
As an adult, I have been disappointed by the poor state of the miniatures who are suffering a lot under the sun and the time passing. But kids don't pay attention at that.
They are several interactive sites where kids can rush and press a button to see an animation.
Get sun cream and hat, it's fully exposed to the sun.

If you go there, plan to do Trees' climbing activity (Bosci Animati) !

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalonia in Miniature (Catalunya en Miniatura) also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Catalonia in Miniature (Catalunya en Miniatura)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia in Miniature (Catalunya en Miniatura), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.